Customer Reviews for LEGO City: LEGO City Advent Calendar

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at LEGO.

LEGO City: LEGO City Advent Calendar

Celebrate 24 days of festive building with the 2008 LEGO City Advent Calendar! This all-new holiday set includes lots of minifigures and accessories, all leading up to the biggest model of all on the last day. A wonderful gift for any LEGO builder or the whole family to enjoy! Each day open a new window in the specially designed Advent Calendar box! Includes 24 city-themed surprises for the season, including LEGO minifigures, accessories and more! Includes 10 minifigures!
Average Customer Rating:
4.26 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(50 Reviews) 40
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (50 reviews)
5 stars
36
4 stars
3
3 stars
3
2 stars
4
1 star
4
41 of 5082%of reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for LEGO City: LEGO City Advent Calendar
Review 1 for LEGO City: LEGO City Advent Calendar
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Advent calendar

Posted:September 9, 2008
Customer Avatar
From: Freeport, PA
Play Experience: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This is a terricfic way to count the days until Christmas!! We get one every year for my grandsons' birthday right after Thanksgiving and he LOVES it!! He is so excited each morning to add another piece to his "city". We even bought several for friends.............our pastor loved his. Great gift!!!!"
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for LEGO City: LEGO City Advent Calendar
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Lego Advent Calendars

Posted:September 12, 2008
Customer Avatar
From: PA
Play Experience: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"These advent calendars are excellent! My son does not like chocolate so the other advent calendars won't work. He loves to get a new toy everyday for the whole month of December. When it is done it makes a cute little town to play with. He loves it !!"
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for LEGO City: LEGO City Advent Calendar
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

What an Awesome Idea

Posted:September 13, 2008
Customer Avatar
From: Ottawa
Play Experience: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Kids love Advent and kids love Lego - what a great combination. It would be even awesomer if it had a Star Wars theme or Castle theme or Mars Mission theme.
Great idea!
"
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Review 4 for LEGO City: LEGO City Advent Calendar
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great alternative

Posted:September 17, 2008
Customer Avatar
From: Ontario
Play Experience: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"The perfect alternative for stale chocolate. It's a surprise everyday and much more rewarding and doesn't have any religion attached."
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
1of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for LEGO City: LEGO City Advent Calendar
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Value+Experience

Posted:September 24, 2008
Customer Avatar
From: la
Play Experience: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This product is a wonderful value, with a mulitple-piece, mini-city building experience per day. It builds the excitement to the holiday with something meaningful. All the toys are inter-related, so each day builts upon the next. Both my boys (this year aged 12 and 8 1/2) are looking forward to having the calendar again. I have them open each day when they get up in the morning, and build at breakfast time...much easier to get them up on school days with such a happy experience--yet not so intrusive as to interfere with breakfast or preparing for school. Everyone should have this Advent calendar, even if you are celebrating other holidays, not religious or necessarily "Christmas" per se. You can use the build-up days for the holiday of your choice."
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for LEGO City: LEGO City Advent Calendar
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

good for beginner

Posted:September 29, 2008
Customer Avatar
From: Grove City, PA
Play Experience: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"This is a very good set for beginners and people who like Cristmas. It is a very nice addition to lego city products"
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for LEGO City: LEGO City Advent Calendar
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Loved by LegoManiacs

Posted:October 2, 2008
Customer Avatar
From: NWOklahoma
Play Experience: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"My sons have been getting a Lego Advent Calendar every year since we went to the Grand Opening of LegoLand. That year we had to move during Christmas break, so we didn't decorate or even get a tree. This was our compromise and they just loved it. They're both in College now, but I still buy one for them to have at the house each year. Their father is a pastor and doesn't "do" Santa, but even he thinks they're a fun addition to our traditional Advent Calendar and keeps our collection of Lego Santas with the other Christmas decorations.
Our only improvement/suggestion for the Lego Advent Calendar would be a new design/theme for each year. We'd also like to be able to buy a Lego Nativity scene.
"
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for LEGO City: LEGO City Advent Calendar
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I love these calendars!!

Posted:October 7, 2008
Customer Avatar
From: Dillsburg, PA
Play Experience: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for Money: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"I've been getting a LEGO Advent Calendar for quite a few years now, and I look forward to them every time. I've been enjoying them loads more since they have minifigs in them. This year's is so great because it has many new and hard to find special parts in them, such as the chicken wing and the handcuffs. It's so much fun every morning when you wake up to go open and see what LEGO mini model you'll get to build today. It's just a great idea from LEGO, and it would be greater even still if LEGO released themed ones, such as from Star Wars or one of their long lasting themes. Great job LEGO!!"
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for LEGO City: LEGO City Advent Calendar
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

BEAUTIFUL SET!

Posted:October 9, 2008
Customer Avatar
From: San Francisco, CA
Play Experience: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"We were planning to order this online, it's our first year for this item. However, when we learned it was in stock at a LEGO store not too far away, we had to get it right away! We spent two hours on a train to get to the mall and it was worth it! The box is very colorful and shows all the cool contents with a detailed, illustrated parts list. We're not going to open it until December, but we can hardly wait! I think we may have to get another one or two and stash them for special gifts, (or maybe to keep for ourselves - the figures are so cool). Thank you LEGO for offering a beautiful collection in a great presentation at a nice price. Happy Holidays!"
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for LEGO City: LEGO City Advent Calendar
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome

Posted:October 12, 2008
Customer Avatar
From: Cherry Willingham, UK
Play Experience: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"It is awesome and i have been getting one every year for the last 4 years but they go quickly"
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for LEGO City: LEGO City Advent Calendar
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

