Customer Reviews for LEGO Creationary

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at LEGO.

LEGO Creationary

Creationary
Average Customer Rating:
4.042 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(71 Reviews) 69
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (71 reviews)
5 stars
32
4 stars
24
3 stars
6
2 stars
4
1 star
5
55 of 7177%of reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Creationary
Review 1 for Creationary
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fun game for all ages

Posted:October 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
From: Manchester
From:  United States
Age: 25-34
Gender:  Female
Customer Type:  LEGO Fan
Building Experience:  Expert LEGO builder
Play Experience: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"We regularly play Creationary at our house with family and friends. My only suggestion would be to make an expansion pack with more building cards. Unfortunately we have played so often that we can guess what anyone is building almost right away."
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Creationary
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent!

Posted:October 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
From: Chelmsford
From:  United Kingdom
Age: 45-54
Gender:  Female
Customer Type:  LEGO Parent
Building Experience:  Intermediate LEGO builder
Play Experience: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Level of Difficulty:
Challenging
"Such good fun! Love It!! I recommend everyone plays this.
When you manage to produce a build that looks exactly like the picture on the card it is such a great feeling.
Even my 6 year old has produced a lot of recognizable builds.
I often wish there were more pieces in the pack to choose from - but then it is part of the challenge of the game to use what is available isn't it!
"
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Creationary
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fun Game

Posted:April 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
From: St. Paul
From:  United States
Age: 25-34
Gender:  Male
Customer Type:  LEGO Fan
Building Experience:  Intermediate LEGO builder
Play Experience: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Level of Difficulty:
Average
"I was given this as a gift from my nephews who are 7 and 5 for my birthday. Once we got it all set up it was a blast. We played with 4 adults and 3 kids. My 7 year old nephew got a picture of a graveyard and knew exactly what he wanted to build and it was very close to the picture. If you are not familiar with free building with Legos this is not for you. You need to have imagination in order to play and an understanding of building with Legos. I don't think this game is for everyone, but it is extremely fun with the right players.
I hope they come out with more cards and pieces to make it even more fun."
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Creationary
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Pretty Fun!

Posted:March 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
From: Chicago
From:  United States
Age: 14-18
Gender:  Male
Customer Type:  LEGO Fan
Building Experience:  Intermediate LEGO builder
Play Experience: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Level of Difficulty:
Challenging
"Even though it has some drawbacks, it's still a very fun and challenging game. There are thousands of different models you can build! The only thing I don't like is that some card have things that are nearly impossible to build. But I guess it's okay."
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Creationary
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

why does everyone hate it?

Posted:February 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
From: lake city
From:  United States
Age: 14-18
Gender:  Male
Customer Type:  LEGO Fan
Building Experience:  Advanced LEGO builder
Play Experience: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Level of Difficulty:
Average
"I think that this set comes with a load of pieces, and has enough to build every single model shown on the cards. You need imagination! that's all!"
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Creationary
Overall: 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Create your own

Posted:January 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
From:  United States
Age: 14-18
Gender:  Male
Customer Type:  LEGO Fan
Building Experience:  Advanced LEGO builder
Play Experience: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value for Money: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Level of Difficulty:
Average
"The difficulty depends on what you build. you can build whatever you want, and it can be hard or easy. The rules are pretty simple, and your parents would like to play this with you because it is like a board game. It is a great family game, for people of all ages. You can play how you want, but there are rules. The peices are sorted by color, and you get some wheels and glass looking peices. I think it should have more base plates, but it is still pretty good. You also get one microfigure and one minifigure. They are both bad, and the minifigures hair always falls off. It is a bland looking thing, so maybe you could add some of your own other peices to it. And while you play, try to add in a rule or 2. Try to spice things up a bit with it. Maybe play it in 10 minute segments throughtout the week or day. Also, they have cards that give building ideas, sometimes you could make your own cards or something up. These are just some suggestions to get the game more fun.
Conclusion- Overall, I only recommend it to certain lego fans. This would be for people who don't like a specific theme. Or maybe you just want more spare peices. Maybe you want a base for your clone troopers. Maybe you like board games. This would be for those people. Not people who have to get hero factory and only build that. I think it is an OK price, but don't buy it because you think it is in a certain theme, think of it like spare peices, but with rules.
"
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
6of 10found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Creationary
Overall: 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Somewhat challenging!

