Customer Reviews for LEGO Studio

LEGO Studio

Studio
Average Customer Rating:
4.889 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
9 of 9100%of reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Studio
Review 1 for Studio
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great sandbox for LEGO architecture fans

Posted:December 26, 2015
Customer Avatar
From: Minnesota
From:  United States
Age: 25-34
Gender:  Male
Customer Type:  LEGO Fan
Building Experience:  Advanced LEGO builder
Purchased For: Self
Build Time:
30+days
Play Experience: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Level of Difficulty:
Average
" My wife got this set for me this Christmas and at first, I had some concerns for the fact that this is not an ordinary lego set with building instructions to follow. I mean, how much fun can a guy with no architectural knowledge or creativity possibly have with box full of lego blocks? Still, I set my doubts aside just for the sake of trying, found a picture of a building I wanted to build as practice, and then I was pleasantly surprised how fun and satisfying building process was. In about half an hour, I was able to finish the N Tower in Seoul, Korea. With lot more pieces still laying around in the box, I started to create one building after another, and soon a small town sized landscape was created. It was pure fun and satisfaction.
This set is consist of generous amount of white pieces and clear pieces. By having no colors, I find it easier to build buildings and structures without the distraction of colors. This way I felt that I could focus purely on the structure itself, as if I was molding a shape out of white clay back in elementary school. With many different shapes to play with, I was able to create any structures I've envisioned without difficulties. One thing I'm surprised at is this set does not include some of common and useful pieces like cone shapes or long antenna pieces for buildings. I had to steal an antenna piece from poor Willis Tower to finish my building...
It comes with a pretty artsy book about architecture but I personally feel the book doesn't do a good job engaging us lego readers to make connections with lego and architecture. Sure, they do throw some examples of lego builds that covers each architectural concepts but I personally feel this book made for lego should have lot more fun exercise for us to follow and experiment with. Almost like a work shop environment rather than this textbook for Concept and Principles of Architecture 101 class we are given here with this set. Simply more doing than reading seems more fitting for lego sets personally.
Overall, this is a fun, build your own ideas sandbox set with so many possibilities at your fingertips. Given the fact it has no colors, fun minifigures, or building instructions, one might say this set is better suited for older age groups. Pieces are also better for making structures than race cars, airplanes, etc. This set is not gonna be for every lego fans, but for anyone who enjoys making buildings out of legos, this will be a set you might have a blast making making buildings of your own. "
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I would recommend this to a friend!
+21points
22of 23found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Studio
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Creativity for every level of design!

Posted:July 24, 2015
Customer Avatar
From: Boerne
From:  United States
Age: 45-54
Gender:  Female
Customer Type:  LEGO Fan
Building Experience:  Intermediate LEGO builder
Purchased For: Self
Play Experience: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" I was a little wary of this purchase, but was pleasantly surprised at the impressive design guide and selection of pieces. As a practicing Architect for that past 20 years, and a collector of the Lego Architecture line, I found it to be as fun for my daughter as is was for me....which can't be said for many sets. I want to buy a second set to keep at my firm! Bravo, Lego! "
I would recommend this to a friend!
+13points
15of 17found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Studio
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Close to Great

Posted:August 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
From: Woodbury
From:  United States
Age: 35-44
Gender:  Male
Customer Type:  LEGO Fan
Building Experience:  Advanced LEGO builder
Play Experience: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Level of Difficulty:
Average
" I picked this set up at B&N. It's worth the purchase for any fan of architecture or design. The massive book that comes with it is not an instruction book, but rather an introduction to architectural thought and design. It's concepts make the set worth the purchase alone.
There is a good variety of pieces, but omissions such as antennas and cones and other like pieces is baffling; as is the inclusion of images on the box that, while impressive, require a disclaimer that says you can't build the LEGO structures shown with the pieces inside.
The other odd omission is a piece separator. Of all the sets that need this, the architecture sets are at the top of the list. I have one I can use, but why it isn't included is a mystery to me.
The other odd thing is the interior packing. The is one large cardboard tray, two small cardboard trays, and two plastic trays with sub compartments. These are great to have, but they fit very awkwardly in the box and it doesn't take much to see how that could be better. It would also have been nice to have two additional plastic trays. There was the potential here for a really good portable package design, but the execution fails to match the potential -- especially for those who would want to keep this set together in it's box. I might do this, but it will be almost the only set (out of dozens) that I treat this way.
I wanted to be an architect as a kid and this set has renewed that dream. "
I would recommend this to a friend!
+151points
184of 217found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Studio
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good idea

Posted:July 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
From: NYC
From:  United States
Age: 55-64
Gender:  Male
Customer Type:  LEGO Fan
Building Experience:  Advanced LEGO builder
Play Experience: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" The 272 page book is worth the price. A different, unique and GOOD Lego experience. A lot of history and educational information in the book.
Stimulates the creativity in all of us. If you are looking for an A to B to C list of instructions that results in the creation of a licensed theme, like Star Wars, this might not be for you. If you want to exercise your creativity, learn something about architecture and the history of some of the worlds most famous buildings, then this is a great product.
"
I would recommend this to a friend!
+126points
168of 210found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Studio
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wow! Wow! Wow!