25 Mini Gifts!

Posted:October 20, 2008
Customer Avatar
From: Boise, ID
Play Experience: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I discovered the Lego Advent Calendar last year from the Lego site. I almost forgot that I bought it, so my boys (ages 11 & 8) opened it on "Day 2", which worked out perfectly so they wouldn't fight over who got to open a square first! They had so much fun taking turns each morning before breakfast opening a square--they would even talk about what they might find in the box the night before! Last years box had a fun downtown/pier scene and there were pictures of Lego Santas hidden throughout the Lego city. The boxes contained either people (city workers-I think there were 7 or 8) or objects like a push cart, fire hydrant, a Christmas tree, and a little penguin; you never knew what you were going to get! And the squares opened easy, so the picture wasn't destroyed and it looked nice sitting out all month. The kids put each little piece on a large Lego green square and promised each other they wouldn't play with them until all the boxes were opened-which was a large feat for the two of them. I love the Advent idea and the set. I bought two more of them after X-mas from the Lego store online--they were sale priced $7.99! They are intended as gifts for this year, but I'm going to have a hard time giving them up! I'll definately continue buying the sets each year as long as Lego continues to offer a new "theme" each season. $30.00 might seem a little high, but you get 25 neat and original little pieces."
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
3of 6found this review helpful.
Review 12 for LEGO City: LEGO City Advent Calendar
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A Winter "Wonderland"

Posted:October 21, 2008
Customer Avatar
From: St. Louis MO
Play Experience: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"This set is really cool because you never know what your going to get next. Last year had some really cool stuff so im guessing this one will to. The only thing is they raised the price a little bit higher than last year."
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for LEGO City: LEGO City Advent Calendar
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Cool

Posted:October 21, 2008
Customer Avatar
From: Dallas, Texas
Play Experience: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This is the one of the must have Legos of the Holiday Season. It includes great minifigs and is a great set all around!!! :D It is great for any age Lego fan and you are guaranteed to love it!!!"
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Review 14 for LEGO City: LEGO City Advent Calendar
Overall: 
1 / 5
1 / 5

No Fun at All

Posted:October 23, 2008
Customer Avatar
From: North Ridgeville, OH
Play Experience: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value for Money: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
"I have purchased the Lego Advent Caledar for years. It was great to get up in the morning and build a nice Christmas themed Lego Item. Then the calendar was changed to the "City" format. It is absolutely awful. Thre is no Christmas theme, in fact for the most part there is no Winter theme. There are many days when all you do is build a person. There is nothing more disappointing then being ready to build and all you get is to put the legs on a fireman. What does that have to do with the Holiday season? I hope someday they return to the original design. Until then I recommend not wasting your money on this item."
+18points
26of 34found this review helpful.
Review 15 for LEGO City: LEGO City Advent Calendar
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Every day a new Toy

Posted:November 1, 2008
Customer Avatar
From: England
Play Experience: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Having bought several advent calenders each year for our family. I can only say that these are great. Yes a little more Holiday spirit would have been nice but you can always make up your own models. The dilema this year is which do we buy, Lego City or Lego Castle. A girly pink set would have been great too. Maybe next year. These sets are full of rare pieces and together they do make up some great little sets."
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
Review 16 for LEGO City: LEGO City Advent Calendar
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Its the ulimate lego minifig collection!

Posted:November 2, 2008
Customer Avatar
From: Manchester, UK
Play Experience: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"If like me you have a good colection of lego city models, this product is the one that shines. Most lego city products don't come with female minifigs so this product shows how women can be in a lego city of your own. also each day when you build a cool item you expand your city and gives a festive feeling in your city. and the last day you go mental as the christmas gift swoops into your city.
The product is good and well worth the money and if enjoy sleeping every night waiting for the festive day to open the calander. Any lego city fan will love this
"
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for LEGO City: LEGO City Advent Calendar
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cracking Purchase

Posted:November 8, 2008
Customer Avatar
From: Midlands, UK
Play Experience: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"We bought the Lego City advent calendar last year and our son (aged 4), who could not wait to open it each day. The look on his face at each new piece was great. It was definitely value for money. We were that pleased with it as was our son we have bought him another for this year. He actually asked if he could have one as it was loads of fun."
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for LEGO City: LEGO City Advent Calendar
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

great for young kids

Posted:December 1, 2008
Customer Avatar
From: Pa
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I bought this for my 4 yr old son. He opened the first one today. He is a fan of the lego "guys" so he was thrilled with the guy he got today and cannot wait until tomorrow. I am happy that this set says it contains 10 figures, because that is really all he cares about. I do agree with the others who say it should be more holidayish. But my son doesn't care. If I can find any other themed calenders I will buy them."
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for LEGO City: LEGO City Advent Calendar
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

GREAT SET!!!!!!!!!!!!

Posted:December 3, 2008
Customer Avatar
From: Ireland
Play Experience: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"this set is very good
you will be happy to know you will have 24
days of Lego fun.
this set is brilliant and has very god designed minifigs i recomend this to any fan of Lego city
"
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for LEGO City: LEGO City Advent Calendar
Overall: 
3 / 5
3 / 5

No Holiday Cheer

Posted:December 7, 2008
Customer Avatar
From: Wisconsin
Play Experience: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value for Money: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
"I bought this calendar for the 3rd year in a row for my son who absolutely loved the last two. This is the first time ever that he and I have been disappointed in a Lego product. Where's the holiday theme in this? It's day 7 now and he stopped opening the boxes on day 4. Hopefully, Lego will put a little more holiday into it next year."
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>