Customer Reviews for LEGO Pizza Planet Truck Rescue

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at LEGO.

LEGO Pizza Planet Truck Rescue

Pizza Planet Truck Rescue
Average Customer Rating:
4.273 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(33 Reviews) 32
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (33 reviews)
5 stars
21
4 stars
6
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
2
26 of 3379%of reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Pizza Planet Truck Rescue
Review 1 for Pizza Planet Truck Rescue
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

"Serving Your Local Star Cluster"

Posted:July 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
From: Colorado
Age: 25-34
Gender:  Male
How long has this product been owned?  2-7 weeks
How often is this product used?  Every day
Play Experience: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for Money: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
"This set is yet another gem in the Toy Story line. As with many of the other Toy Story sets, this Pizza Planet delivery truck is very aesthetically pleasing and has all of the right details. The front part of the car looks very vintage, the truckbed cover is great, and every little detail is perfect, from the rocket on top right down to the "YO" brand name and RES1538 license plate. For me, this is what makes this set so great.
This set also scores strong marks for functionality. The opening doors, hood, and removable truckbed cover all work quite nicely. Some have complained about the pizza-shooting mechanism, but in my experience it works just fine, and works best on a hard surface (tile floor, wood tabletop, etc.). The issue is that the shooter is mounted underneath the car, so naturally is doesn't fire airborne pizzas across the room. But the pizzas do shoot quite far on a hard surface where they can slide. Very fun!
The parts in this set are outstanding. It includes a wide variety of odd pieces, especially in yellow, making this a great parts pack to boot. All of the figures are a lot of fun, I was especially stoked about Rex and Hamm. My only qualm with this set is that you must remove Buzz's wings to seat him inside the car.
Is it worth the $40 price tag? Of that, I'm not so sure. It is likely more expensive due to the high number of specialty pieces (especially windscreens), but $40 still seems high. I bought this on sale, and at a lower price point you can't pass this up. But I can also attest that the Toy Story line is one of the strongest in the LEGO ouvre, and this set is yet another example of why. I highly recommend this set!"
I would recommend this to a friend!
+13points
15of 17found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Pizza Planet Truck Rescue
Overall: 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not so good

Posted:January 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
From: Minneapples
From:  United States
Age: 14-18
Gender:  Male
Customer Type:  LEGO Grandparent
Building Experience:  Advanced LEGO builder
Play Experience: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value for Money: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Level of Difficulty:
Easy
"I bought this with my money I had saved it looked so fun on the box but when I built it. I was like eww this is terrible"
-2points
0of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Pizza Planet Truck Rescue
Overall: 
3 / 5
3 / 5

good but breaks alot

Posted:September 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
From: chicago
From:  United States
Age: 14-18
Gender:  Male
Customer Type:  LEGO Fan
Building Experience:  Expert LEGO builder
Play Experience: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for Money: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Level of Difficulty:
Easy
"I got this set on my birthday and it was awesome building it but if you use the pizza launcher too much,the rubber band snaps off so I had to destroy it and take it off and rebuild it without the launcher.I eventually used the car for my criminals in my lego city police collection and after abou playing with it for about 5 days,the car breaks again! minifigures:4/5 truck:3/5 overall:3/5"
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Pizza Planet Truck Rescue
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fun Toy Story Truck!

Posted:July 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
From: atlanta
From:  United States
Age: 25-34
Gender:  Female
Customer Type:  LEGO Parent
Play Experience: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I bought this for the boys since I found it on clearance. For 1/2 off it is a really good deal. It has a ton of specialty pieces and 4 really great characters (They just wish it had slinky dog). Rex is fun and they loved how the Pig has a cork. My one complaint is that it seems Buzz's wings don't really fit on him while he's in the jeep. I think they could have just made his wings down in this build.
It was pretty easy to put together and they really like playing with it. It's bigger than we thought it would be.
I feel like it could be easier to fit all the characters IN the truck but that's not too big a deal... The pizza shooter actually works really well. My 3.5 year old can do it (and put them back in).
Also isn't this really a scene from Toy Story 2? That's fine w/ us as it's our fave Toy Story but it just seemed a little weird to be labeled for Toy Story 3!
Highly recommend though.
"
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Pizza Planet Truck Rescue
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Pizza Delivery...Cowabunga

Posted:July 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
From: Niagara Falls
From:  United States
Age: 35-44
Gender:  Male
Customer Type:  LEGO Fan
Building Experience:  Intermediate LEGO builder
Play Experience: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Level of Difficulty:
Easy
"I really enjoy the Pizza Rescue Truck set. It comes with a nice variety of Minifigs. Rex being my favorite because of his tail. The pizza shooter feature works very well, and I think the pizza tiles are great! It is accurate to the movie and has the little rocket on top of the truck. It is very durable and fun to drive on the table or floor. Who ordered a pizza? ME!!!"
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Pizza Planet Truck Rescue
Overall: 
3 / 5
3 / 5

The pizza shooter is my only problem.

