Customer Reviews for LEGO LEGO® MINDSTORMS® EV3

LEGO LEGO® MINDSTORMS® EV3

LEGO® MINDSTORMS® EV3
Average Customer Rating:
4.25 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (16 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
0
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
2
11 of 1669%of reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for LEGO® MINDSTORMS® EV3
Review 1 for LEGO® MINDSTORMS® EV3
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Posted:July 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
From: San Antonio
From:  United States
Age: 14-18
Gender:  Male
Customer Type:  LEGO Fan
Building Experience:  Expert LEGO builder
Purchased For: Self
Build Time:
02hrs
Build Time:
13mins
Play Experience: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Level of Difficulty:
Challenging
"When you program the ball shooter decrease the power otherwise it shoots the ball far away I already lost one ball"
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for LEGO® MINDSTORMS® EV3
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

good product

Posted:April 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
From: McAllen Tx
From:  United States
Age: 14-18
Gender:  Male
Customer Type:  LEGO Fan
Building Experience:  Novice LEGO builder
Purchased For: Self
Build Time:
01hrs
Play Experience: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Level of Difficulty:
Average
"they need to make the instructions for all the robots. whatever its very entertainig"
I would recommend this to a friend!
Response from LEGO:By Nicholas, Technical Product SpecialistLEGO® Consumer ServicesMay 2, 2014
Thank you for your feedback regarding the MINDSTORMS EV3. We certainly appreciate comments from customers, good or bad, it's what makes us better. If you are interested in building some of the other robots, you can download them from the MINDSTORMS product page on LEGO.com.

If you get stuck, feel free to contact customer service for assistance.

I hope this helps!
+3points
4of 5found this review helpful.
Review 3 for LEGO® MINDSTORMS® EV3
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The most Amazing LEGO® Product

Posted:December 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
From:  United States
Age: 14-18
Gender:  Male
Purchased For: Self
Play Experience: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Level of Difficulty:
Average
"First of all this is my first LEGO® MINDSTORMS® product so i can't compare it with NXT .
I only can say that this product is MUST-HAVE .
It's the most amazing product i've ever bought ,
You can build robots with +550 technic elements of and 3 powerful motors and sure the great sensors .
But don't forget to buy an organizer to place your pieces on it because there is a lot of tiny pieces .
Pros :
Every thing is awesome .
Easy to program .
Programming via brick is great .
Great product for education .
The design of the pieces and brick .
The technology of this product is awesome and smart .
Cons :
The software is too laggy .
So that's it and thank you ."
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
19of 28found this review helpful.
Review 4 for LEGO® MINDSTORMS® EV3
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Posted:December 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
From:  Canada
Age: 14-18
Gender:  Male
Build Time:
02days
Build Time:
06hrs
Play Experience: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for Money: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Level of Difficulty:
Challenging
"A very cool robot set, allows you to build hundred of different models, but quite expensive!"
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for LEGO® MINDSTORMS® EV3
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Greatest Lego Robot Ever!!!

Posted:December 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
From: Bowie
From:  United States
Age: 14-18
Gender:  Male
Customer Type:  LEGO Fan
Building Experience:  Advanced LEGO builder
Build Time:
01hrs
Build Time:
15mins
Play Experience: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for Money: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Level of Difficulty:
Challenging
"My friends and I used the EV3 for the FIRST Lego League Competition, Nature's Fury, in 2013. We decided on using the EV3 because we thought we would have a better chance of winning the competition. But we did not want to be bias, so we tested the NXT Brick with the same Technic frame. The EV3 had better results. Using the EV3 robot, our team came in first at the Competition!
The point I am trying to make is that the EV3 robot is superior to the NXT, NXT 2.0, and the RCX. End of story."
I would recommend this to a friend!
-2points
3of 8found this review helpful.
Review 6 for LEGO® MINDSTORMS® EV3
Overall: 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Even the box is disappointing - software disaster

