Customer Reviews for LEGO LEGO Hero Factory - Dunkan Bulk

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at LEGO.

LEGO LEGO Hero Factory - Dunkan Bulk

Bulk is the metal muscle of the LEGO Hero Factory Alpha Team. With the strength of steel, this bot is a hard-hitting hero. Von Nebulas minions know better than to cross paths too closely to this metal man! The toughest and strongest bot of the LEGO Hero Factory Alpha team Armed with a multi-functional heavy metal weapon, loaded with metal sphere ammo Equipped with removable hero core, high-tech air armor and a helmet with camera and communications headset with camera Over 6 (15cm) tall
Average Customer Rating:
4.032 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(31 Reviews) 31
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (31 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
13
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
1
25 of 3181%of reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for LEGO LEGO Hero Factory - Dunkan Bulk
Review 1 for LEGO LEGO Hero Factory - Dunkan Bulk
Overall: 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Get smashed Bulk!

Posted:September 17, 2010
Customer Avatar
From: Metru Nui
Play Experience: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value for Money: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
" This set is so not worth the money!
Pros-
Nice mask
Cons-
Tiny!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
UNBENDEBLE ARMS AND LEGS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
I HATE the leg armor
Hero cores are stupid
Dumb weapon
HORRIBLE SET!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! "
-12points
4of 20found this review helpful.
Review 2 for LEGO LEGO Hero Factory - Dunkan Bulk
Overall: 
2 / 5
2 / 5

not the best of choices

Posted:June 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
From: syracuse
From:  United States
Age: 14-18
Gender:  Male
Customer Type:  LEGO Fan
Building Experience:  Advanced LEGO builder
Play Experience: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value for Money: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Level of Difficulty:
Very Easy
" it is a good looking set, but playability is hindered by the fact that it has such limitations with it's poseability. The building experience was disappointing, to say the least. The build was finished in 20 seconds. Not exactly challenging. And his name is Bulk while he is the least bulky of all the 1.0 heroes. Overall, 2/5 rating. Buy a rookie set. "
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for LEGO LEGO Hero Factory - Dunkan Bulk
Overall: 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Get another hero!

Posted:June 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
From: United states
From:  United States
Age: 14-18
Gender:  Male
Customer Type:  LEGO Fan
Building Experience:  Expert LEGO builder
Play Experience: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value for Money: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Level of Difficulty:
Easy
" this set is o.k., but i definetly reccomend others. He went together weird, And was strangely bulky and non-flexible. He has a weird gun accesory, and it is too big and makes his arm fall. As usual with these sets, you will have to buy another one to acheive any playability. Try to get one of the 2.0's instead. "
I would recommend this to a friend!
-2points
0of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for LEGO LEGO Hero Factory - Dunkan Bulk
Overall: 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not Impressed

Posted:August 17, 2010
Customer Avatar
From: Guildford, England
Age: 14-18
Gender:  Male
How long has this product been owned?  2-7 weeks
How often is this product used?  Once per week
Play Experience: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for Money: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
" I purchased this set while on holiday, with high hopes. There had been so much hype about Lego Hero Factory, but it seems to me the 'Heros' have let the theme down.
Lets start on the build. In the time it takes to read the above paragraph, many people could have finished the set. It contains 17 PIECES ONLY - not impressive.
The armour - overall, it features quite a good helmet, leg and chest piece - but then you look at the weapon. Its HOLLOW (much like my opinion of the whole set). This means that, while he can be put in cool poses, only one side is neat and tidy.
Finally, the play value. This about the only time Dunkan Bulk redeams himself. If you got a villian (which, I must add, are loads better than the Heros), you can have hours of fun.
I have been buying LEGO for over 7 years now, and I must say, I have never been so unimpessed with a set through all that time. It seems that LEGO are trading the build for fun. :( "
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for LEGO LEGO Hero Factory - Dunkan Bulk
Overall: 
3 / 5
3 / 5

