Customer Reviews for LEGO Palace Cinema

LEGO Palace Cinema

Palace Cinema
Average Customer Rating:
4.667 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(81 Reviews) 81
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (81 reviews)
5 stars
61
4 stars
15
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
0
77 of 8195%of reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Palace Cinema
Review 1 for Palace Cinema
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

First Set in 15+ years

Posted:May 19, 2015
Customer Avatar
From: Melbourne
From:  Australia
Age: 25-34
Gender:  Male
Customer Type:  LEGO Fan
Building Experience:  Intermediate LEGO builder
Purchased For: Self
Build Time:
05hrs
Play Experience: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for Money: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Level of Difficulty:
Average
" While clearing my parents garage I found my old Lego sets ... built them up and found I was missing a few pieces.
I found myself on the Lego site searching for spare parts to complete my sets and while browsing discovered these modular buildings....anyway I ended up buying the Palace Cinema purely because it was the cheapest in the range and I wanted to check these modulars out.....My first Lego set since I was about 12 (im 28)
Fantastic set, easy to follow manual and the end product looks great. I love some of the techniques used and had a lot fun building this.
It took me 5 hours and at no point was I frustrated or bored with the build. I will definitely be buying more and am kicking myself I took no interest in Lego for the past 15 years, wish I could go back in time to get the Emporium, it looks beautiful.
There are some cons - I don't like stickers and the car is ugly, it does not fit in with the set. Overall 8/10 "
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Palace Cinema
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

really good

Posted:May 15, 2015
Customer Avatar
From:  Canada
Age: 14-18
Gender:  Male
Customer Type:  LEGO Fan
Building Experience:  Expert LEGO builder
Purchased For: Self
Build Time:
06hrs
Play Experience: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Level of Difficulty:
Average
" one of my favorites of my Lego stuff. and it is not price full for the amount of pieces "
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Palace Cinema
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great addition for any Lego town!

Posted:May 7, 2015
Customer Avatar
From: Arlington
From:  United States
Age: 35-44
Gender:  Male
Customer Type:  LEGO Fan
Building Experience:  Advanced LEGO builder
Purchased For: Self
Build Time:
10hrs
Play Experience: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" Now my Lego minifigs have a place to watch their favorite Lego movies! My kids & I love this set. I’ve been wanting this set since it came out, but just recently broke down to buy it. Get it while you still can! I have modified the screen to where you can slide a smart phone behind the wall to watch an actual movie, and when you’re done I can slide the original screen back in place. The only draw back is I did the modification in tan instead of dark tan since dark tan is a hard to come by color. Now all I need to do is to make a larger movie complex to accommodate a tablet such as an Ipad Mini. "
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Palace Cinema
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

So much fun!

Posted:March 28, 2015
Customer Avatar
From: Seattle
From:  United States
Age: 25-34
Gender:  Male
Customer Type:  LEGO Fan
Building Experience:  Advanced LEGO builder
Purchased For: Self
Build Time:
06hrs
Play Experience: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for Money: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" This was my first Creator Modular build, and boy was it fun!
My wife picked this up for me as I used to work in a movie theater years ago and love theater architecture. The designers on this project did not disappoint.
Though the detail of the building is exceptional, I found the projector/booth area quite lacking in comparison (the projector reminded of the old public school projectors); such a nice theater needs a larger and better equipped booth! The good news is that I was able to create a nicer workspace and realistic projector at the sacrifice of the limousine along with the remaining/extra pieces. Hopefully my attached pictures do it justice, but it just goes to show that there is room to add more as well as make the set your own.
I also moved the spotlights to the roof to help with the "premier" feeling.
One could also use minifigs from either the Star Wars sets or Harry Potter sets and have your very own little premier with "costumed" customers. The hardest part of this would be to replace the outside marquee and auditorium screen stickers, but that shouldn't be too outside the realm of possibility.
"
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Palace Cinema
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Posted:March 2, 2015
Customer Avatar
From:  Canada
Age: 55-64
Gender:  Male
Building Experience:  Advanced LEGO builder
Purchased For: Self
Build Time:
03days
Play Experience: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Level of Difficulty:
Challenging
" loved it! wish I could afford to buy more of the expert buildings "
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Palace Cinema
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Modular Mania