Posted:June 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
From: Smyrna
From:  United States
Age: 35-44
Gender:  Male
Customer Type:  LEGO Fan
Building Experience:  Advanced LEGO builder
Play Experience: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for Money: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Level of Difficulty:
Average
"I think this set resembles the actual pizza planet truck seen in all three Toy Story movies, but when you pull the pizza shooter frequently, it can fall off. Thats one of my downsides. Another downside is the price. As a Lego customer, It should be 30 dollars, because for one reason, it has 225 pieces, which it should be priced at 25 dollars, but it resembles the movie so well, another 5 dollars should be added. If you do not under stand this, lets look at it another way. Take a Lego city car priced at 5 dollars with 42 pieces, it should be priced 4 dollars. Lego has a tendency to price things high, in my opinion.
For the second reason, it can fall apart frequently. Say if a 6 yr. old child shoots pizzas frequently, and it jams, what is going to happen??? The bottom of the truck will fall off. Does Lego understand this can happen??? How is this kid going to fix the problem? Take this in to consideration Lego. It would be nice if there were two versions, one with the pizza shooter and on without the pizza shooter. Why is the pizza shooter here in the first place??? For playability? Otherwise good job on the detail Lego.
The detail is primarily on the out side of the truck, because lego can't seem to put good detail on the inside of thier vehicles. One good thing is the printed pieces. But you can't take th printing off, so that's why stickers are good in some ways. It also has the rocket on top of the white cap on the back. You can turn it into a reguler pick-up by taking off the cap (the white piece) on the back of the truck. Some of you may consider the YO piece on the back a bumper sticker, but if you want to know what it is, it Is part of the manufacturers' name. One
question. Where does rex go and what does he do? Speaking of rex, characters include: buzz (detatchable wings and helmet), alien figure, rex, and ham (detatchable cork, and he can fit lego coins).Overall, I would recommend this set to any body who takes what I said into consideration. Nice job once again Lego. (Ps Lego: please take what I said into consideration to make better detailed sets in the future).
Overallrating: Kids: 8/10 (Nice playability) Adults: 6-6.8/10 (Great detail)"
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Pizza Planet Truck Rescue
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Toy Story set

Posted:May 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
From: Pretoria
From:  United States
Age: 14-18
Gender:  Male
Customer Type:  LEGO Fan
Building Experience:  Expert LEGO builder
Play Experience: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Level of Difficulty:
Easy
"Rex, Hamm, Alien and Buzz Lighter mini-figures are fabulous. the delivery truck is really nice with the pizza launcher, cockpit that opens and closes and the back where you can put Rex and Buzz's flying gear."
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Pizza Planet Truck Rescue
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

WOW! Amazing price, Minifigs and Pizza Shooter!

Posted:January 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
From:  United Kingdom
Age: 14-18
Gender:  Male
Customer Type:  LEGO Fan
Building Experience:  Advanced LEGO builder
Play Experience: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Level of Difficulty:
Average
"I am a HUGE fan of Toy Story!!! So when I saw the new theme I bought them all!!! (Well 5 of them...)
Pros: MINIFIGURES ARE AWESOME!! Hamn and Rex aint really minifigures but there still my favourite!
Pizza shooter/flinger works very well, and theres a decent amout of amo. (6)
PRICE!!!!!
Rex is big! And cool, plus you can take his tail off, like when the toddlers pulled it off! (In Toy Story 3)
Cons:
Could have had more than one alien
Hamn could have had coins to go inside him.
The cons arent really to serious, and its and excellent buy!!!
"
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Pizza Planet Truck Rescue
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

No stickers! :)

Posted:January 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
From: Truro
From:  United Kingdom
Age: 25-34
Gender:  Female
Customer Type:  LEGO Parent
Building Experience:  Expert LEGO builder
Play Experience: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Level of Difficulty:
Easy
"Absolutely love this set! It comes with four minifigures which is always a bonus, Hamm even has a stopper in his belly!
The pizza flinger works very well but is slightly better when used on a hard surface as the pizzas will slide slightly further.
One of the best things about this set is that there are no stickers!! The YO sign, licence plate and logos on the doors are all printed on. More like this please Lego!
"
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Pizza Planet Truck Rescue
Overall: 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not Worth the $$

Posted:January 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
From: SF Bay Area
From:  United States
Age: 25-34
Gender:  Female
Customer Type:  Other
Building Experience:  Advanced LEGO builder
Play Experience: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value for Money: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Level of Difficulty:
Average
"My younger brother had been dying for this set since it came out and I recently bought it for him and I'm extremely unhappy with it. The rubber band that makes the pizzas shoot comes off too easily and you have to take quite a bit apart to get it back on, the pizzas don't shoot well they jam and sometimes you have to pull the lever a couple of times before 1 pizza shoots and the bottom of the set where the wheels are attached comes apart with the slightest miss-touch. I love Lego sets, but this one was a HUGE disappointment. I would only recommend this if you don't plan on playing with it or you don't care if it doesn't shoot the pizza like it's supposed to."
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Pizza Planet Truck Rescue
Overall: 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Worst LEGO I have ever purchased.

