Customer Reviews for LEGO Palace Cinema

LEGO Palace Cinema

Palace Cinema
Average Customer Rating:
4.639 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(72 Reviews) 72
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (72 reviews)
5 stars
53
4 stars
14
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
0
68 of 7294%of reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Palace Cinema
Review 1 for Palace Cinema
Overall: 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Lacks Something..

Posted:January 29, 2015
Customer Avatar
From: Omak
From:  United States
Age: 14-18
Gender:  Male
Customer Type:  LEGO Fan
Building Experience:  Expert LEGO builder
Purchased For: Self
Build Time:
01days
Play Experience: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value for Money: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Level of Difficulty:
Average
" This set lacks a lot of interior detail.. The bottom floor is just so plain!
I wish another minifigure was included that worked in the Cinema instead of just the 1. Also when I attached the Palace sign, it droops because it isn't being held up by very much... so it looks funny when you look at it from the side. As heavy as the sign is, it should be held up by more then a couple of arm things.
And it drives me CRAZY when LEGO uses the arched windows and just leaves them open without including the pieces to put in them.. the Parisian Restaurant has these windows but also has the black pieces for them.
This set just needed more interior detail, because the exterior looks great! "
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Palace Cinema
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Deal, Very Challenging

Posted:January 27, 2015
Customer Avatar
From: BROOKLYN
From:  United States
Age: 14-18
Gender:  Female
Customer Type:  LEGO Fan
Building Experience:  Expert LEGO builder
Purchased For: Self
Build Time:
04days
Build Time:
07hrs
Play Experience: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Level of Difficulty:
Very Challenging
" I was so excited to have gotten this for Christmas of 2013, I never received an Expert creator model before this. When I started I was shocked to find so many bags per floor. With a total of 3 floors, there were about 7 bags per floor. Each bag had a completely different size of legos than the others and had random items per bag. The building was pretty entertaining, the challenging part was switching back and forth looking for each little piece. Otherwise, it was a perfect purchase! "
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Palace Cinema
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Addition to the street

Posted:January 14, 2015
Customer Avatar
From: Chelmsford
From:  United States
Age: 55-64
Gender:  Female
Customer Type:  LEGO Fan
Building Experience:  Advanced LEGO builder
Purchased For: Self
Play Experience: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for Money: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Level of Difficulty:
Challenging
" I initially bought this because it was the only one I didn't have. When I built it I found it to be an interesting build. Not just the typical four walls. Great addition the street. "
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Palace Cinema
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Christmas Ever!

Posted:December 31, 2014
Customer Avatar
From: kitchener
From:  Canada
Age: 14-18
Gender:  Female
Customer Type:  LEGO Mom
Building Experience:  Novice LEGO builder
Purchased For: Son
Build Time:
06hrs
Play Experience: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Level of Difficulty:
Average
" This was the best present ever.....he opened up his Lego and we didn't see him again that day until supper!!
Everyone was happy!!
"
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Palace Cinema
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Worth it!

Posted:November 28, 2014
Customer Avatar
From:  United States
Age: 25-34
Gender:  Male
Customer Type:  LEGO Fan
Building Experience:  Expert LEGO builder
Purchased For: Self
Build Time:
08hrs
Play Experience: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Level of Difficulty:
Average
" Over all I would say this set is worth the investment.
Pros:
Great concept, fun to play with...
It brings lots of good bicks in a great color palette including the "brick texture" blocks. Lots of windows, very attractive minifigures and a red base plate which, is pretty awesome.
Cons:
My biggest criticism would be the lack of interior details. With so much interior space I think there could have been many more details added.
"
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Palace Cinema
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just amazing !!