Posted:December 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
From: Dudley
From:  United Kingdom
Age: 55-64
Gender:  Male
Customer Type:  LEGO Fan
Building Experience:  Expert LEGO builder
Play Experience: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value for Money: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Level of Difficulty:
Very Challenging
"The NXT box could be used as a work tray, this one is just a carton. Inside you get less sensors and motor value plus software is now download only.
When I downloaded and installed the EV3 software my NXT 2.0 software stopped working although version 1.0 was untouched. The software itself has issue on my Vista software such as the getting started screem remain smallsized when I click on it making it unreadable. Both issues are with technical support at the moment.
The NXT sensors can only used after downloading the blocks from support website. I also have gyro and accelerations sensors which i downloaded blocks from the suppliers website. I am still at a loss as to how you use a NXT motor as no block is provided for it?
The RXC sensors I could use with the NXT set are now apparently unsupported - hardly very green!
My recommendation is if you have NXT stick with it and cherrish it.
Never before have I been so disapponted with a lego purchase, if i could set the clock back I would have never bought it. Where is my Tardis?
"
-40points
40of 120found this review helpful.
Review 7 for LEGO® MINDSTORMS® EV3
Overall: 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not the MindStorms I Remember

Posted:November 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
From: Wildwood
From:  United States
Age: 25-34
Gender:  Male
Customer Type:  LEGO Fan
Building Experience:  Advanced LEGO builder
Play Experience: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value for Money: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
"I fell in love with Mindstorms in college when we used a Lego RCX to program our projects in my Intro to Robotics course. It was a lot of fun and you really could express your ideas in so many ways. That is what Mindstorms brings to mind. Brainstorming solutions, the limit of what you can do is what your mind can think of.
After opening my EV3 kit, I set aside the instructions and went about creating my children a little robot. I start looking through the pieces and I realize that all of the things I loved to build with a not in this set. No differential drive. I have 4 wheels and two treads, but I can't create something with both treads and wheels. No technic bricks what so ever. 3 gears sizes but it's really hard to build a gear reduction when they don't align, let alone when I don't have any non-friction connector peg cross axles. And then I'm looking at the servo motor and thinking to myself, man this takes up a ton of space. I'm going to have to find some creative way to build around all of this. I've got a handful of swords... K, I don't really need those but they're nice decorative pieces. I've got plenty of body plates, weird balls, and pre-casted cages pieces but it's all decorative fluff. When you get does to it, the guts are missing.
This kit is setup to build the 5 basic robot layouts designed on the box and not much more than that. Even my 8 year old daughter picked it up and within 5 minutes said, "I can't build what I want with this".
Now, on the positive side, I do like the new controller. I like that it features Bluetooth. With the iOS app, you can build your own custom controllers which is pretty cool. It has a nice diagnostic page for checking the values on all the ports and positions of all the servo motors. It also has a page to manually drive the motor ports with the buttons.
But... It does take a long time to turn on which is a real pain when you're iteratively building your own creation and you want to test ideas while not leaving it running all the time draining batteries. And it seems a bit heftier than the old RCX controller. I had some concerns because it's a tad weighty for the servo motors to lift (particularly with the extra length of the motor unit, creating leverage against the motor). It features a stud less design, which speaks to some of the frustrations with this set. It'd be nice to have other ways to connect my lego's and technic parts to this other than connector pegs.
This set really needs some more spare parts included with it to let the users run wild with their imagination. Or alternatively, if we're minimizing giving the consumer extra parts that won't be used in every creation, then give me an add-on set I can purchase that has the pieces I'm going to very quickly realize I need if I want to do more than what's in the 5 sample robots.
Overall, this set has left me disappointed. I much prefer the technic motors to these ones. I wish they could give me servo motors in the technic motor form factor. I wish they included bricks and studs with this set, something other than angular beams. I wish there were cams and diff drives and turrets. I wish I had a full collection of connector pegs and cross axels and gears. I wish I just had more..."
+103points
149of 195found this review helpful.
Review 8 for LEGO® MINDSTORMS® EV3
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pretty Good Lego

Posted:September 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
From: Belfast
From:  United Kingdom
Age: 14-18
Gender:  Male
Customer Type:  LEGO Fan
Building Experience:  Expert LEGO builder
Play Experience: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Level of Difficulty:
Average
"Not going to say much but this was really good. this is the first mindstorm I've had and it is really good. Well done lego. Anyone who is wanting this GET IT NOW!!!"
I would recommend this to a friend!
-3points
6of 15found this review helpful.
Review 9 for LEGO® MINDSTORMS® EV3
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Mindstorms Ever

