Customer Reviews for LEGO Palace Cinema

LEGO Palace Cinema

Palace Cinema
Average Customer Rating:
4.65 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(100 Reviews) 100
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (100 reviews)
5 stars
73
4 stars
21
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
0
95 of 10095%of reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Palace Cinema
Review 1 for Palace Cinema
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Design, Excellent Experience

Posted:May 22, 2016
Customer Avatar
From: Los Angeles
From:  United States
Age: 25-34
Gender:  Male
Customer Type:  LEGO Fan
Building Experience:  Advanced LEGO builder
Purchased For: Self
Build Time:
06hrs
Play Experience: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" This is the first modular building I purchased, and after the build, I've decided to get more of the modular buildings and to have my own lego neighborhood. "
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Palace Cinema
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Who Wants to See a Flick?

Posted:May 5, 2016
Customer Avatar
From: Farmers Branch
From:  United States
Age: 25-34
Gender:  Male
Customer Type:  LEGO Fan
Building Experience:  Expert LEGO builder
Purchased For: Self
Build Time:
04hrs
Play Experience: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Level of Difficulty:
Challenging
" This set is what every town needs, a movie theater! Wonderful attention to detail on this set. The movie room is especially nice. I think the best looking part here, is the roof. I love the Asian feel here. I have several Ninjago buildings in my city, as well as a few MOCs that this set really fits well with.
The car is also a nice touch. I like the details on the first floor, the snack counter and what not. Good mini fig selection too!
Fun build! "
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Palace Cinema
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very wonderful addition to any city

Posted:April 9, 2016
Customer Avatar
From: Austin
From:  United States
Age: 25-34
Gender:  Male
Customer Type:  LEGO Fan
Building Experience:  Advanced LEGO builder
Purchased For: Self
Build Time:
08hrs
Play Experience: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Level of Difficulty:
Challenging
" I am just getting into Lego modular building, with this being my third modular set. I have hundreds of other sets, mainly from Star Wars, DC, Marvel and the like, and I never thought I'd get into the city theme but boy was I wrong. I am very pleased with this corner building and see a great potential for this to be used in photos for a variety of awesome concepts I've already come up with.
As far as putting it together...it was a pleasure. I personally don't find these challenging other than the fact you have to sort through more bags. Other than that, everything is straight forward and a fun time. I like to split all of my parts to make it easier once the build starts. I recommend a large table to do so. I believe I had this mostly built within one night and finished up the next morning. It was worth every second and penny.
The theater room and lobby are both awesome and quite spacious. I really like that the lobby has windows for easy viewing, and those double doors are great. I like the concession area and the sidewalk adds a nice touch. Heading to the top floor, there isn't much...but I was able to fit the new Batman v Superman roof-top battle pack up there so it is actually perfect for my needs. Overall, I'd give this a 10...but I'm biased as it is. "
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Palace Cinema
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fun Build

Posted:March 27, 2016
Customer Avatar
From: MELBOURNE
From:  Australia
Age: 25-34
Gender:  Male
Customer Type:  LEGO Fan
Building Experience:  Advanced LEGO builder
Purchased For: Self
Build Time:
04days
Play Experience: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Level of Difficulty:
Challenging
" This is the third modular series product that I built (first 2 being 10224 Town Hall and 10218 Pet Shop). I would say that it is better than the Pet Shop, and close to, if not on par, with the Town Hall.
In terms of build there was not much repetition, which was great of course. It was not super difficult at times, but had a few tricky parts (see the doors / palace sign. The interior is well decorated and good to see the nice little touches put on the candy bar and ticket booths.
It would be nice to have a few more "technical" build parts (e.g. SNOT), but still very enjoyable. The number of pieces for this set is high, but be warned that many of these are the barrels on the roof design and lights on the main sign.
The finished piece looks great, very impressive when it all comes together and quite tall (almost as high as Town Hall). Looks especially good with the other 2 sets I already have.
I'd recommend this product to anyone who enjoys the larger sets (or anyone at all actually!). "
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Palace Cinema
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Not like the Brick Bank but still acceptable.