dissapionting but good play expirience

Posted:August 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
From: U.S.A
Age: 14-18
Gender:  Male
How long has this product been owned?  1 week or less
How often is this product used?  Every few days
Play Experience: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for Money: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
" when I purchased bulk I had some prety high expectation for the toughfest bot in the alfa team but when i opened his canister i was dissapionterd to see he only had 17 pieces! usualy the price of a lego set is based on the number of bricks with 17 pices this guy should cost about $1.70 in the U.S!!now on to the pros and cons
pros
cool desingn
awsome colors
great for posing
good play expirience
cons
price
weapon is hollow
wierd right arm
buiding expirience
(under a minute)
overall i give this product a 3/5 "
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for LEGO LEGO Hero Factory - Dunkan Bulk
Overall: 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Best of the Alpha Team

Posted:August 4, 2010
Customer Avatar
From: California,CA
Gender:  Male
How long has this product been owned?  2-7 weeks
How often is this product used?  Every few days
Play Experience: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
" Dunkan Bulk is in my opinion the best of the Alpha Team, he has a cool but hollow gun, which is dissapointing.I think the Rookie Team is better than the Alpha Team because of the non-hollow weapons in it.On the bright side he has a well designed helmet and an exellent color scheme.Anyway, I would not recommend this as a great welcoming to Hero Factory if you are thinking of getting Dunkan as your first set get Furno instead(my favorite hero is Furno).I would much more recommend Dunkan Bulk and Vapour.I would much more like to get him along with Xplode.Here are the pros and cons.
PROS:nice helmet design
good color scheme
exellent play value
CONS:hollow gun
little bit overprice
READ MY OTHER REVIEWS!!!!!!!!!!!!! "
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for LEGO LEGO Hero Factory - Dunkan Bulk
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Pretty cool

Posted:September 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
From: Manchester
From:  United Kingdom
Age: 14-18
Gender:  Male
Customer Type:  LEGO Fan
Building Experience:  Advanced LEGO builder
Play Experience: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Level of Difficulty:
Very Easy
" Duncan Bulk is a nice hero to get and has a really good colour scheme but it is a very simple and easy build, just like the rest of them.
The weapon is really cool from the outside but just like Stringer and Stormer on the inside of the weapon it looks cheap.
The helmet I must say is probably the best thing on the hero and so is the armour and hero core. Now for pros and cons.
Pros
Cool armour
hero core looks great
helmet rocks
weapon looks good from outside
cons
simple build
weapon looks cheap from inside
0ver411 98% Wahay!
"
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for LEGO LEGO Hero Factory - Dunkan Bulk
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Okay set.

Posted:September 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
From: Gobles
From:  United States
Age: 14-18
Gender:  Male
Customer Type:  LEGO Fan
Building Experience:  Advanced LEGO builder
Play Experience: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value for Money: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Level of Difficulty:
Easy
" Bulk is an okay set. I like his 3.0 waaaaaaay better. If you want to buy Bulk you should buy Bulk 3.0 "
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for LEGO LEGO Hero Factory - Dunkan Bulk
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

ok buy

Posted:August 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
From:  United States
Age: 14-18
Gender:  Male
Customer Type:  LEGO Fan
Building Experience:  Advanced LEGO builder
Play Experience: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for Money: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Level of Difficulty:
Very Easy
" this was a nice set because it is like bionicle. but next time there should be more peices "
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for LEGO LEGO Hero Factory - Dunkan Bulk
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Posted:August 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
From:  Canada
Age: 14-18
Gender:  Male
Customer Type:  LEGO Fan
Play Experience: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for Money: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Level of Difficulty:
Very Easy
" The set is very easy but the new parts are worth it. The helmet is a great departure from the orignel bionicle masks more natural feel. The armor looks more mecanical than the regular style armor.
The downside is the hero factory's builds are too simple and one has to fix the problems of lack of articulation and the "hollow-ness" of the arm.
pros: 1. new parts (or old parts)
2. 1.0 hero core
3. helmet
cons
1. easy build
2. hollow arm
"
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for LEGO LEGO Hero Factory - Dunkan Bulk
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Dunkan Bulk