Posted:September 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
From:  Germany
Age: 35-44
Gender:  Male
Customer Type:  LEGO Fan
Building Experience:  Advanced LEGO builder
Play Experience: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Level of Difficulty:
Challenging
"After months of waiting I finally got the Mindstorms EV3 last week. With my 2 sons I assembled the first robot Tracker together and got it moving within an hour. Downloading and installing the Mindstorms software for our MAC laptop was easy and a matter of minutes to get it going. The software is easy to use and we got the other bonus robots immediately from the LEGO website. With still over a dozen robots to chose from this set has weeks of play fun still ahead of us - not to mention the unlimited possibilities of creating robots on your own. Using the Tracker robot I could show my sons how to use the robot with a running program as well as by switching it to IR control quickly since its so intuitive to use.
There are only 2 things which were a little disappointment:
The Mindstorm set was announced to have instructions for 5 robots included - but the box had only the instructions for the Tracker robot included.
This is not a major problem because you can get the building instructions for the other ones (Gripper, etc.) from the Lego website. What would have been nice if the building instructions would have been part of the project files (not only the program itself) and if everything would have been a single download file.
All in all this set is amazing and offers given the amount of robots (15) out of the box the best price / performance of all lego sets."
I would recommend this to a friend!
+163points
209of 255found this review helpful.
Review 10 for LEGO® MINDSTORMS® EV3
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it

Posted:September 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
From: Indianapolis
From:  United States
Age: 35-44
Gender:  Male
Customer Type:  LEGO Parent
Building Experience:  Advanced LEGO builder
Play Experience: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Level of Difficulty:
Average
"Many options, spurs on creativity, must have for Lego families. Pricey but weeks of entertainment."
I would recommend this to a friend!
-6points
24of 54found this review helpful.
Review 11 for LEGO® MINDSTORMS® EV3
Overall: 
1 / 5
1 / 5

BAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAD!

Posted:September 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
From:  Canada
Age: 14-18
Gender:  Male
Play Experience: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value for Money: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Level of Difficulty:
Average
"For a couple of months, i have been waiting for this product to come out out on the shelves, but today when i went home and i opened the box, it wasn't really that great. First of all it really needed a camera, as my dad owns a plastic company, i know that whats in the box does not reflect the price, its actually worth max 75-100$ and with that price we could tell its way overpriced."
-160points
38of 236found this review helpful.
Review 12 for LEGO® MINDSTORMS® EV3
Overall: 
3 / 5
3 / 5

to expensive

Posted:August 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
From: roy
From:  United States
Age: 14-18
Gender:  Male
Customer Type:  LEGO Fan
Building Experience:  Intermediate LEGO builder
Play Experience: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Level of Difficulty:
Challenging
"it sounds cool, but the price bothers me. i spent at least a year saving for nxt 2.0, but this mindstorms price is very high. and i don't want to wast 2 years on this. i don't know how good this will be but i wouldn't bother to save for this. nxt is cool, but this has way to much detail and that just adds more and more costs. the price like risen about 50 or 60 dollars!"
-138points
81of 300found this review helpful.
Review 13 for LEGO® MINDSTORMS® EV3
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Lego mindstorms ev3

Posted:July 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
From: Auckland
From:  New Zealand
Age: 14-18
Gender:  Male
Customer Type:  LEGO Fan
Building Experience:  Advanced LEGO builder
Play Experience: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I would love to see this product come very soon, as I am buying it the day it comes out, very good and well worth the money, I think."
I would recommend this to a friend!
-52points
24of 100found this review helpful.
Review 14 for LEGO® MINDSTORMS® EV3
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The future of lego

Posted:July 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
From:  United States
Age: 14-18
Gender:  Male
Customer Type:  LEGO Fan
Building Experience:  Advanced LEGO builder
Play Experience: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This is the best lego set EVER! I just wish it could include a camera and maybe a speaker so you could spy on someone but otherwise this set is so coooool!"
I would recommend this to a friend!
-2points
63of 128found this review helpful.
Review 15 for LEGO® MINDSTORMS® EV3
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Best Set Ever

Posted:July 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
From: Boise
From:  United States
Age: 14-18
Gender:  Male
Customer Type:  Other
Building Experience:  Intermediate LEGO builder
Play Experience: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Talented set and I recommend all of the LEGO Mindstorms fans getting this set. I love all LEGO products, mostly creator and technic. Great set, and is worth it. Only, I think that the BEST SET EVER is 41999, from the Technic building challenge. (coming in Aug.)"
I would recommend this to a friend!
-16points
30of 76found this review helpful.
Review 16 for LEGO® MINDSTORMS® EV3
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

very nice

Posted:June 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
From: washington
From:  United Kingdom
Age: 25-34
Gender:  Male
Customer Type:  Other
Building Experience:  Advanced LEGO builder
Play Experience: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Level of Difficulty:
Very Easy
"its i would buy it if its install in united kingdom because its to smart yayay
5
"
-127points
32of 191found this review helpful.