Customer Reviews for LEGO Tower Bridge

LEGO Tower Bridge

Tower Bridge
Average Customer Rating:
4.813 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(139 Reviews) 138
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (139 reviews)
5 stars
124
4 stars
9
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
1
133 of 13996%of reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Tower Bridge
Review 1 for Tower Bridge
Overall: 
1 / 5
1 / 5

big ugly dust collector

Posted:August 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
From: the hague
From:  Netherlands
Age: 19-24
Gender:  Male
Customer Type:  LEGO Educator
Building Experience:  Expert LEGO builder
Play Experience: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value for Money: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Level of Difficulty:
Very Challenging
"At first it looked nice.
i have it still standing in the box.
only mistakes i made:
buying this set and opening the box.
i hate the set
i builded 1 for a freind took me 5 days
there is no logical order of plastic bags
so you need to unlease the bricks every where.
i had 2 tables full and on average i needed to look 5 minutes for a piece
building is hard .
to rotate the building you can easier walk around the table.
i really want my money back to buy the city hall.
because on the picture it looks good but in the end it's a terrible mistake
sorry lego i found the first set i really dislike.
and i have over 300 sets
"
-63points
3of 69found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Tower Bridge
Overall: 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Quality control on this piece is an issue

Posted:December 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
From:  United States
Age: 35-44
Gender:  Male
Customer Type:  Other
Building Experience:  Intermediate LEGO builder
Play Experience: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value for Money: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
"This should be a great set. Great looking. Tons of pieces. Relatively challenging build.
However, Lego Quality Control is definitely a let-down on this product. There are several pieces missing from the kit. Over 7 pieces in total were either missing in total or had a shortage of the necessary count.
I'm on hold to finish for 7-10 days until the missing pieces arrive from Denmark.
Frustrating. Not sure I'm going to be a repeat purchaser."
-6points
1of 8found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Tower Bridge
Overall: 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Tedious and boring build

Posted:July 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
From: Belleville
From:  United States
Age: 55-64
Gender:  Male
Customer Type:  LEGO Fan
Building Experience:  Expert LEGO builder
Play Experience: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value for Money: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Level of Difficulty:
Challenging
"This is one of the more expensive sets yet is the most tedious and boring to build and yet you have to do everything twice. There is 556 mini blocks you must put on the side of the towers which is quite boring. The model though when done is impressive to look at, but try to play with it and the towers keep falling off. All that building and you can only look at it"
-12points
4of 20found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Tower Bridge
Overall: 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Tedious and cumbersome -

Posted:October 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
From: New York
From:  United States
Age: 14-18
Gender:  Male
Customer Type:  LEGO Fan
Building Experience:  Advanced LEGO builder
Play Experience: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value for Money: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Level of Difficulty:
Average
"Let me qualify my comments with the statement that I LOVE to build Lego buildings. We recently finished the Green Grocer, Firehouse, Corner Cafe, Grand Emporium and Carousel. All of these have around 2,500 pieces and were fun to build. The pieces came labeled in bags #1, #2 and #3. Each level was around 800 pieces and when it came time to build you simply took out the corresponding bags, sorted the pieces and build it.
Now for the problem with the London Tower Bridge.
There are 4,500 pieces and the bags are NOT numbered. To build this you have to dump all the pieces on your table and sort them into lots of piles. Then when you need a piece good luck finding it among the thousands in front of you.
The build was not challenging at all - just boring and repetitive. There are over 500 of just one kind of piece alone. Sure it will look great when you are done but come on Lego people - the fun is in building the structure not finding the pieces.
I can not endorse buying this simply because it falls just a little short on the planning side. If dumping 4,500 really small pieces on your dining room table and spending hours sorting them and then minutes finding each needed piece is for you then by all means go buy it right away.
If not, go buy one of the other great Lego buildings mentioned earlier and have a great time."
-12points
11of 34found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Tower Bridge
Overall: 
3 / 5
3 / 5