Posted:February 18, 2016
Customer Avatar
From: Brooklyn
From:  United States
Age: 14-18
Gender:  Male
Customer Type:  Other
Building Experience:  Expert LEGO builder
Purchased For: Self
Build Time:
03days
Play Experience: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for Money: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Level of Difficulty:
Challenging
" This was my 3rd modular building and I wouldn't say it was the best. There were a lot of problems that I had to experience while building this set. Buy it if you love to collect Modular buildings. "
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Palace Cinema
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Now Showing: another epic set!

Posted:February 6, 2016
Customer Avatar
From: leeds
From:  United Kingdom
Age: 14-18
Gender:  Male
Customer Type:  LEGO Fan
Building Experience:  Advanced LEGO builder
Purchased For: Self
Build Time:
05hrs
Play Experience: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for Money: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Level of Difficulty:
Easy
" A lovely addition! They never fail to delight with the modular series, especially when it comes to those final clicks at the decoration at the top, with the great angled detail fitting in just perfect.
Apart from that i would say this is one of the weakest modular that I've had: that doesn't mean bad, but just the least best. To get the bad stuff out of the way:
CONS
- Lack of play-ability inside because there isn't really much detail - a little sparse. Great to add your own parts though!
- Mainly brick on top of brick building - not very many fancy sidewards bits or unusual layers.. good for kids though.
So i'd say this is a good set for younger kids to build, because although its takes a while to actually build its pretty straightforward but still has a few interesting build technuiques.
On the good side:
PROS
- Great detail on the outside!
- An actual vehicle is included, and its a fun little build.
- Stickers (although they are very hard to put on perfectly) are really good
- There are a few cool building techniques
Overall a little basic i think: not enough detail inside and a simple-ish build. But still has some great details and certainly looks great: for display and alongside other modulars. I would recommend. "
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Palace Cinema
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Another Great Modular Building to Collect

Posted:January 7, 2016
Customer Avatar
From: Saint Inigoes
From:  United States
Age: 25-34
Gender:  Male
Customer Type:  LEGO Fan
Building Experience:  Expert LEGO builder
Purchased For: Self
Build Time:
09hrs
Play Experience: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Level of Difficulty:
Challenging
" I received the Palace Cinema as a Christmas gift from my wife and daughter. This set is the 5th building from the Expert modular series that I have built (7 if you count the Simpson's Kwik E Mart and a MOC modular Irish Pub). Just like the other modulars, this set doesn't disappoint and is a great addition to our Lego town.
I had some initial reservations about the set, hence why it's taking me longer to acquire one than the others. I really liked the idea of having a cinema in our Lego town, and this has a great look to it. But compared to a lot of the more recent sets, it felt like it was lacking a bit on detail and micro builds (mainly on the interior and roof). After building the Palace Cinema, I can lay the reservations to rest. It may not have as many little details, but there is still quite a few little intricacies to the design. The set is certainly not barren by any means and the more you look at it, the more you start to see as well as appreciate some of the techniques used to pull off such a feat.
The exterior has great detail, from the movie posters, to the ticket booth, and even the double doors. The roof work is great too, although a bit time consuming. I may eventually print my own movie posters to put on the windows later down the road. The walk of fame stars and search lights are a nice touch too. I was quite amazed at the technique used to spell out "Palace".
Interior-wise, I like the red base plate acting as the floor, it's a great color that pops against the walls. The theater room has room for 6 guests plus 1 projectionist. There is room to add more details to both floors if you feel the need (an extra plant here, a trash bin there, etc.), but in its current state it works and allows room for play. My little 4 year old loves this set and finds it pretty easy to play in.
The limo I feel may be the weakest link of the set. It does the job, but compared to the exquisite building it falls a little short. There are some nice little details and techniques used, but that's about it.
The minifigures the set comes with are all great. I do feel like an extra minifigure is needed to man the cinema. With only one to represent the cashier, door man, concession stand attendee, and projectionist, I feel that is a lot of roles to fill for one minifigure. Maybe one extra to man the main floor and a second for the rest of the duties?
If I was to rate how fun the build was compared to my previous builds, I would probably say it sits towards the bottom of my modular builds. But don't take that the wrong way, it is still a lot of fun to build. It is just that many of the other newer modular buildings have raised the bar so much in terms of building fun, this one falls a little lower on the tier in that respect. And with the release of the Ghostbusters Firehouse HQ and Bank, it may drop down a few more places when it comes to building enjoyment ranked. But when it comes to ranking its playability and ease of access, it ranks towards the top of my list.
All in all, the Palace Cinema is a fun build with a great look to suit just about anyone's Lego town. If you are just starting out with the modular buildings, I might recommend starting off with this or the Pet Shop as your first build for a few reasons:
-They are some of the older modular sets currently available, so they may not be around much longer.
-They give a great foundation as to what to expect and building techniques used in the modular series.
-The newer sets keep stepping up the details and micro builds. If you start your first build on a set with a high level of detail and building enjoyment, anything below that may not seem as much fun and might skew your expectations even though the set is still a strong contender and holds well on its own.
"
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Palace Cinema
Overall: 
3 / 5
3 / 5

