Customer Reviews for LEGO Creator - Grand Carousel

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at LEGO.

LEGO Creator - Grand Carousel

It's a wonderful day for a ride on the merry-go-round! This elegant and beautifully detailed LEGO model isn't just for show - it really spins and plays music while the horses and swing boats move up and down! Built with intricate, lifelike ornaments and features, the Grand Carousel is a spectacular addition to any LEGO display or carousel collection. Includes 9 minifigures and LEGO Power Functions motor and sound brick. Experience the romance of this merry-go-round decorated with brightly colored elements! Features 9 minifigures including ride operator! The platform rotates and the music plays! The swing boats and galloping jumper horses move up and down! Lots of realistic details including reflective decals on the center pole, ornate ornamentation, fleur de lys, bejeweled horses and profiles of jesters! The tent-like top is made of canvas! The Grand Carousel measures 15.1" (38.4cm) x 15.1" (38.4cm) x 13.8" (35.0cm)! Requires 6 AA (1.5V) batteries, not included.
Average Customer Rating:
4.603 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(68 Reviews) 61
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (68 reviews)
5 stars
52
4 stars
11
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
3
60 of 6888%of reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for LEGO Creator - Grand Carousel
Review 1 for LEGO Creator - Grand Carousel
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

beautifully built!

Posted:December 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
From: Pizza Planet
From:  United States
Age: 14-18
Gender:  Male
Customer Type:  LEGO Fan
Building Experience:  Advanced LEGO builder
Play Experience: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Level of Difficulty:
Average
"This set left me amazed with its beauty and the way that it is built.I bought it because of my love for carousel. I was also amazed by how it started coming together.I found nothing wrong in this set it was perfect on to the last detail. I only had as little problem at the beginning because it moved like something was holding it back but then I saw what it was and fixed it right away without taking it apart. The music is great and I like the tune. But there is a creaking sound when the horses go up and down that muffles the sound. But it is great and I like the nine minifigures that this set includes.This set was very amazing and I will have it there for display only I think because it might break if I play with it a lot. But I will be proud to have it in my collection. And definitely I would recommend this set to anyone who likes to build Lego and put them for display. And someone who loves merry go rounds."
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for LEGO Creator - Grand Carousel
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Gasp...

Posted:December 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
From:  Australia
Age: 19-24
Gender:  Male
Customer Type:  LEGO Fan
Building Experience:  Expert LEGO builder
Play Experience: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Level of Difficulty:
Challenging
"How to start? This wonderfully pieced carousel speaks for itself. You might consider it a toy for it's unique action, however you may not for it's pure beauty. It's a work of art, and the designers of this model should be thanked.
Let's start wih the build experience. This beast is sure to give you many hours of flat-out building. At the minimum, depending your build speed, should take no less than 10 or so hours. You could also spend a few days on this model. Definitely a long (but highly enjoyable) experience. But in the end, it's all worth it.
Play Experience
Now, this model isn't just appluaded for it's fantastic looks. It also has an aspect of play. This model doesn't just turn, but the animals (and other greatly detailed carts) move up and down with the turning, making it a true carousel. There are many possibilities to what you could do with this model. A good idea is to make a stop motion movie with it. This is a great prop for any movie.
Decorations
This model has details that are to good to be true. When building this model, however, the great detail often is very, very repetetive. For example, the joker heads on the sides of the carousel. Reading other reviews you would find people talking how repetetive it is. This is true; there are so many to make, but remember the masterpiece it produces. Anyways, these joker heads do compliment the look of the carousel nicely and the carousel wouldn't do without these joker head pieces.
System
The system itself in this carousel is simply genius; this system works smoothly and efficiently with the awesome music(which happens to, annoy my brother) and 99% of the time works the full length of the music (and runs some more). The only problem I encounter is when the shock absorber/spring piece detatches and the motor is not forced on to the carousel base, meaning that the carousel doesn't spin.
Overall Pros and Cons
Pros
The shiny new mirror stickers (that sit on the neck part of the carousel) give an expensive, opulant and grand look.
The system of the carousel is pure awesome. (and genius)
The overall look is too good
The shade sail pieces
Good, long building time
Great features
Cons
When the shock absorber detatches
The model has a repetetive build
Shade sails were a bit hard to place
Any LEGO fan out there that collects masterpieces of LEGO, this model is not to be missed."
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for LEGO Creator - Grand Carousel
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Grand Carousel