Posted:December 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
From:  United States
Age: 25-34
Gender:  Male
Customer Type:  LEGO Parent
Building Experience:  Intermediate LEGO builder
Play Experience: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value for Money: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Level of Difficulty:
Very Challenging
"When bulding, wheels fall of, when playing with, pulling the trigger too many times will instantly break the entire truck. I do NOT recommend this to ANYONE WHO IS WILLING TO BUY"
Response from LEGO:By Christina (US) and Margriet (UK) LEGO® Brand Toy Story™ Specialists, LEGO Consumer Services April 5, 2011
Thanks for sharing your experience with us. We're very sorry to hear about what happened, this is definitely not what we plan to happen with this brilliant LEGO® Brand Toy Story™ set. The LEGO elements should stick together nicely because of the 'clutch power' and it seems that in your set this is not the case. I kindly ask you to contact us via http://shop.lego.com/TermsPolicies/... to discuss this further so that we can make sure you are a happy LEGO fan again!
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Pizza Planet Truck Rescue
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Toy Story Pizza Planet truck

Posted:December 3, 2010
Customer Avatar
From: LONDON
From:  United Kingdom
Age: 35-44
Gender:  Female
Customer Type:  LEGO Parent
Building Experience:  Advanced LEGO builder
Play Experience: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for Money: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Level of Difficulty:
Easy
"Bought for my son who is 6, he adores this truck and plays with it all the time. But.... the bottom is always falling off. It only appears to be fixed for 4 small pieces of lego, and has to be fixed repeatedly.
Any idea's anyone ???
"
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Pizza Planet Truck Rescue
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Well designed - daughter loves it.

Posted:October 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
From: Annapolis, MD
From:  United States
Age: 45-54
Gender:  Male
Customer Type:  LEGO Parent
Building Experience:  Advanced LEGO builder
Play Experience: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Level of Difficulty:
Average
"My daughter saw this in the lego store and had to have it. It may be that yellow is her favorite color (flavor of the month) and the set includes Rex and Hamm. Once assembled the truck has been an ample carrier for her little figures - lego and other. The truck is well designed.. Weak spots include the mirrors on doors, rear tailgate and two support bricks that hold the roof over the passenger cabin. Both roof and truck cap are removeable to allow you to seat the mini-figures. Sometimes supports come with it. The truck has a hidden, rubber-band driven Pizza Launcher. More powerful than launchers of other sets (aka flick missles). I don't feel it poses a danger, but parents should decide. It is easily disabled and pizza discs can fasten to chassis as decoration. Overall - Lego improves on durable design. Good product for price and great fun esp for Toy Story fans."
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Pizza Planet Truck Rescue
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

IT'S HUGE!!!

Posted:September 25, 2010
Customer Avatar
From: bristol
From:  United Kingdom
Age: 14-18
Gender:  Male
Customer Type:  LEGO Fan
Building Experience:  Expert LEGO builder
Play Experience: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Level of Difficulty:
Easy
"the truck is absolutely huge it weighs a ton and has alot to offer likew the minifigures and truck details
pros:
4 minifigures
buzz
hamm
alien
rex
hamm has a coin storing feature
rex is awesome
pizza flinger
opening hatch on roof
opening doors
opening bonnet ( so you can reload the pizza flinger)
6 pizzas
plenty of space?
no stickers
cons:
rexs tail sticks out the back
overall this is probably 1 of the best toy story sets"
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Pizza Planet Truck Rescue
Overall: 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Posted:August 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
From: San Francisco Bay Area
Age: 35-44
Gender:  Female
How long has this product been owned?  1 week or less
How often is this product used?  Every day
Play Experience: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value for Money: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
"Just bought this set for the kids. We're huge Toy Story fans and Lego fans so this set was perfect...or so we thought.
First, the price is a bit high. For just 224 pieces, I'm shocked they wanted $39.99. $29.99 would have made more sense. Nonetheless, we made the purchase and were excited to put the set together. Got through bag one with no problems. Opened up bag two and noticed the pieces kept falling off as we were building. Figured this would fix itself as we continued with the build. Unfortunately, it didn't.
I'm not sure what happened with the development of this truck, but it's structurally inferior to all the other sets we've built in the past. The whole truck sits on super tiny base. It kept falling apart as we were building it! My kids gave up and asked me to finish the truck. After snapping everything into place, the truck felt more solid. But once the kids started to play with it, it fell apart again. My kids are very gentle with their toys! After rebuilding it 3 times and having it fall apart within 5 minutes of play each time, the kids and I gave up. We were so upset and frustrated!
Despite how very much we love the idea of the set, we returned it as a defective item! If you're planning to purchase this item as a toy for your child, forget about it and save yourself much grief. If you plan on just building and displaying it, then by all means go for it because it really is a great set with tons of wonderful details. Just not appropriate for actual play."
Response from LEGO:By Christina (US) and Margriet (UK) LEGO® Toy Story™ Specialists, LEGO Consumer ServicesApril 5, 2011
We're sorry to hear about your experience with the LEGO® Brand Toy Story™ Pizza Truck. This set is definitely made for LEGO fans to play with and should not fall apart. Our bricks hold together because of their 'clutch power' and it seems that in your particular set there we're bricks with not enough power. I hope that by returning the set and finding something else your LEGO fans are happy again. Please feel free to contact us via our "Contact Us" page: http://service.lego.com/en-US/Conta... and we will be more than happy to assist you further.
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Pizza Planet Truck Rescue
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Its a Fun set but pricey