Posted:November 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
From:  United Kingdom
Age: 25-34
Gender:  Female
Customer Type:  LEGO Fan
Building Experience:  Expert LEGO builder
Purchased For: Self
Build Time:
03days
Play Experience: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Level of Difficulty:
Very Challenging
" The detail is amazing its a shame to put the levels on top and hide all the quirky bits inside have shared a picture of it on facebook and the limo seems to be a favorite of all those that have seen it my favorite part has to be the double sided posters in the windows clever and unexpected idea. Any one who buys this will love seeing it come together to form a brilliant end to the street "
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Palace Cinema
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Posted:November 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
From:  United States
Age: 35-44
Gender:  Male
Customer Type:  LEGO Dad
Building Experience:  Intermediate LEGO builder
Purchased For: Son
Build Time:
05hrs
Play Experience: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for Money: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Level of Difficulty:
Average
" The building is great but the limo was a little disappointing. "
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Palace Cinema
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A Beautiful Build

Posted:October 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
From: San Francisco Bay Area
From:  United States
Age: 25-34
Gender:  Male
Customer Type:  LEGO Fan
Building Experience:  Expert LEGO builder
Play Experience: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Level of Difficulty:
Challenging
" The title says it all. This is the nicest-looking set I've owned, and while I own and love the Parisian Restaurant, this has a very dramatic exterior look in addition to plenty of movable elements (I do like the car) and some great figs. The building techniques, especially those for the doors, sign, and the angled front corner are very impressive. I also appreciate the creative use of Star Wars and Ninjago weapons, as well as other amusingly repurposed pieces (the skeleton legs!) Not to mention how the sign displays the name PALACE from either side. I left off the stickers; what can I say, I like my brick raw. I may change my mind about those stickers, but I won't change my mind about how much I love this set.
Step back into the era of the old studio theaters and get this set. You won't regret it. "
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Palace Cinema
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Easy build with facinating piece usage

Posted:August 30, 2014
Customer Avatar
From: Lebanon
From:  United States
Age: 25-34
Gender:  Female
Customer Type:  LEGO Fan
Building Experience:  Expert LEGO builder
Purchased For: Self
Build Time:
06hrs
Play Experience: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for Money: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Level of Difficulty:
Average
" Overall this model is by no means difficult to build for any LEGO expert, as it took me less than 6 hours total to put together. However, I did find the unique usage of some pieces intriguing and will no doubt incorporate these techniques into my free-build arsenal. What I appreciated most about this kit was the formation of a partial spiral staircase, a staircase railing system (not special pieces - a built unit), the mounting of the exterior 'spotlights,' and the terracotta tile roof look. This is my first piece in the LEGO creator town series, a collection that will no doubt grow in the coming years. "
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Palace Cinema
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Let's go to the movies!

Posted:August 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
From: Madison
From:  United States
Age: 25-34
Gender:  Male
Customer Type:  LEGO Fan
Building Experience:  Intermediate LEGO builder
Purchased For: Self
Build Time:
01days
Play Experience: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Level of Difficulty:
Challenging
" This is really an awesome set and I really like it alot and I like how it somewhat resembles the Chinease Theater in San Fransico California which is a nice theater here are the details first is the car or limo this is an okay build and has an old 60s or 50s look to it and I like how you can fit the child star in the back and the driver and can take her to the premire of her movie also you get two blockade pieces to keep everyone in line and you also get 2 very nice spot lights which I really liked I also like on the outside for the sidewalk you get stars like the Hollywood walk of fame which is very cool the inside on the 1st floor is very cool you have a place a teller to sell tickets who may be wanting to see a movie and you get a stand for drinks and popcorn or candy for the movie I also really liked the movie posters which are pretty common alot around alot of theaters on the second floor you have a somewhat a decent size room and six 6 seats as well as a nice movie projector and the big screen is very nice as well which has the movie showing Three Clicks & A Snap the roof part is very nice and I like how you build the roof and Spanish tile I really like the Palace sign on the front as well as some of the showings on the side which are just great for this building also you get a couple who is watching the movie and a newsman who is there for the premire.This is really another great modular building and is an iconic place for San Fransico plus it is a great building for your city or town for your minifigures a must have for anyone who likes the modular buildings.Overall just a really great Modular building set great job LEGO. "
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Palace Cinema
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Set!