Posted:January 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
From: Citrus Heights
From:  United States
Age: 25-34
Gender:  Female
Customer Type:  LEGO Parent
Building Experience:  Intermediate LEGO builder
Play Experience: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value for Money: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Level of Difficulty:
Challenging
"played with 2 adults and 4 kids!! there is no way you can build whats on those cards with only what was given to you,,, even with an experienced builder!!! I think it would be easier if the pictures were in Lego format so you can kinda see what pieces are necessary.. seemed to be harder for the younger kids 6-8 personally i will probably buy more pieces to make it a little easier for the younger kids!!! IT INDEFINABLY WAS NOT AS EASY AS ADVERTISED!!!"
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+6points
10of 14found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Creationary
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Creationary-Best Building game so far

Posted:January 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
From: Melbourne, Australia
From:  Australia
Age: 14-18
Gender:  Male
Customer Type:  LEGO Fan
Building Experience:  Expert LEGO builder
Play Experience: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for Money: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Level of Difficulty:
Easy
"This set was good because it came with lots of pieces and two characters. There are cards that have pictures on them that you can choose from by rolling the lego die. There are so many creations and a wide range of pieces. You have time to build your object and finish it in that time. As much as this set is fun and interesting the pieces get lost very easily but I keep them all together in the box. This set may not have many fancy things but I think it is useful and people could get allot of use out of this game. So until next time get building and have fun."
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Creationary
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Fun game, needs tweeking

Posted:January 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
From: Eau Claire
From:  United States
Age: 25-34
Gender:  Female
Customer Type:  LEGO Fan
Building Experience:  Expert LEGO builder
Play Experience: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Level of Difficulty:
Very Challenging
"I received Creationary for Christmas and have played it twice. Once with an eight-year old. and once with a group of adults (I was the youngest at 33!)
Both times we had fun playing but there are few challenges with this game. One is packaging. It needs a lid for the inner tray or maybe a deeper tray. I found that I had to use Press N Seal wrap to keep the bricks in their spots between uses, otherwise transporting or storing this game caused all the bricks to jumble together. Not a huge problem, but if you want to quickly sit down and play, having the pieces mixed together is harder to start with.
The pictures on the cards are hard to build. The 8 year old had fun building but didn't know what a lot of the pictures were meant to be-she had no idea what the Eiffel Tower was. The adults, admittedly not Lego fans, had no idea where to start building with even the "easy" pictures. They knew what the object was, but didn't know where to even start. Perhaps a beginning set of cards where the object is shown already built with bricks so people get more of an idea of where to start and are not as overwhelmed?
The bricks themselves seem, at first, to be plentiful. And, to be honest, the number is fine. However, the basic building blocks are lacking. You might be given 2 yellow 2X2, but need 8. You can mix colors, yes, but overall, I found that the basic ones are lacking. I may be adding more over time as I figure out the ones we need the most (such as more roof tiles!).
That being said, we all had a lot of fun playing and trying to guess what someone was building. It will be a game I pull out often in the future. I doubt a non-Lego lover would end up with this game as it seems to be geared towards those who already build and have an idea on how the bricks work together."
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Creationary
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

A challenging game

Posted:January 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
From: springfield
From:  United States
Age: 14-18
Gender:  Male
Customer Type:  LEGO Fan
Building Experience:  Intermediate LEGO builder
Play Experience: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value for Money: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Level of Difficulty:
Challenging
"This game is defintiley one of the hardest games I have ever played. When I first played this game with my family we found it hard to make the objects on the cards, and getting all the right lego bricks. It is defintley not for someone who does not like legos. I still like this game even if it is hard to play, and I do recommend it to a friend."
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Creationary
Overall: 
1 / 5
1 / 5

waste of money!!!!

Posted:January 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
From: london
From:  United Kingdom
Age: 35-44
Gender:  Female
Customer Type:  LEGO Parent
Building Experience:  Intermediate LEGO builder
Play Experience: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value for Money: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Level of Difficulty:
Very Challenging
"i brought this for my 7year old for christmas. firstly, no where nearly enough shapes and sizes of lego pieces, and the pictures on the cards are so un-achievable to make for example a bolt of lightning or a comet!!.
I added extra lego pieces that my son already had and even us adults still couldnt make the models. its nothing like the picture on the outside of the box!!. extremely dissapointing :(
"
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Creationary
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Family Gift

Posted:December 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
From: St Louis
From:  United States
Age: 65 or older
Gender:  Female
Customer Type:  LEGO Grandparent
Building Experience:  Advanced LEGO builder
Play Experience: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"i bought Creationary for my son and his family for their family Hanukah gift. Children ages 12, 8 and 4. They are avid board game players and raved that the game was fun, challenging, and a great family game for all in the family."
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Creationary
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great

Posted:August 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
From: Eindhoven
From:  Netherlands
Age: 25-34
Gender:  Male
Customer Type:  LEGO Fan
Play Experience: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for Money: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Level of Difficulty:
Challenging
"WE've got this game now for a while and we're loving it. Forget it when people say there aren't enough blocks. There is just the right amount of blocks to make every object on the card. We made the following rules and it works out fine. 1 star. max 1 minute building time. 2 star 2 minutes, 3 stars 3 minutes. The trick is to keep it to the basics and forget about detail (though sometimes a little detail makes all the difference). I must say We haven't played it with kids so I can't tell you how they will experience it. But we as adults love the game.
There is one drawback. There are not enough cards. Play the game a couple of times and you can guess the answer because you probably have seen an image before. So LEGO.. make more cards, lots more.. :)
"
I would recommend this to a friend!
+16points
18of 20found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Creationary
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Idea, Good Execution