Posted:October 25, 2010
Customer Avatar
From: houston
From:  United States
Age: 65 or older
Gender:  Male
Customer Type:  LEGO Grandparent
Building Experience:  Advanced LEGO builder
Play Experience: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This is a masterful piece by lego. I wish to congratulate the designer and those that developed the step-by-step building instruction... great job.
I built the Grand Carousel in 15 days and took 45 hours to complete. I had to sort The pieces by color. Sorting and finding pieces is very labor intensive. But the whole bulilding experience was fun.
The battery box is too consealed to easily replace the 6 AA batteries that are required. I reconfigured this and placed the operator, and the platform he stands on, on the left top corner of the plate. I stood the battery box up next to the motor. But I subsequently purchased the IR receiver, remote control and power extension cord to operate both the Grand Carousel and the Lego Ferris Wheel(I built in 2009). Uses one battery box and they Work great!
"
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for LEGO Creator - Grand Carousel
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Get ready for the long run!

Posted:October 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
From: Utrecht, Netherlands
From:  Netherlands
Age: 19-24
Gender:  Male
Customer Type:  LEGO Fan
Building Experience:  Expert LEGO builder
Play Experience: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Level of Difficulty:
Challenging
"Tuesday was a great day: I finally recieved the Grand Carousel! At Wednesday morning I started building this huge beast.
Building
Building this set will take you a lot of time. I completed the set in about 10.5 hours with a few breaks. Th set isn't hard to build and the instructions are clear. But the many small parts make it cost a lot of time to put it together, not mentioning your hurting fingers. It's also very repetitive. Many parts are exactly the same (the joker heads on the top for example) and are (sometimes literally) a pain to build. However... it's all so worth it...
The set
The beauty of the carousel can only truly be seen when you completed it yourself. No matter how many pictures or videos you saw about it, it's at it's best when viewing it with your own eyes. It's full of details, from big to small. The battery box is well covered by a nice platform for the minifigure who starts and stops the Carousel. The horses and other objects in the Carousel look awesome and you can easily place or remove a minifigure on it. The details on top are awesome and well worth your time.
Play experience
For the younger ones it's easy to play and a great experience. The whole thig is motorized (6 batteries are required) and a funny sound plays when it moves. 9 minifigures are included, which is a lot! You can easily place them on and off the objects of the Carousel.
Pro's in short:
It's beautifully detailed!
9 minifigures is a lot!
Great play experience
The motor works well and everything ithe whole set is well thought of.
Cons:
It's a repetitive build.
The smaller parts are a pain: your fingers will be hurt.
Tips for LEGO:
Make the next Carousel less repetitive to build.
Keep the stickers sealed in a plastic bag. They might get damaged if you just throw them in the box. Luckily, mine weren't.
"
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for LEGO Creator - Grand Carousel
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

pretty neat

Posted:October 4, 2010
Customer Avatar
From:  United States
Age: 35-44
Gender:  Female
Customer Type:  LEGO Fan
Building Experience:  Expert LEGO builder
Play Experience: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value for Money: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
"I enjoyed this, missing a few (2) pieces. Just ordered london bridge. Already completed taj mahal and falling water. the music is annoying. and the stickers were bent when it arrived and a few were just...gone!"
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for LEGO Creator - Grand Carousel
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best purchase ever

Posted:October 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
From: Devon
From:  United Kingdom
Age: 25-34
Gender:  Female
Customer Type:  LEGO Parent
Building Experience:  Expert LEGO builder
Play Experience: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I've got this for my hubby and he love it so much!!! Super cool item... My kids love it too."
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for LEGO Creator - Grand Carousel
Overall: 
3 / 5
3 / 5

NOT THE BEST FOR THE $$$

Posted:August 28, 2010
Customer Avatar
From: Columbus, Ohio
Age: 25-34
Gender:  Male
How long has this product been owned?  3-4 months
How often is this product used?  A few times per month
Play Experience: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value for Money: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
"The carousel IS NOT WORTH THE $$$$. When putting the bottom together it went really well it was once I started to hang/attach the horses and the seats to the top it was so heavy for it it kept BREAKING! I had to tear it all apart and start over taking out some of the blue pieces that you doubled up at the top where the rods were connected that way they would rotate. Still don't have all of them rotating but I gave up on trying to make them all move correctly. Also I HAD TO SUPERGLUE THE PIECES THAT HELD THE HORSES AND EVERYTHING ELSE BECAUSE WHEN I TURNED IT ON THEY WOULD BREAK OFF. SO I USED 2 THINGS OF SUPER GLUE...Only using that because I knew we WOULD NOT be taking it apart. BUT FOR PAYING OVER $250 FOR THIS IT IS A JOKE! I SHOULD OF TORE IT ALL APART AND SENT IT BACK!!! THIS WAS A WASTE OF MONEY $$$$$!!!!! Thanks"
-2points
5of 12found this review helpful.
Review 8 for LEGO Creator - Grand Carousel
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

SPINS!