A bit disappointing.

Posted:January 4, 2016
Customer Avatar
From: Savona
From:  Italy
Age: 25-34
Gender:  Male
Customer Type:  LEGO Fan
Building Experience:  Advanced LEGO builder
Purchased For: Self
Build Time:
06hrs
Play Experience: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for Money: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Level of Difficulty:
Average
" I bought this set after the amazing Parisian Restaurant, expecting a product of the same quality.
Instead, as a big Lego fan I am partially disappointed with this one.
The exterior is amazing... ...only if you look at it from two of the four sides, those with posters and windows. The other two are extremely poor, and the same is to be said about the roof. No decorations, no details, the pinnacle remains "open" looking at it from behind.
The interior is quite poor compared to other recent modulars, like the aforementioned Parisian Restaurant or the Pet Shop.
All aspects of the set left me with a sense of "incompleteness".
Also, stability is not as good as it usually is (the sign and the pinnacle could be more solid).
The set is nice, yet it can't stand against products of the same series.
I guess my rating would have been 4 stars if no other buildings of the Creator series were around, though they are (with our extreme pleasure).
"
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Palace Cinema
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

movie night

Posted:January 3, 2016
Customer Avatar
From: Gilroy
From:  United States
Age: 14-18
Gender:  Male
Customer Type:  LEGO Fan
Building Experience:  Expert LEGO builder
Purchased For: Self
Build Time:
03days
Build Time:
03hrs
Build Time:
30mins
Play Experience: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Level of Difficulty:
Easy
" This set marks the seventh set in the modular building line. I also marks the second building in our collection, and looks great next to the Parisian restaurant! Since it is a corner building, it has to floors instead of the usual three, a lobby complete with boardwalk and spiral staircase, and a movie theater with projector camera. This set has six minifigures instead of five, and the only named minifig in the entire line, Minnie Figure! there is an abnormally large sticker sheet included with the set, so it loses a brick for that. This set also includes three movie posters: forever sorting(romance),mystery on the monorail(detective),and the lego equivalent of Godzilla, Brick Separator!!! The inside of the first floor is relatively simple with ticket counter, snack shelf, and spiral staircase. The second floor is the actual cinema, with theater screen(another sticker)with curtain, theater seats, and projector camera! all in all, this earns 4/5 bricks. I'm looking forward to adding the Brick Bank to my collection soon! "
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Palace Cinema
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good addition to other Modular buildings.