Posted:April 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
From: Plainfield
From:  United States
Age: 14-18
Gender:  Male
Customer Type:  LEGO Fan
Building Experience:  Advanced LEGO builder
Play Experience: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for Money: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Level of Difficulty:
Very Easy
" Well Dunkan Bulk is awesome looking, his lack of movement is bringing him down. Like with the heros, you would need another companion to go with him. Great Buy!!! "
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for LEGO LEGO Hero Factory - Dunkan Bulk
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

nice hero

Posted:April 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
From: mansfeild
From:  United States
Age: 14-18
Gender:  Male
Customer Type:  LEGO Fan
Building Experience:  Novice LEGO builder
Play Experience: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Level of Difficulty:
Easy
" This is a small but fun set that's very collectable. This is a very easy to build set so don't buy if you expect a long build. The key here is not the build it's the collectability and playability of this set that makes it good and worth it.The head has a very cool design the arms have no armor and do not bend. The weapon is very cool from the outside but is hollow on the inside.The legs don't bend like the hands, but they do have armor. The feet allow better bending of the lower body but are not as good as the 2.0 versions. The cons and pros
Pros
collectability
playability
overall design
Cons
peice count(17)
That's it. Please rate well I hope this helped as I do my best to give a truthful and helpful reveiw. Please check my other reveiws and rate accordingly
"
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for LEGO LEGO Hero Factory - Dunkan Bulk
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

The Behemoth

Posted:November 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
From:  United States
Age: 14-18
Gender:  Male
Play Experience: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for Money: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Level of Difficulty:
Very Easy
" Bulk, the powerhouse of the Alpha Team, this was actually a pretty good set. Lets go to the pros and cons.
<Pros> :)
Cool mask
Cool color scheme
Not as Hollow as the rest of Alpha team (but still hollow)
Pretty poseable (for the arms and legs being fixed so-to-speak)
One-of-a-kind hero core
Very detailed
<Cons> :(
Hollow weapon
No bending in the knee or elbow
no extra arms and hands
"
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for LEGO LEGO Hero Factory - Dunkan Bulk
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Okay

Posted:October 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
From:  United States
Age: 14-18
Gender:  Male
Customer Type:  LEGO Fan
Building Experience:  Advanced LEGO builder
Play Experience: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value for Money: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Level of Difficulty:
Easy
" Well, it`s a okay set but bionicle was way better.
Good things:
Cool mask
Bad things:
The armor is too easy to move, posibly could break.
Not as good as bionicle.
I don`t really like the way stormer and the other ones weapon is like. (Can`t remember his name.) There too halowed it doesn`t feel like a true lego weapon. But it`s still a good set.
"
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
1of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for LEGO LEGO Hero Factory - Dunkan Bulk
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Too small

Posted:August 22, 2010
Customer Avatar
From: Unknown
Play Experience: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for Money: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
" I bought this new lego looking for this to be tthe size of a bionicle, but I got a little 17 piece robot. I was hoping for it to have more pieces for the money I paid. Other then that it is a very good set. "
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for LEGO LEGO Hero Factory - Dunkan Bulk
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Best-so-far-hands-down-diddly-squat!!

Posted:August 9, 2010
Customer Avatar
Age: 14-18
Gender:  Male
How long has this product been owned?  1 week or less
How often is this product used?  Every day
Play Experience: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for Money: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" This is the best hero from Team Alpha! His is the only weapon that doesn't look absolutely ridiculous when turned to one side. His waist is kinda thin for the toughest hero made, and the weapon, like all of Team Alpha, is ONE-SIDED!!! Other than that, he's absolutely AWESOME!! "
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for LEGO LEGO Hero Factory - Dunkan Bulk
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Bulk the Behemoth - Good or Bad?