Posted:May 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
From: Ann Arbor
From:  United States
Age: 14-18
Gender:  Male
Customer Type:  LEGO Fan
Building Experience:  Advanced LEGO builder
Purchased For: Self
Build Time:
04hrs
Play Experience: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for Money: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Level of Difficulty:
Challenging
" This is a great set. I really like the details on the set.
Pros:
Great Detail
Lots of Mini-figs
Challenging build
Cons:
Nothing!!
Overall this is a must buy for experienced builders. "
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
My Product Recommendations
Wakz' Pack Tracker
4.5 out of 5(28)
 
 
 
 
 
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Palace Cinema
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Palace Cinema: Exceeds all Expectations

Posted:May 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
From: Los Angeles
From:  United States
Age: 14-18
Gender:  Male
Customer Type:  LEGO Fan
Building Experience:  Expert LEGO builder
Purchased For: Self
Build Time:
03days
Build Time:
02hrs
Build Time:
46mins
Play Experience: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" This is a great lego set that made me very happy that I was able to buy. It looks like a 1930s Manns Chinese Theater. The exterior is filled with nice details. The Marquee and the palace sign are things that make it stand out ( a good thing) if you have other modulars. THe inside is also very nice. The ground floor is where their are all the concessions such as popcorn, candy, even water. The second floor has room for six mini figures to sit for the movie. Finally the third floor. The third floor is very plain, but it gives room if you want to add creative things up there (who knows what you'll build?) In conclusion this is a great set with lots of playability and cool features. "
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Palace Cinema
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Set

Posted:April 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
From: Concord
From:  United States
Age: 45-54
Gender:  Male
Customer Type:  LEGO Fan
Building Experience:  Expert LEGO builder
Purchased For: Self
Build Time:
02days
Play Experience: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Level of Difficulty:
Challenging
" I got the Palace Cinema to add to my other modular buildings, and it makes an excellent corner building. There are lots of building techniques I had not done before, and I learned a lot from building it. Its got a nice red base plate that I haven't seen before, to make the theater lobby look like it has red carpet. There are a few mini figures, though I would of liked a few more to fill up the theater seats! The limo for the child star was nice to be included. This was my first set to include stickers, and I am not sure about them, I hope they last, and don't peel off after a while. Some of the parts are printed on the pieces, and I think I prefer that over stickers. I can understand though that that might be a tall order for some of the features, like the movie posters.
I think anyone getting this will love it, especially if you are collecting the modular buildings.
"
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Grand Emporium
4.9 out of 5(233)
 
 
 
 
 
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Palace Cinema
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Loved it!

Posted:March 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
From:  Australia
Age: 35-44
Gender:  Female
Purchased For: Self
Build Time:
05days
Play Experience: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Level of Difficulty:
Easy
" This was my first modular building, and I loved it! So much fun to build and looks fantastic! Very happy with this set and can't wait to add more to my new Lego city. "
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Palace Cinema
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome, loved building this model

Posted:February 28, 2014
Customer Avatar
From: Guildford
From:  United Kingdom
Age: 45-54
Gender:  Male
Customer Type:  LEGO Fan
Building Experience:  Novice LEGO builder
Purchased For: Self
Build Time:
03days
Play Experience: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" I just had to buy this model when I saw it assembled in a Lego shop. The Internet pictures impress, but don't convey the visual experience when you have your nose six inches from the model. There is so much going on, although I added to fun by posing minifigures on the model as I assembled it over a period of several weeks, a few pages each day.
My only criticism, are the short cuts in areas you can't see that well. Parts you would expect, or occassional strange coloured pieces. I queried this when I went back to the store part way through building model, it was explained that this was a cost saving measure by Lego, to help keep cost of models down.
I just don't understand how you could buy one of these and leave it sealed in its box, unless you always have to buy two!
Next up is the Pet Shop, which I've already bought. "
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Palace Cinema
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