Posted:February 21, 2015
Customer Avatar
From: Sacramento
From:  United States
Age: 35-44
Gender:  Female
Customer Type:  LEGO Fan
Purchased For: Self
Play Experience: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Level of Difficulty:
Challenging
" This was my first modular building, and I loved building it. It triggered a kind of mania to buy and build the others that I could get (pet shop/brownstone, Parisian restaurant, and detective's office/barber shop). Since I can't get my hands on the older modular sets, I am now designing my own to fill out my Lego street.
Pros: Fun to build. I learned a few new building techniques from this one. I'm considering buying another one just for the bricks, to use in a design of my own. (Like a museum for the research scientist ladies who don't have a building.)
Cons: None! I know some fans don't like the stickers, but I am more likely to buy a second palace cinema to build in a new way because I can just skip the stickers. The extremely specialized, printed pieces in the Detective's Office and Parisian Restaurant can't be reused as easily (or at all). "
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
 
 
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Palace Cinema
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My First Modular Building

Posted:February 18, 2015
Customer Avatar
From: Muurame
From:  Finland
Age: 35-44
Gender:  Female
Customer Type:  LEGO Fan
Building Experience:  Novice LEGO builder
Purchased For: Self
Play Experience: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for Money: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Level of Difficulty:
Challenging
" For some obscure reason I decided to buy Palace Cinema this January. It was my first modular building (as the title so elegantly suggests) and I loved it so much that I had to have more of the buildings.
I had some difficulty attaching the doors of the cinema properly and I had to get "expert help" from somebody with keener eyes and more attention to detail. I had built the doorway wrong, so one has to be very careful to follow the instructions to the letter (which obviously is not my strong point). The doors are fantastic when properly built and attached, and they open all the way (unlike in Town Hall).
The building looks fantastic and the sidewalk reminds me of Hollywood Walk of Fame. The attention to detail is truly amazing.
However, I do have some very minor complaints:
1) Seen from behind, the tower on the roof does look somewhat unfinished.
2) The sign column (which is otherwise fantastic-looking and was fun to build) that hangs over the door tends to droop ever so slightly and the doors chafe on it. But this is easily remedied by pushing the sign up a little.
3) The roof is attached to the lower floor from all corners with two studs. For some reason in my Palace Cinema the furthermost corner studs started to rip apart the roof structure when I took the roof off, so I had to replace the 1x2 plate with a 1x1 plate and a 1x1 flat tile (which I believe were spare ones from the Palace Cinema set, so no harm, no foul).
I have no problem with the car that came with the set. I actually crammed all the minifigures in the car (the photograper is standing at the back taking photos) and now they speed around wreaking havoc in the city block I've built. "
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Palace Cinema
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My most cherishable purchase I love Lego 4ever

Posted:February 4, 2015
Customer Avatar
From: Brooklyn
From:  United States
Age: 45-54
Gender:  Male
Customer Type:  LEGO Fan
Building Experience:  Advanced LEGO builder
Purchased For: Self
Build Time:
14days
Value for Money: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Level of Difficulty:
Average
" First of all I've never owned a Lego set period. When I was a kid I always wanted my own Lego set but never got anything. I've always loved Lego toys just from watching the tv commercials. But now that I'm a full adult I can buy what ever want - though I am on a tight budget. What shocked me was that the Lego customer service rep was willing to let me pay by money order - you don't really hear that considering every place only wants to accept credit cards or other electronic payments. So with that I do intend on buying more Lego products in the future as long as they keep accepting my money order payments. That's cool with me. Now onto the review -- when I finally got my Lego Palace Cinema delivered to me I couldn't wait to open it and look at every piece. I was so overjoyed I literally stared at the box for days & weeks after getting it shipped to my front door. I have to admit I fell more head over heels in love over the set even more. It's about priced right but I wished it were a little cheaper for some one on a tight budget but it's worth every penny. The set was very easy to build though it took me about 2wks to build simply because I enjoy taking my time - when it comes to toys like this the more time I spend on building it the more fun I have. I just recently called for another Lego Palace Cinema - I intend to build onto my existing set. I want to build a multiplex. Two bad things I have to say is that I wished they would've included maybe 2 or 3 full sets of alphabet letters to create your own movies titles on the marquee instead of having only stickers. That's one of the main reasons why I wanted this set. But overall the set itself is really cool. And I wished they would've given more seats. In my opinion you could include a lot more seats. Which is why I just ordered another set. But love the reclining most impressive is the movie projector - like the food bar area that's really cool and love the ticket booths. I love this set period. "
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Palace Cinema
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Really Fun Build

Posted:February 3, 2015
Customer Avatar
From: Gateshead
From:  United Kingdom
Age: 25-34
Gender:  Male
Customer Type:  LEGO Fan
Building Experience:  Intermediate LEGO builder
Purchased For: Self
Build Time:
06hrs
Play Experience: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Level of Difficulty:
Challenging
" All of my sets prior to this set had been vehicles and spaceships, but never a building. It's a different experience compared to what I was used to.
On the whole, this is a great set and I'd definitely recomment it. I love the way the front doors are built. Pretty imaginative.
People are right in saying that the interior lacks details, but use your imagination to put the detail in, after all that's what lego's about. "
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Palace Cinema
Overall: 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Lacks Something..