Posted:August 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
From: West Midlands
Age: 14-18
Gender:  Male
How long has this product been owned?  1 week or less
How often is this product used?  Every day
Play Experience: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for Money: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
" Well, I recently purchased one of the rookies, William Furno, who was here to impress. Did Bulk give the same impression? Read on to find out.
Building Experience -
Depends on the audience. If you are young, and getting started with Lego, this is a nice, simple build. However, fans of an intricate build will find it extremely disappointing. But since the target audience is at minimum for 6 year olds, this is understandable. I personally feel that more pieces could have been used though, particularly for his weapon arm. I don't mind simple builds, but when I can build him in less than a minute without the instructions, that's just ridiculous.
Design -
Once again, this beats the Bionicle Stars, but there is one flaw which really detracts from the set. His weapon.
As it is now known, Bulk has a hollow arm. Being one piece, this was obviously to save plastic, but this makes me question more why it had to be one big piece in the first place. It looks bad from the one side, but also messes with the proportions, as this arm is actually shorter than his other arm. The weapon itself is longer, but the piece still bugs me. From the outside though, the piece looks great. If only the "arm" was as long as the other arm. The other thing is that all the members of the Alpha Team suffer this problem.
Aside from the arm though, Bulk looks fantastic. The armour is bulky, yet sleek, and from the right angle lives up to his name. His face is also very good, having a very threatening look to him. This is one hero you wouldn't want to mess with. He also has a silver hand, which MOCists will find useful. He is definately aesthetically pleasing. The only other critisism I have is that his other arm has no armour, and so looks weedy compared to the rest of the set. Armour can be added though if you have spare pieces. As for the colours, they aren't very vibrant, but the combination of silver and black is very, very good!
Playability -
Like Furno, he lacks any features like projectile weapons, and can only pose. However, even this is hindered by his hollow arm with wacky proportions. Because it is hollow on the one side, Bulk must be posed very specifically, not only conceiling the hollow side, but also the fact that the arms are different lengths. Again, like Furno, he is best purchased with another villain to fight, as he has very little playability by himself. However, with imagination and other sets from the line, he can be a lot of fun.
Pros -
-Ok proportions
-Very bulky look and feel
-Lots of new pieces
-Cool looking pieces
-Great colour scheme
Cons-
-Simple build
-Hollow arm
-Lacks in posability
-Expensive in the UK
-Lacks built-in features
Overall-
Overall, this figure is somewhat mixed. While he looks more interesting than some of the other sets, his hollow arm really, really detracts from the set, as not only is it hollow, but it is shorter than the other arm, again, reducing the product's rating. This would have been a perfect set had it not been for the arm. It is still a great set though, and despite the hollow arm, can be a whole lot of fun, particularly with other figures. I therefore give this figure a 4/5.
"
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for LEGO LEGO Hero Factory - Dunkan Bulk
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Dunkan Bulk