A lot of Pieces

Posted:March 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
From: Herriman
From:  United States
Age: 25-34
Gender:  Male
Customer Type:  LEGO Fan
Building Experience:  Advanced LEGO builder
Play Experience: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value for Money: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Level of Difficulty:
Challenging
"Tower Bridge boasts itself as the third largest LEGO set (as far as pieces go). It offers a good challenge. You will want to spend some time organizing the pieces before you officially start to construct it. It will allow the build to go smoother. While this set is very large, it is not to mini figure scale. The vehicles are on a micro scale and do not offer you any playability. This is not a set you will be able to have in your LEGO city without having to make some serious modifications. As a collectors item, it is a great set and beautiful to look at."
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
9of 16found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Tower Bridge
Overall: 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not a Great Design

Posted:December 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
From:  United States
Age: 25-34
Gender:  Male
Customer Type:  LEGO Fan
Building Experience:  Advanced LEGO builder
Play Experience: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Level of Difficulty:
Very Challenging
"First the good: I spent about a week of evenings putting this together with my wife. It's a pretty fun build and works great with two people because you can each work on a tower simultaneously. The set has a huge variety of pieces and packs a lot of detail into the model.
And now the bad: Then came time to move it from the coffee table to the office. Well, the outer bridge sections come away easy enough, but the walkways lock the two towers together, so I tried picking up both towers together with disastrous results. The whole thing simply disintegrated in my hands on the way. Sorting through the aftermath, I found that over 200 of the 1x1 slopes had split down the middle. Fortunately, LEGO customer service is fantastic and they replaced them for me.
So there are two fundamental problems with this model: 1) The structural integrity is terrible, and for something as straightforward as a tower, this seems kind of silly. 2) It lacks a modular design that would allow you to separate the towers so you can more securely move it in sections.
I did get some parts to modify the walkways. Now I can easily separate the bridge sections and walkways from the towers. It's such an obvious design flaw that I'm surprised this thing made it past quality assurance.
Bottom line: I do not recommend this set. If you do get it, you'll want to disassemble the walkways and pull the towers apart before moving it from your build surface to wherever you want to display it."
-7points
8of 23found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Tower Bridge
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Found My Limit

Posted:June 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
From: Oceanside
From:  United States
Age: 35-44
Gender:  Male
Customer Type:  LEGO Fan
Building Experience:  Expert LEGO builder
Purchased For: Self
Build Time:
30+days
Play Experience: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value for Money: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Level of Difficulty:
Challenging
"Prior to this set, if you had asked me if I would ever NOT want more legos, I would have said you were crazy. I've now learned what my limit is as far as what I "enjoy" building.
I purchased this set (or rather, my kids 'purchased' it for me for my birthday) and I was beyond excited at getting the chance to put together a MASSIVE set. The sheer number of bricks alone got me giddy.
I got my first inkling of trouble when I opened the set at home. 4000+ pieces and not a single 'numbered' bag in site. I realized how much that simple change was a HUGE plus for Lego because when you are confronted with every piece in the box just to start building, it's pretty daunting.
Even after sorting the pieces into colors, finding certain pieces was still tedious and took longer than normal. I could have probably broken my piece groups into colors and then relative shapes but hindsight is 20/20.
After that, it was ok, built the middle part of the bridge and that was fine. Then I see the 'preview' for the next steps. Great! I get to build 2 identical HUGE towers. While this is obvious from the box, I guess I had thought there might be some minor differences. It's just somewhat boring for me when they say "make X of this". It's ok when it's something small, but when it looks like identical 1000+ piece structures, it kind of takes the 'fun' out of the build.
Deciding it would probably be better if I build them both simultaneously, I started off and stopped for a break shortly after. For the next 30 days, I would do a step here or there but the tediousness of doing EVERYTHING twice, combined with the fact that hunting down the pieces took longer, just started to aggravate me.
What made it worse was this was around the point that I started having to make the 'rounded' corners which was essentially 8 duplicate constructs for each tower. Each construct took 16-20 sloped single bricks. I basically started trying to con my kids into helping me plow through making ALL those constructs because it was just soooo monotonous but even they knew that I was offering a bum deal.
Little by little, I got to the point that I was finally able to move on to the next steps with the upper 'bridge', etc. and was able to power through.
After having done all that, I realize now that I really enjoy the creative aspects of building and seeing new pieces and parts come together, but when it comes to mass producing constructs, I quickly lose interest and it feels like work.
Basically, this is the first set I've ever had that felt like work putting together. It still looks great and I know there are people that would love getting this and putting it all together, but if you enjoy variety in your building process, stay away from this set."
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Tower Bridge
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