Posted:January 29, 2015
Customer Avatar
From: Omak
From:  United States
Age: 14-18
Gender:  Male
Customer Type:  LEGO Fan
Building Experience:  Expert LEGO builder
Purchased For: Self
Build Time:
01days
Play Experience: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value for Money: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Level of Difficulty:
Average
" This set lacks a lot of interior detail.. The bottom floor is just so plain!
I wish another minifigure was included that worked in the Cinema instead of just the 1. Also when I attached the Palace sign, it droops because it isn't being held up by very much... so it looks funny when you look at it from the side. As heavy as the sign is, it should be held up by more then a couple of arm things.
And it drives me CRAZY when LEGO uses the arched windows and just leaves them open without including the pieces to put in them.. the Parisian Restaurant has these windows but also has the black pieces for them.
This set just needed more interior detail, because the exterior looks great! "
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Response from LEGO:By Jordan - Core Product SpecialistConsumer ServicesFebruary 3, 2015
Thank you for your feedback. It is important to have the interior detail and every building seems to include new styles with old bricks. We will definitely discuss additional detail going forward.
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Palace Cinema
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Deal, Very Challenging

Posted:January 27, 2015
Customer Avatar
From: BROOKLYN
From:  United States
Age: 14-18
Gender:  Female
Customer Type:  LEGO Fan
Building Experience:  Expert LEGO builder
Purchased For: Self
Build Time:
04days
Build Time:
07hrs
Play Experience: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Level of Difficulty:
Very Challenging
" I was so excited to have gotten this for Christmas of 2013, I never received an Expert creator model before this. When I started I was shocked to find so many bags per floor. With a total of 3 floors, there were about 7 bags per floor. Each bag had a completely different size of legos than the others and had random items per bag. The building was pretty entertaining, the challenging part was switching back and forth looking for each little piece. Otherwise, it was a perfect purchase! "
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Palace Cinema
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Addition to the street

Posted:January 14, 2015
Customer Avatar
From: Chelmsford
From:  United States
Age: 55-64
Gender:  Female
Customer Type:  LEGO Fan
Building Experience:  Advanced LEGO builder
Purchased For: Self
Play Experience: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for Money: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Level of Difficulty:
Challenging
" I initially bought this because it was the only one I didn't have. When I built it I found it to be an interesting build. Not just the typical four walls. Great addition the street. "
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Palace Cinema
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Christmas Ever!

Posted:December 31, 2014
Customer Avatar
From: kitchener
From:  Canada
Age: 14-18
Gender:  Female
Customer Type:  LEGO Mom
Building Experience:  Novice LEGO builder
Purchased For: Son
Build Time:
06hrs
Play Experience: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Level of Difficulty:
Average
" This was the best present ever.....he opened up his Lego and we didn't see him again that day until supper!!
Everyone was happy!!
"
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Palace Cinema
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Worth it!

Posted:November 28, 2014
Customer Avatar
From:  United States
Age: 25-34
Gender:  Male
Customer Type:  LEGO Fan
Building Experience:  Expert LEGO builder
Purchased For: Self
Build Time:
08hrs
Play Experience: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Level of Difficulty:
Average
" Over all I would say this set is worth the investment.
Pros:
Great concept, fun to play with...
It brings lots of good bicks in a great color palette including the "brick texture" blocks. Lots of windows, very attractive minifigures and a red base plate which, is pretty awesome.
Cons:
My biggest criticism would be the lack of interior details. With so much interior space I think there could have been many more details added.
"
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Palace Cinema
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just amazing !!