Posted:August 3, 2010
Customer Avatar
From: England, UK
Age: 14-18
Gender:  Male
How long has this product been owned?  2-7 weeks
How often is this product used?  A few times per month
Play Experience: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value for Money: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
" OK, so you decided to get Dunkan Bulk, probably because of the silver or the large arm-cannon. If Bulk is your first Hero with such an arm, read on, but carefully.
Building:
Bulk's build is basic. The new, glorious and exciting torso is the first piece you use. Bulk's silver chest piece connects to this, and an orange glatorian head attaches to the neck. Bulk's helmet attaches to the head.
His legs are both the same: Black limbs connecting to 'old hand' joint, which connect to silver feet. Silver leg armour attaches to the top of the thigh.
His arms: One arms is a limb piece with a silver hand. This attaches to his right shoulder - don't mix this up, it is important later.
His left arm is very simple. A black 'old hand' joint connects to his gun arm. The gun arm, while marvelously designed on the outside, is flat and hollow on the inside, with no backing arm to support it.
Bulk's orange Hero CORE attaches to his chest as the final piece.
Overall look of the set:
There are several parts of Bulk I will go over:
His arms.
His legs.
His torso.
Starting with the torso:
The backing torso itself is marvelous, and it has to be LEGO's best one-piece torso. The armour protecting it, however, is not so good.
It bulks up the torso marvelously, but there are a few downsides to this, one of which I shall go over later in the review.
His head has posing problems. Bulk can not look downwards, only sideways and upwards.
From the back, Bulk is nearly all black, with only a bit of silver.
His legs. Without the armour, they are very weedy. This is not helped by his large feet. Remove the armour, and his feet look like clown shoes.
The feet themselves would look good on a bigger set, especially as they are size-able on Bulk. They have two jets moulded into the back of them, which is very nice.
His arms. His right arm is very weedy compared to his bulky chest and his left arm. While it acts as a proper arm, if there were two of them, he would look even weedier.
His left arm is one of the arms which had a lot of people hyped up for them. However, due to it being one-sided with no arm behind it, I can see why most people are disappointed. The gun looks marvelous on the outside, and I like the ammunition supplied under the barrel.
I noticed that the gun arm is actually moulded shorter than his right arm, so that his left hand finishes some point before his right. This makes it impossible to but another Bulk and fit the gun arm over another limb piece.
However, Bulk is still a valuable addition to any Hero Factory or BIONICLE collection, especially as he has rare pieces, such as the helmet and the one silver hand.
Bulk appears to be the only left-handed (recently revealed to be ambidextrous) Hero, with his gun moulded as such. This decreases play options with Heroes such as Preston Stormer and Stringer, as you have to replace their normal arm with this cannon, rather than just their cannons.
His helmet is a wonderful thing. It has a camera moulded into the top, and a microphone running down the right side.
Pros and cons:
Pros:
Silver glatorian hand.
More silver pieces.
New limbs and torso are wonderful.
Hero CORE is easily removable.
Well-detailed for such a small set.
Cons:
Gun arm is disappointing.
Legs look weedy without armour.
Large feet.
Weedy right arm.
Head posing problems.
All in all, I like the details put into Bulk, and I think that some adjustments would make him even better.
Bulk is the only Hero to be released twice, so if you want Bulk with more pieces (but no hand or 'proper' arm), get him and Vapour. If you want Bulk cheap and with more 'adjustment' value, you might want to get two of this guy, and edit his left arm accordingly.
Have fun building!
~ Jonocam. =)
"
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for LEGO LEGO Hero Factory - Dunkan Bulk
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

amazing, amazing, amazing. well, almost.

Posted:July 22, 2010
Customer Avatar
From: none of your business.
How long has this product been owned?  1 week or less
How often is this product used?  Every day
Play Experience: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
" Astroa here! Yaaay! Hero Factory is here, but it could be better. Bulk isn't bad. The silver is shocking, the helmet is amazing, and the hero core matches his head (unlike jim stringer). Plus, it won't fall off. When viewed from certain angles (the ones Lego shows him in), he looks awesome. Good here. Good there. Good everywhe-- wait, check that. HIS ARM WITH THE GUN IS HOLLOW! I'm gonna say that again. HIS ARM WITH THE GUN IS HOLLOW! I would keep repeating that, but I have some pros and cons to list.
pros:
silver color, gun arm (from a certain angle), helmet, hero core, armor, black undertone.
cons:
----------HIS---ARM---IS---HOLLOW------HIS---ARM---IS---HOLLOW----etc., etc.
For Hero Factory, Astroa is signing off. :) "
-2points
0of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for LEGO LEGO Hero Factory - Dunkan Bulk
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

bulk

Posted:June 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
From: jacksonville
From:  United States
Age: 14-18
Gender:  Male
Customer Type:  LEGO Fan
Building Experience:  Advanced LEGO builder
Play Experience: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Level of Difficulty:
Easy
" pros:hero core
armour
weapon
colors
cons:could of made a 2.0 bulk
"
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>