very nice replica

Posted:October 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
From: Perth
From:  Australia
Age: 14-18
Gender:  Male
Customer Type:  LEGO Fan
Play Experience: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value for Money: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Level of Difficulty:
Challenging
"I received this Lego set for Christmas last year. I would have to say that it was definitely my best present.
It took me around 4 days to build, working at a pace of around 2 hours a day. The amount of pieces in this set was overwhelming. Like all sets, they have their pros and their cons.
Pros:
- an excellent challenge
- includes rare Lego elements
- working drawbridge
- cool 'microscale' vehicles
Cons:
- is a little too big in length - i had trouble finding somewhere to store it
- working out how to transport one place to another!
Overall i thought this set was good, however i would only recommend it to someone who is an experienced Lego builder.
Brickmaster1595."
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Tower Bridge
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Fun but too symmetrical

Posted:August 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
From: Montreal
From:  Canada
Age: 19-24
Gender:  Male
Customer Type:  LEGO Fan
Building Experience:  Expert LEGO builder
Play Experience: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Level of Difficulty:
Average
"It was a good lego to build. But it was too symmetrical. The two towers were basically the same thing twice as well as the outer portions. I would love a lego with at least 4000 pieces where nothing is symmetrical. My best choice would be the St. Basilica in Russia."
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Tower Bridge
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

amazing!!!!!

Posted:August 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
From: san ramon
From:  United States
Age: 14-18
Gender:  Male
Customer Type:  LEGO Fan
Building Experience:  Expert LEGO builder
Play Experience: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Level of Difficulty:
Challenging
"this is the toughest set i have ever encountered!!!! all of those pieces make it take up a tedios amount of time! over all its good but i think it should be priced, $200-$220"
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Tower Bridge
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Love it

Posted:June 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
From: Sydney
From:  Australia
Age: 35-44
Gender:  Female
Customer Type:  LEGO Fan
Building Experience:  Advanced LEGO builder
Play Experience: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for Money: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"Love the little Black Cab and double decker bus.
Looks great."
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Tower Bridge
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great construction

Posted:May 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
From: Wachtebeke
From:  Belgium
Age: 35-44
Gender:  Male
Customer Type:  LEGO Fan
Building Experience:  Expert LEGO builder
Play Experience: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"That was very fun to build !
And it looks really great when finished. This is the stuff they may repeat more often !
"
I would recommend this to a friend!
-2points
0of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Tower Bridge
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great buy

Posted:January 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
From: NE Scotland
From:  United Kingdom
Age: 35-44
Gender:  Female
Customer Type:  LEGO Parent
Building Experience:  Advanced LEGO builder
Play Experience: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for Money: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Level of Difficulty:
Challenging
"Santa brought the Tower Bridge for our 10yr old son - he completed it within 4 days, single handed! He loved it but said it wasnt as difficult as the Taj Mahal. Looks really good though and fits on a shelf!"
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Tower Bridge
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

cool beanz with hot sauce

Posted:December 31, 2010
Customer Avatar
From:  Canada
Age: 14-18
Gender:  Male
Play Experience: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for Money: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Level of Difficulty:
Challenging
"Building this is fun, but can be a lot of work when you assemble 2 towers at once. I was on the floor, so it was really uncomfortable to build. However, the finished result was worth it. The annoying nature of the tall towers make it hard to retrieve a piece if one fell into it. You have tip the tower to let it slide out the bottom, which is frustrating when the tower is hooked up to the bridge. Also, the 'cars' were so small and lame that they might as well leave them out. The value of the money was good, but could be better. Overall, if you have the time, space and money, you must buy this!"
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Tower Bridge
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