Posted:November 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
From:  United Kingdom
Age: 25-34
Gender:  Female
Customer Type:  LEGO Fan
Building Experience:  Expert LEGO builder
Purchased For: Self
Build Time:
03days
Play Experience: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Level of Difficulty:
Very Challenging
" The detail is amazing its a shame to put the levels on top and hide all the quirky bits inside have shared a picture of it on facebook and the limo seems to be a favorite of all those that have seen it my favorite part has to be the double sided posters in the windows clever and unexpected idea. Any one who buys this will love seeing it come together to form a brilliant end to the street "
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Palace Cinema
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Posted:November 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
From:  United States
Age: 35-44
Gender:  Male
Customer Type:  LEGO Dad
Building Experience:  Intermediate LEGO builder
Purchased For: Son
Build Time:
05hrs
Play Experience: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for Money: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Level of Difficulty:
Average
" The building is great but the limo was a little disappointing. "
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Palace Cinema
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A Beautiful Build

Posted:October 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
From: San Francisco Bay Area
From:  United States
Age: 25-34
Gender:  Male
Customer Type:  LEGO Fan
Building Experience:  Expert LEGO builder
Play Experience: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Level of Difficulty:
Challenging
" The title says it all. This is the nicest-looking set I've owned, and while I own and love the Parisian Restaurant, this has a very dramatic exterior look in addition to plenty of movable elements (I do like the car) and some great figs. The building techniques, especially those for the doors, sign, and the angled front corner are very impressive. I also appreciate the creative use of Star Wars and Ninjago weapons, as well as other amusingly repurposed pieces (the skeleton legs!) Not to mention how the sign displays the name PALACE from either side. I left off the stickers; what can I say, I like my brick raw. I may change my mind about those stickers, but I won't change my mind about how much I love this set.
Step back into the era of the old studio theaters and get this set. You won't regret it. "
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Palace Cinema
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Easy build with facinating piece usage

Posted:August 30, 2014
Customer Avatar
From: Lebanon
From:  United States
Age: 25-34
Gender:  Female
Customer Type:  LEGO Fan
Building Experience:  Expert LEGO builder
Purchased For: Self
Build Time:
06hrs
Play Experience: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for Money: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Level of Difficulty:
Average
" Overall this model is by no means difficult to build for any LEGO expert, as it took me less than 6 hours total to put together. However, I did find the unique usage of some pieces intriguing and will no doubt incorporate these techniques into my free-build arsenal. What I appreciated most about this kit was the formation of a partial spiral staircase, a staircase railing system (not special pieces - a built unit), the mounting of the exterior 'spotlights,' and the terracotta tile roof look. This is my first piece in the LEGO creator town series, a collection that will no doubt grow in the coming years. "
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Palace Cinema
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Let's go to the movies!

Posted:August 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
From: Madison
From:  United States
Age: 25-34
Gender:  Male
Customer Type:  LEGO Fan
Building Experience:  Intermediate LEGO builder
Purchased For: Self
Build Time:
01days
Play Experience: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Level of Difficulty:
Challenging
" This is really an awesome set and I really like it alot and I like how it somewhat resembles the Chinease Theater in San Fransico California which is a nice theater here are the details first is the car or limo this is an okay build and has an old 60s or 50s look to it and I like how you can fit the child star in the back and the driver and can take her to the premire of her movie also you get two blockade pieces to keep everyone in line and you also get 2 very nice spot lights which I really liked I also like on the outside for the sidewalk you get stars like the Hollywood walk of fame which is very cool the inside on the 1st floor is very cool you have a place a teller to sell tickets who may be wanting to see a movie and you get a stand for drinks and popcorn or candy for the movie I also really liked the movie posters which are pretty common alot around alot of theaters on the second floor you have a somewhat a decent size room and six 6 seats as well as a nice movie projector and the big screen is very nice as well which has the movie showing Three Clicks & A Snap the roof part is very nice and I like how you build the roof and Spanish tile I really like the Palace sign on the front as well as some of the showings on the side which are just great for this building also you get a couple who is watching the movie and a newsman who is there for the premire.This is really another great modular building and is an iconic place for San Fransico plus it is a great building for your city or town for your minifigures a must have for anyone who likes the modular buildings.Overall just a really great Modular building set great job LEGO. "
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Palace Cinema
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Set!

Posted:May 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
From: Ann Arbor
From:  United States
Age: 14-18
Gender:  Male
Customer Type:  LEGO Fan
Building Experience:  Advanced LEGO builder
Purchased For: Self
Build Time:
04hrs
Play Experience: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for Money: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Level of Difficulty:
Challenging
" This is a great set. I really like the details on the set.
Pros:
Great Detail
Lots of Mini-figs
Challenging build
Cons:
Nothing!!
Overall this is a must buy for experienced builders. "
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
My Product Recommendations
Wakz' Pack Tracker
4.5 out of 5(28)
 
 
 
 
 
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>