Posted:July 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
Gender:  Male
How long has this product been owned?  2-7 weeks
How often is this product used?  Every few days
Play Experience: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"Its a cool set its realy fun to play with it and i now its pricey but im so lucky that the lego club sent me a coupon for 15,00 OFF so i couldt buy it for 35.- Euro i was so happy with it thats why im thanking the lego club but otherwise the mini figures are funny even the pig for the lego coins but only the pizza shooter doesnt shoot far but it dont care i dont play much with it i see it more like a collectible for my lego collection.
Good things about the set+
- Cool funny minifigures.
- The car is just actually like the movie.
- Really fun to build it.
Bad thing about the set -
- Pizza shooter often doesnt shoot far.
- A little bit pricey without the coupon.
- U need to pull out the wings of Buzz to put him in the truck. :-(
"
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Pizza Planet Truck Rescue
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Ok

Posted:July 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
From: On the computer
Age: 14-18
Gender:  Female
How long has this product been owned?  2-7 weeks
How often is this product used?  Every few days
Play Experience: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for Money: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
"This set is expensive even for a toy story themed kind. I mean come on about 18 cents for a brick but not that bad. Anyways it includes the pig, buzz and an alien. The sets easily can be put together and its not fragile. If you really want to get it fine but i wouldnt recommend it."
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Pizza Planet Truck Rescue
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Better than I imagined...

Posted:July 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
From: Joklahama
Age: 25-34
Gender:  Male
How long has this product been owned?  2-7 weeks
How often is this product used?  Every few days
Play Experience: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"My son loves this truck! I was pleasantly surprised when I was done building it because it wasn't a piece of cake to build, mostly because I was confused about the rubber bands on the pizza-shooter part. I had no idea that was even the part of the truck, so that was the best surprise. The size of the vehicle was nice, too, because I was expecting something smaller. My only issues with the item were that Buzz's half-bubble does not stay on too well and that Rex does not stick out of the top like in the pictures.
Overall, great item, maybe a tad overpriced (US $30 to $35 may be more appropriate), but still very awesome."
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Pizza Planet Truck Rescue
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Entertaining, frustrating but awesome

Posted:July 23, 2010
Customer Avatar
From: Bucks, UK
Age: 45-54
Gender:  Female
How long has this product been owned?  1 week or less
How often is this product used?  Every day
Play Experience: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value for Money: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"This product comes with 4 awesome minifigures and looks great on display. The minifigurs are Buzz Lightyear, an alien, Hamm, and Rex. I especially like the alien- he's really cool. There are a couple of frustrating details, such as when you pull back the lever to launch the pizzas, the tail gate often falls off. The product is flimsy in places. Also there is hardly any space to put the minifigures inside without the doors bulging out. Other than these problems the product was amazing and I love the way the bonnet opens and the way it fires pizzas. This is slighty expensive for what it is but overall this product is great!"
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Pizza Planet Truck Rescue
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great job lego

Posted:July 22, 2010
Customer Avatar
From: Kashyyyk
Age: 35-44
Gender:  Male
How long has this product been owned?  1 week or less
How often is this product used?  Every day
Play Experience: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This is one of my favorite sets. It has plenty of cool features and the detail is extreme. The figures are excellent.
Pros: figures, detail, shooter, printed pieces, removeable bed
Cons: price is a little steep, pizza shooter sometimes does not shoot very far.
"
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>