A nice looking set

Posted:October 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
From: Baxter
From:  United States
Age: 45-54
Gender:  Male
Play Experience: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"We just finished building this very large, very cool looking set. My wife and I each built one of the towers. It took us two evenings to build just those. A third evening to build the rest of the set. Construction moved along at a pretty good pace, and didn't get boring.
The towers have a lot of detail that doesn't show up in the pictures. My favorite part is the small upper bridges that connect the two towers. The set comes apart easy for storage or transporting. The micro vehicles are a great touch and give you a feel for the size of the actual bridge.
At a per brick just under 6 cents a brick this set is priced way below average. It just has a ton of bricks.
"
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
2of 5found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Tower Bridge
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Stunning build!

Posted:September 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
From:  Canada
Age: 25-34
Gender:  Female
Customer Type:  LEGO Fan
Building Experience:  Advanced LEGO builder
Purchased For: Self
Build Time:
04days
Play Experience: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Level of Difficulty:
Challenging
"I finally took the plunge and bought this Lego set and I was not disappointed. Quite the detailed build but overall your finish product will look stunning. I was able to put mine on a corner ledge after completion and it fits the room perfectly!
3 books take you through this build and it can be quite tedious with all the small pieces. Only downside I found (compared to other sets I've built) is that the pieces are fairly scattered. I think Lego should stick with their numbered bags idea for building. It does make it a lot easier when trying to build rather than needing several trays to organize and even then sometimes spend extra time searching for that one tiny piece that always seems hidden.
"
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Tower Bridge
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Set Ever

Posted:July 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
From:  United States
Age: 14-18
Gender:  Male
Customer Type:  LEGO Fan
Building Experience:  Expert LEGO builder
Purchased For: Self
Build Time:
08hrs
Play Experience: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Level of Difficulty:
Average
"Nothing came close to this amazing set. It was so great that I wanted to break it apart and build again."
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Tower Bridge
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Tower Bridge

Posted:July 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
From: Sun Prairie
From:  United States
Age: 14-18
Gender:  Female
Customer Type:  LEGO Fan
Building Experience:  Expert LEGO builder
Purchased For: Self
Build Time:
03days
Build Time:
10hrs
Build Time:
08mins
Play Experience: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Level of Difficulty:
Challenging
"This was a very cool set to build and when I saw the price and the amount of pieces my jaw dropped to the floor. I would definetly recommend this set to other people. I hope you choose to buy this awesome set."
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Tower Bridge
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

What LEGO Architecture Should try to be!

Posted:April 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
From:  United States
Age: 19-24
Gender:  Male
Customer Type:  LEGO Fan
Building Experience:  Expert LEGO builder
Purchased For: Self
Build Time:
08hrs
Play Experience: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Level of Difficulty:
Challenging
"Having grown up with LEGOs all my life, I have found that as I grew older, my love of LEGO never went away, but my choices for suitable products has. Enter the Tower Bridge! The short version is this is an amazing model that looks better in real life than it does in pictures.
An amazingly detailed model that is in a class of its own along with the Taj Mahal, This model is a great display piece and can actually be very easily played with if you wanted to as well. Being one of the largest sets ever made speaks for itself as to the level of detail. I would love to see more models of iconic landmarks to this level of detail (my major criticism of LEGO Architecture, which is a great idea that I has not been taken to its full potential yet, and can take quite a few lessons from this model).
While the build itself was a little bit redundant (you are building two identical pieces) I was greatly impressed with the advanced building techniques that were employed, that seemed to push the limits of how LEGO pieces can connect with each other.
Would highly recommend this to anyone looking for a beautiful architectural landmark to display, a challenging and engaging build, that has a very high play ability potential."
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Tower Bridge
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic!!!!

Posted:April 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
From: London
From:  United Kingdom
Age: 35-44
Gender:  Male
Customer Type:  LEGO Fan
Building Experience:  Expert LEGO builder
Purchased For: Self
Build Time:
04days
Play Experience: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Level of Difficulty:
Very Challenging
"One of the best lego sets ever!!! It is wonderfull with a lot of details!!
WELL DONE!!!
"
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>