Posted:June 5, 2015
Customer Avatar
From: Fargo
From:  United States
Age: 14-18
Gender:  Male
Customer Type:  LEGO Fan
Building Experience:  Expert LEGO builder
Purchased For: Self
Build Time:
01hrs
Play Experience: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Level of Difficulty:
Average
" This is a dream set for any builder, either novice or expert. There is an interesting story behind how I received this set. Here's how it happened:
I had just gotten braces on my teeth, and after a few visits I decided to build a giant LEGO tooth for my orthodontist, Dr. Michael Keim. So I built it and brought it into the orthodontic office. They wanted to keep it there for a few weeks, and so I allowed that. The day after my appointment, I received a call from the office, wondering if they could buy the tooth, as there had been so much interest in it. I decided to donate it. At my next appointment, they told me that my orthodontist had ordered this very set for me. I was thrilled.
About a week later I finally received it. I of course opened it immediately. The book was amazing. It has full color pages, and different designs which you can build and learn from. The set has a perfect balance of slopes to arches and bricks. I was very impressed with the value of the set. "
I would recommend this to a friend!
+19points
37of 55found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Studio
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent introduction to Architectural concepts

Posted:August 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
From: Bothell
From:  United States
Age: 35-44
Gender:  Male
Customer Type:  LEGO Fan
Building Experience:  Intermediate LEGO builder
Play Experience: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Level of Difficulty:
Easy
" I picked this up at the local LEGO store today, and I'm definitely impressed.
I'm in college right now, studying to be a structural engineer, and as such have a thing for architecture.
I have the entire Architecture line, so initially I was going to buy this just for the completist factor, but I was intrigued by the possibilities of the book.
I also went to the B&N event this past weekend, and I like the brick selection. There's a few slopes and wedges in there I hadn't seen before, as well as the double-sided grooved blocks. Sadly, they didn't have the book available for viewing, though.
If you are interested in seeing the book before you buy, the "instructions" for 21050 are available in .pdf form at the LEGO.com site, all 272 pages of it.
It is essentially an introductory architecture text, introducing the concepts of sketching, inspiration, scale, texture, voids, density, modules, repetition and many more. TLG worked with world-class architecture firms including KRADS, MAD, REX, SOM, Sou Fujimoto, Winy Maas, Safdie and Tham & Videgaard. Real architects from these firms discuss concepts, then demonstrate how to use LEGOs to convey those concepts.
In my opinion, the book is fantastic, and as soon as I'm done with Finals next week, I'll be reading it cover to cover. The book by itself would easily cost upwards of $100 in any bookstore as an introductory or Architecture 101 text. Throw in over $100 worth of bricks and it's actually quite the bargain.
Incidentally, architecture and interior design concept models are nearly always 100% pure white, regardless of final intent, so the use of all white bricks is actually very accurate, and some of the firms in the book indicate that they occasionally will actually use LEGOs to represent buildings that they are designing, which is pretty cool.
I'm going to say 4.5 out of 5, only marking down because of what I see as a slight shortage of round pieces such as cones, antennae and peaks to go with the slopes that are provided. "
I would recommend this to a friend!
+28points
149of 270found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Studio
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The book is epic!

Posted:December 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
From: Pittsburgh
From:  United States
Age: 14-18
Gender:  Male
Customer Type:  LEGO Fan
Building Experience:  Advanced LEGO builder
Play Experience: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Level of Difficulty:
Challenging
" the piece selection is good ( though it could use some more cone and antenna pieces).
the piece count is not very good considering there are no minifigs.
but the book makes up for all that. If you are in to architecture and do not know a lot about it this book is for you.
the book is easily worth $50.
this set IS NOT for kids under the age of 12. and I suggest you be at least 14.
what you do not want to happen is you get this $150 set and you (or your child) does not understand it or finds it boring.
all in all if you are in to architecture this is a grate set ( with an epic book). "
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
42of 84found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Studio
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Endless Possibilities!

Posted:September 1, 2015
Customer Avatar
From: costa mesa
From:  United States
Age: 25-34
Gender:  Male
Customer Type:  LEGO Fan
Building Experience:  Expert LEGO builder
Purchased For: Self
Play Experience: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Level of Difficulty:
Challenging
" Amazing set! The creativity will keep growing as you further explore this set. I have enjoyed this set so much since I have gotten it the end of August. This will be the one set I will always tamper and create with for years to come. If you are of creative nature, this set is a must have. Thanks LEGO for making such a superb set for us. Can't wait to see what the future has instore for this set. "
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
10of 20found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Studio
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Such a Awesome product

Posted:November 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
From: cloumbus
From:  United States
Age: 19-24
Gender:  Male
Customer Type:  LEGO Fan
Building Experience:  Advanced LEGO builder
Purchased For: Self
Build Time:
05days
Build Time:
05hrs
Build Time:
02mins
Play Experience: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Level of Difficulty:
Average
" It could open my architecture designing road. I'm really excited to start this journey. Thanks Lego group for the idea making this kind of product on sell. I will expect more creative product like this in the future on sell. "
I would recommend this to a friend!
-4points
4of 12found this review helpful.