Posted:August 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
From: New York, NY
Age: 14-18
Gender:  Male
How long has this product been owned?  5-6 months
How often is this product used?  A few times per month
Play Experience: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I LOVE THE CAROUSEL
PROS
spins
little girl is mad (funny)
figs
giant green baseplate
music
rides
CONS
paper roof
awesome"
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for LEGO Creator - Grand Carousel
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Posted:August 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
From: new york
Age: 14-18
Gender:  Male
How long has this product been owned?  5-6 months
How often is this product used?  Once per week
Play Experience: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"one of my favorites but you have to make sure all the pieces on the rotating floor are together tightly or you will run into future problems. what a great set to watch!"
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Review 10 for LEGO Creator - Grand Carousel
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Did you know

Posted:July 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
Age: 14-18
Gender:  Male
How long has this product been owned?  2-7 weeks
How often is this product used?  Once per week
Play Experience: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"The flag on top is actually plated with gold i took it to an expert and he said it is"
I would recommend this to a friend!
-4points
0of 4found this review helpful.
Review 11 for LEGO Creator - Grand Carousel
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Lego set I've ever owned

Posted:July 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
From: US
Age: 35-44
Gender:  Male
How long has this product been owned?  2-3 months
Play Experience: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This is hands down the best Lego set I have ever owned. It is beautiful, detailed, and works great. Absolutely no issues in building or operating the set; just follow the instructions and it works wonderfully. Highly recommended for anyone looking for a challenge.
Would love to see Lego compliment this set with more rides. Perhaps an equally detailed operating Ferris Wheel?"
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for LEGO Creator - Grand Carousel
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

An okay purchase

Posted:July 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
From: Dublin OH
Play Experience: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value for Money: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"This set was a lot of fun to buiild and the end result looks great, though whenever i try to make it run, these little gold peices around the carousel fall off. It gets really annoying. So i would suggest not running it often because it requires lots of work to maintain. Overall i would give it a 5/5 for the looks but a 3/5 for the play experience."
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for LEGO Creator - Grand Carousel
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fun

Posted:July 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
From: Michigan
Age: 14-18
Gender:  Male
How long has this product been owned?  2-3 months
How often is this product used?  Every few days
Play Experience: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"This product was fun to build and fun to play with and its fun to show off and get atentionfrom the ones who do not build and the younger kids and I was glad it was my first lego set to make :)"
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for LEGO Creator - Grand Carousel
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

OKAY

Posted:July 3, 2010
Customer Avatar
From: san jose california
Play Experience: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"I have to say this set is fun once you build it. It workes well enough. The only problem is it is not fun at all to build you have to do the same stuff over and over and over again"
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for LEGO Creator - Grand Carousel
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Building Experience

Posted:June 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
From: San Jose, CA
Age: 45-54
Gender:  Female
How long has this product been owned?  2-7 weeks
How often is this product used?  Once per week
Play Experience: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"This carousel was a blast to build due to the working parts and the "wondering how this is all going to come together" aspect. It's also quite beautiful when it's finished. I had some issues with the horses and other rides falling apart when I turned it on but that seemed to resolve itself after running it several times and now everything stays together and works perfectly. I think maybe some of the moving mechanisms might have been a bit stiff at first causing the rides to take a bit of force. I'm glad I didn't glue anything because I will be giving my LEGO sets to my grandchildren when they are old enough and I'd like them to be in pristine condition. This set comes with several mini figures and has great playability. It's kind of heavy and should be placed on a flat sturdy surface before trying to move it. Very much fun to build and fascinating for anyone who sees it working."
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for LEGO Creator - Grand Carousel
Overall: 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Disappointed

Posted:May 17, 2010
Customer Avatar
From: Chicago, IL
Age: 25-34
Gender:  Male
How long has this product been owned?  5-6 months
How often is this product used?  A few times per year
Play Experience: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value for Money: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
"This set looked so good at first glance at the store, but it is a disappointing set due to the following reasons:
1. Flimsy construction (horses, swing boats, and their supporting elements). Very disappointed.
2. Flimsy construction (platform elements). Very disappointed.
3. Flimsy construction (motor elements). Very disappointed.
4. I hate stickers! Printed bricks, please!
5. Jerky up-down movement of the horses and swing boats.
6. The motor is way too loud.
7. The way the canvas sheets are held up is lame; I had to modify it a bit with my own bricks. The canvas also doesn’t look smooth when assembled.
8. The bottom of the red roof ridges don’t hook onto anything.
9. The minifigures are too ordinary. It would have been much better with new torsos or hairpieces.
10. Some lights would have been nice.
"
+2points
10of 18found this review helpful.
Review 17 for LEGO Creator - Grand Carousel
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Happy nana!