Posted:August 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
From:  United States
Age: 25-34
Gender:  Male
Customer Type:  LEGO Parent
Building Experience:  Advanced LEGO builder
Play Experience: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for Money: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Level of Difficulty:
Challenging
"Creationary is definitely one of the coolest "board" games on the market. The concept if simple: build an item out of Legos and have others guess what you made. Sounds easy, right? Wrong. The amount of Legos given does not easily lend to the items that are shown on the cards. Yes, I understand this is the challenging part, however, the sheer impossibility of several of the items that are shown makes the game less fun. A seven-year-old is supposed to be able to play this? Many adults I know struggle, or are incapable of building some of the items. Also, more bricks in more colors are in order. The game is definitely fun, don't get me wrong, but you'll end up discarding several cards or passing over turns before the game is won or lost."
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
6of 9found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Creationary
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this game!

Posted:June 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
From: Ionia
From:  United States
Age: 25-34
Gender:  Female
Customer Type:  LEGO Fan
Building Experience:  Advanced LEGO builder
Play Experience: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Level of Difficulty:
Average
"I purchased this game for the family right when it came out. We have had it for a few years now and we still enjoy it. We did add pieces to make the game more fun, I thought of this as more of a starter kit. We kept a mini notebook with a running tally of the pieces we wish we had.
The key is to remember that you don't have to make a supremely detailed model; you just have to make enough to help people guess. You can say "I ran out of green so pretend the yellow is green." It's never been a problem for us. :) I sort the pieces by color and stack like pieces together after every game to make turns go faster. We also have a "no guessing for the first minute" rule.
I've played it with the kids and we've brought this out at grown-up parties. We LOVE this game and look forward to many more years of playing!!
"
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
19of 39found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Creationary
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

An Interesting Game

Posted:June 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
From:  United States
Age: 14-18
Gender:  Male
Customer Type:  LEGO Fan
Building Experience:  Expert LEGO builder
Play Experience: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Level of Difficulty:
Average
"This is a unique game. It has fun aspects to it, being great for practicing your LEGO building. Some of the things you have to build are hard to do with the pieces you have, it adds a lot to the game though. A fun game to play, especially with young children!"
I would recommend this to a friend!
-39points
26of 91found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Creationary
Overall: 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Frankly, its a waste

Posted:January 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
From:  United States
Age: 14-18
Gender:  Male
Building Experience:  Advanced LEGO builder
Play Experience: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value for Money: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Level of Difficulty:
Average
"My brother got this about a year ago, and we've brought it out no more than five times. Our family had some laughs the first time, but after that, it got boring and nobody wanted to play it anymore. Me and my brother only use it to goof off with the pieces once in a blue moon.
If you want something worthwhile, buy a tub of Lego bricks."
-4points
2of 8found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Creationary
Overall: 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not a fun game

Posted:January 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
From:  United States
Age: 35-44
Gender:  Female
Play Experience: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value for Money: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Level of Difficulty:
Very Challenging
"My children received this game for Christmas from a grandparent who knows we are all huge Lego fans. I soooo wanted to like this game, but I think I hate it.
As has already been said, there are far too few legos to make the items on the cards. And the items on the cards are extremely difficult to recreate with legos, even the easy cards.
Last night I played this game with my nine-year-old daughter, and it was frustrating for both of us. The only way I recognized what she built was when she gave me MAJOR hints. The same was true for her with what I made.
I really do not recommend this game, unless you are up for an hour of frustration."
+1point
4of 7found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Creationary
Overall: 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Lego Creationary game review

Posted:September 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
From: Somewhere in PA
From:  United States
Age: 14-18
Gender:  Male
Customer Type:  LEGO Fan
Building Experience:  Advanced LEGO builder
Play Experience: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for Money: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Level of Difficulty:
Challenging
"This is a pretty fun idea for a game, but lego could have done more with the idea. How do they expect someone to build a skyscraper out of 10 gray bricks without making it a rainbow skyscraper? We had to add our own bricks to make this game even possible. It is also hard to build something just showing a picture that looks like an 8 year old's work. If you just go online and get the cards and instructions, and have your own bucket of lego's, you'd save at least $20.00 and have more fun than buying the real game."
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Creationary
Overall: 
1 / 5
1 / 5

VERY disappointed in this game

Posted:September 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
From: long island, ny
From:  United States
Age: 35-44
Gender:  Female
Customer Type:  LEGO Parent
Play Experience: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value for Money: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Level of Difficulty:
Very Challenging
"Let me start by saying this is a great concept but unfortunately a VERY poor design. I can't imagine that your creative team had any children try this out before putting it on the shelves. First of all, there are no where near enough pieces to build the pictures you have on the cards. Next, half of the pictures are near impossible to build based on the pictures you provide. A creative mind on your team would have included pictures actually MADE of the legos instead of bad scetches of pictures. I truly do love the concept but the design needs alot of help."
-7points
3of 13found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>