Posted:January 1, 2016
Customer Avatar
From: Marietta
From:  United States
Age: 65 or older
Gender:  Male
Building Experience:  Advanced LEGO builder
Purchased For: Self
Build Time:
09hrs
Play Experience: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Level of Difficulty:
Challenging
" Intricate and nice for relaxation and a fun build. Great addition to ,y collection. "
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Palace Cinema
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Lots of fun at the Cinema

Posted:December 30, 2015
Customer Avatar
From: Patoka
From:  United States
Age: 35-44
Gender:  Female
Customer Type:  LEGO Mom
Building Experience:  Advanced LEGO builder
Purchased For: Self
Build Time:
06hrs
Play Experience: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Level of Difficulty:
Average
" I had a lot of fun working with my kids to put this together. It really does look very nice. I'm looking forward to another large build. "
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Palace Cinema
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Must Have for all Collectors!

Posted:December 28, 2015
Customer Avatar
From:  United States
Age: 14-18
Gender:  Male
Customer Type:  LEGO Fan
Building Experience:  Advanced LEGO builder
Purchased For: Self
Build Time:
04hrs
Play Experience: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Level of Difficulty:
Challenging
" This has got to be by far one of my favorite sets! The detail is fantastic plus includes lots of elements in rare colors. One of the things that I really like about this set is the movie posters I think this is a great addition to the set and makes it even cooler. The ticket window is also a nice touch. On the inside there is a beautiful staircase that goes up to the roof. On the second floor there are 6 seats for your minifigures to watch the film plus one to man the projector. The outside has amazing detail and is nice to look at. In conclusion this set is great for play or display and is a must have for anyone who buys Lego! Includes 6 minifigures + accessories and a limousine. "
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
+3points
4of 5found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Palace Cinema
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

It's a Good Addition

Posted:December 3, 2015
Customer Avatar
From:  United States
Age: 25-34
Gender:  Male
Customer Type:  LEGO Fan
Building Experience:  Expert LEGO builder
Build Time:
01days
Play Experience: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for Money: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Level of Difficulty:
Challenging
" It is a good addition to the modular building sets. I do not see the use of the car that much. I wish the building was art deco instead of the current one. The interior could have a bit more features. The outside has great detail. "
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Palace Cinema
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cinema

Posted:December 1, 2015
Customer Avatar
From:  United Kingdom
Age: 25-34
Gender:  Male
Customer Type:  LEGO Fan
Building Experience:  Advanced LEGO builder
Purchased For: Self
Build Time:
01days
Play Experience: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Level of Difficulty:
Challenging
" Fantastic set my first addition to hopefully my modular collection. I love it fantastic amount of detail.
Only problem is the price of lego is a lot! Could take me a long time to add to my collection. "
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Palace Cinema
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Finally I got this set!!!!

Posted:November 17, 2015
Customer Avatar
From: Freemont
From:  United States
Age: 14-18
Gender:  Male
Customer Type:  LEGO Fan
Building Experience:  Expert LEGO builder
Purchased For: Self
Build Time:
04hrs
Play Experience: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Level of Difficulty:
Easy
" This is my first modural building set. And the best ever (for now).Also it`s the most beautiful and....simultaneously,most expensive. Allright, done with this. Now it`s time to speak about set. This set is likeable and unusual. Why? Let me explain (If you don`t want to read me just read the LEGO description above. So, this is a corner building and the doors and sign placing at the corner. That is doing this set unusual. Now about beautiful. Set is made like cinema from old years and it`s nice, I love it!
Also he got posters on the left side and cashbox on the right. But it also has an interesting roof and a sign. So...... for that money you got: 1.Beautiful building
2.Some stuff likeprojectors
3.6 minifigures
4.A limousene
I think it`s more that you thought
Best set!!!! 5\5
"
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Video Review:
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
+6points
11of 16found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Palace Cinema
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Modular!