Posted:May 9, 2010
Customer Avatar
From: florida
Age: 65 or older
Gender:  Female
How long has this product been owned?  3-4 months
How often is this product used?  Every day
Play Experience: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for Money: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"I bought this for my son and daughter-in-law to build with his grandson and I got a call from them as they were so appreciative of the time they got to spend together piecing this together. My son was challenged but afterwards he was screamed (in delight) after accomplishing what he thought was impossible. I am SO proud of my son and daughter--in-law and grandson in building this. I cant wait to buy the taj mahal for them so they can reach new heights..."
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for LEGO Creator - Grand Carousel
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Brilliantly designed set

Posted:April 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
From: Essex, UK
Age: 35-44
Gender:  Male
How long has this product been owned?  1 week or less
How often is this product used?  Every day
Play Experience: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for Money: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"Had a great time building this set with the kids (2, 5 and 7 years). Even got my 2 year old daughter sorting bricks at the start - sorting definately recommended to save time hunting through the enormous number of bricks.
Lots of repetitious building (similar in feel to the Ferris Wheel creator set in case you also own it) - so the kids lost a bit of interest. Worth taking breaks! But at the end of the first building session, we managed to get the base to rotate which was a satisfying achievement.
The standard of design is first rate. You would never see the cool details on this set from another manufacturer. Lots of thought has gone into it and no expense appears to have been spared (which I guess is factored into the price) e.g. the Jester heads, gold "crystals" and shields. The mechanics of it are ingenious - particularly the drive wheel mechanism on the foot plate around the base and the rooftop circular track and wheel driven crankshafts that create the up and down motion of the horses and boats.
Had no problems at all with the clarity of the instructions, missing pieces or condition of the stickers out of the box. So don't let this necessarily put you off buying. Had to go back and substitute a number of parts later on in the build when it became clear that the wrong colour had been used! (Watch the shades of brown, grey and blue!) But all part of the fun of a model like this!"
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for LEGO Creator - Grand Carousel
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Lovely!

Posted:April 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
From: Basel, Switzerland
Age: 14-18
Gender:  Male
How long has this product been owned?  1 week or less
How often is this product used?  Every day
Play Experience: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
"As I saw this set the frist time, I wasn't very interrested in it. But then I took my time looking at it a bit more closer. Then I saw how great and detailed it's made. I showed it to my father, who said it was beautiful… until he looked at the price. Then he said it was exspensive. It was exspensive, ecspecially in Switzerland. That was the big turnoff, because it was 115 Franks (about 105 dollars) exspensiver in Switzerland then in almost any other european country. That I really didn't like. But then he changed his mind, why, is not relevant. Then I built it together. It was quite easy, and I am only 13 years old. There is allot of repeting in it, but I didn't really care. After the seven hours of building, was finished! It was beautiful, everything worked fine. The stuff that didn't work so good was: After 2 days a wheel started squeaking under it. Without breaking the whole plattform, you can not get at it. On horse does not go up and down the whole time, because it's wheel will not always roll. Everything breaks so fast! For example: One cart-thing falls off it's stick. I try to stick it back in. The stabilizer stick falls off. You allways first have too putt the s. Stick back on, and then putt the rest on. I try to putt the s. stick back up, but then the stick falls into the carussel. I try to take the stick back out, but then the left horse falls off of the stick. I get the tweasers to get the stick back out. I remove it and then try to putt it back on. The right horse falls off. I putt the right horse back where it's supposed to be. The next horse falls off.
How you now just read, it's not difficult to break stuff. But still, I love looking at it going arround and arround. Bravo LEGO!
"
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for LEGO Creator - Grand Carousel
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

You'll Love It

Posted:April 9, 2010
Customer Avatar
From: Harrisburg, PA
Age: 55-64
Gender:  Female
How long has this product been owned?  2-3 months
How often is this product used?  Every few days
Play Experience: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I got the Carousel for my birthday. It looks like it would be too much to put together. It wasn't hard at all. It's a challenge and fun to put together. I enjoyed every minute of it. I enjoyed it so much that I put it together slowly so I could work on it longer. I'm going to build a few other rides so I can build a little park to set up."
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>