a night to remember

Posted:February 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
From: ontario
From:  United States
Age: 14-18
Gender:  Male
Customer Type:  LEGO Fan
Building Experience:  Expert LEGO builder
Purchased For: Self
Build Time:
07hrs
Play Experience: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Level of Difficulty:
Average
" you don't want to miss this lets go back a couple decades and hit the show. this is a extremely well designed movie theater. the seating in the auditorium is good and the way the designed the screen is well done very old style. the snack stand is built well and the minifigures are excellent. love the car it compliments the set real nicely. "
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Palace Cinema
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A great piece of architecture!

Posted:January 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
From: Kristiansund
From:  Norway
Age: 35-44
Gender:  Male
Customer Type:  LEGO Fan
Building Experience:  Expert LEGO builder
Purchased For: Self
Build Time:
06hrs
Play Experience: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Level of Difficulty:
Challenging
" I bought 2 of this set, because my son wanted this set, and after checking it out i decided i also wanted one. This was our first modular buildings, and fairly difficult to build. I just finished the tower bridge, so the cinema did not give me the same challenge as the bridge.However, the details are amazing, with popcorn and sweets and even jars for salt and pepper! The showroom should have had some more seats, and there could have been more minifigures, but overall a nice piece. The posters with the fake movies was not at me and my sons liking, so we replaced them with some realistic ones, and added the appropriate guests. The car is a very good model, suitable for the era of time. I really like the tiles on the sidewalk, with stars on, and the massive entrance doors. I also like the way the different parts are used in untraditional ways, such as harpoons used for outside lighting. The movie projector is also a nice detail.
Overall this is a nice addition to any Lego-collection, and it also is a nice item to have in a glass display case for show. It is also play-friendly, both my sons like to play out fantasies, and make all sorts of situations with it. "
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Palace Cinema
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Saturday evening!

Posted:January 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
From: Copenhagen
From:  Denmark
Age: 25-34
Gender:  Female
Customer Type:  LEGO Fan
Building Experience:  Expert LEGO builder
Purchased For: Self
Build Time:
06hrs
Build Time:
30mins
Play Experience: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Level of Difficulty:
Challenging
" OMG!
This set was so much fun to build.
So many awesome little features.
Great new ways to build. For example the roof. What a joy!
Great value for your money! "
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Palace Cinema
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Iconic

Posted:December 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
From:  United States
Age: 25-34
Gender:  Male
Customer Type:  LEGO Fan
Building Experience:  Advanced LEGO builder
Purchased For: Self
Build Time:
01days
Play Experience: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for Money: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Level of Difficulty:
Challenging
" One of the best modulars in the line up. It was enjoyable to build, especially the details such as the concession stand, theatre seating, movie screen, and the sign. The roof was a bit tricky, but with a little care, it came out great. The color scheme for the building is awesome too. I really like the tan, dark tan, and dark red colors.
The only detractor in this set is the car. The wheels are far too small and out of proportion with the whole vehicle. It definitely seems like the car was thrown together at the last minute by the Lego designers.
Overall, it's a great set and fun to build. "
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Palace Cinema
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Posted:December 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
From: genoa
From:  Italy
Age: 45-54
Gender:  Male
Customer Type:  LEGO Fan
Building Experience:  Expert LEGO builder
Purchased For: Self
Build Time:
02days
Build Time:
06hrs
Play Experience: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for Money: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Level of Difficulty:
Easy
" I have and love all modular buildings, so I eventually bought this one too. It is nice, not very challenging, and I am sorry to say it stands years apart from items like the Grocery Store or the Town Hall... it always seems recently there could have that "little more" but the effort was not done... "
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I would recommend this to a friend!
-2points
0of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>