Posted:October 24, 2015
Customer Avatar
From: Bath
From:  United States
Age: 14-18
Gender:  Male
Customer Type:  LEGO Fan
Building Experience:  Expert LEGO builder
Purchased For: Self
Build Time:
05hrs
Play Experience: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Level of Difficulty:
Very Challenging
" I absolutely love this set! I got it two years ago on vacation, and this is probably one of my favorite. The only thing I wished the set has was more interior detail on the first floor, and better detailing on the roof. It just looks a little empty and half-done like that. Other than that, I love it! "
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
My Product Recommendations
Camper Van
4.7 out of 5(22)
 
 
 
 
 
 
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Palace Cinema
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fun to build, good details

Posted:October 4, 2015
Customer Avatar
From: Albufeira
From:  Portugal
Age: 25-34
Gender:  Male
Customer Type:  LEGO Fan
Building Experience:  Expert LEGO builder
Purchased For: Self
Build Time:
01days
Play Experience: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Level of Difficulty:
Easy
" It is a good expert creator lego set, this modular building is a cornered one just like "the emporium" lego set, it is so detailed outside that its almost perfect, you have the walk of fame, and the posters for upcoming/on exhibition movies stickers were a great idea.
it was fun to build.
inside, it was not very detailed overall but the popcorn bar is nice and the entrance door showed me some new building techniques.
on the first floor, the movie theatre room was spacious with 6 seats and a huge screen and the "black & white" movie sticker gave it a great touch
really good set, a bit expensive but worth it. "
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Palace Cinema
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very cute, but annoying stickers!

Posted:August 28, 2015
Customer Avatar
From:  United States
Age: 25-34
Gender:  Female
Play Experience: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for Money: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Level of Difficulty:
Average
" I haven't built very many Lego sets, just a few of the modulars, but I found this set a bit on the boring side to put together. The first two floors just felt a bit repetitive, but luckily once you get to the roof part and the large sign, it gets a lot better (leaving a found memory of the building experience in your mind).
The set is also very cute once built and a lot of fun to look at. The movie posters are a particularly nice touch, as is the concession area.
It is worth noting that this set does have a lot of annoying stickers. The stickers include the movie posters, the movie screen, and the small words on the sign. The posters and the screen aren't too bad, but getting the stickers on the sign on straight is particularly frustrating (the words are on a grid pattern, so if it is not straight, it is extremely obvious). "
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Palace Cinema
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Model

Posted:June 11, 2015
Customer Avatar
From: Dublin
From:  Ireland
Age: 25-34
Gender:  Male
Customer Type:  LEGO Fan
Building Experience:  Advanced LEGO builder
Purchased For: Self
Build Time:
04hrs
Play Experience: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Level of Difficulty:
Challenging
" The largest set I've ever built and certainly the most imposing structure. I would typically stick to older models from the 80's and 90's so this, apart from the odd Star Wars model, was my first real jump into large modern Lego sets. The size of the box and the sheer number of bags inside was certainly intimidating but I found quickly enough that even without colour-sorting, it wasn't a difficult set to complete. Most of the difficulty came from repetitive actions and ensuring accuracy. The instructions were quite straightforward and easy to follow. The initial building of each floor begins slowly but once it begins to take shape, the satisfaction is immense especially when it came to the finished touches on each floor. While my heart still belongs to older sets, this will not be my last foray into large-scale Creator and modular sets. "
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Palace Cinema
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

First Set in 15+ years

Posted:May 19, 2015
Customer Avatar
From: Melbourne
From:  Australia
Age: 25-34
Gender:  Male
Customer Type:  LEGO Fan
Building Experience:  Intermediate LEGO builder
Purchased For: Self
Build Time:
05hrs
Play Experience: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for Money: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Level of Difficulty:
Average
" While clearing my parents garage I found my old Lego sets ... built them up and found I was missing a few pieces.
I found myself on the Lego site searching for spare parts to complete my sets and while browsing discovered these modular buildings....anyway I ended up buying the Palace Cinema purely because it was the cheapest in the range and I wanted to check these modulars out.....My first Lego set since I was about 12 (im 28)
Fantastic set, easy to follow manual and the end product looks great. I love some of the techniques used and had a lot fun building this.
It took me 5 hours and at no point was I frustrated or bored with the build. I will definitely be buying more and am kicking myself I took no interest in Lego for the past 15 years, wish I could go back in time to get the Emporium, it looks beautiful.
There are some cons - I don't like stickers and the car is ugly, it does not fit in with the set. Overall 8/10 "
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>