Customer Reviews for LEGO Riddles for the Ring

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at LEGO.

LEGO Riddles for the Ring

Riddles for the Ring
Average Customer Rating:
4.42 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(50 Reviews) 50
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (50 reviews)
5 stars
27
4 stars
19
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
1
47 of 5094%of reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Riddles for the Ring
Review 1 for Riddles for the Ring
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice But Not Necessary

Posted:December 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
From: Toronto
From:  Canada
Age: 14-18
Gender:  Female
Build Time:
20mins
Play Experience: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value for Money: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Level of Difficulty:
Very Easy
"I think this is a sweet little set, but it is not one you MUST have. There are no special pieces, maybe except the boat pieces, and there is a lot of grey. There is a flaw in the design of the ring function and it is not a very interesting building process. Bilbo is a figure that you get in other sets, so he is common. Gollum (Smeagol) is great with a different face design, but if you have the other version from the LOTR set and are not a completist, than there really is no point to buying this set. I do like that there is a set to recreate the famous riddle scene, and I love the different Gollum. I just don't think you need the set if you are planning on buying or own the other ones.
Peace out! :)
"
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Riddles for the Ring
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Cheap Gollum and Bilbo.

Posted:December 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
From: Medicine Hat
From:  Canada
Age: 19-24
Gender:  Male
Customer Type:  LEGO Fan
Building Experience:  Advanced LEGO builder
Purchased For: Self
Build Time:
10mins
Play Experience: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Level of Difficulty:
Very Easy
"This is a very nice little set. Simple as that.
For those of you who didn't get "Shelob Attacks".
this is a great way to get Gollum. Bilbo too, though he is in a lot of other sets.
Pros:
-Perfect job on Gollum
-Bilbo has two faces, one is frightened, and one is idle.
-The rock has shifting pieces to reveal the Ring.
-The rock and boat are simple, yet detailed.
-Extra Rings and Sting.
-Great Value
Cons:
-Not the kinda set that is compelling to buy multiple of.
Another thing that should be noted, is Gollums face. In this set he has more of an idle facial expression, whereas in "Shelob Attacks" He has an angry expression."
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Riddles for the Ring
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice little set.

Posted:December 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
From: Charlotte
From:  United States
Age: 14-18
Gender:  Male
Customer Type:  LEGO Fan
Building Experience:  Advanced LEGO builder
Build Time:
10mins
Play Experience: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Level of Difficulty:
Very Easy
"This is a nice little build that is definitely worth what you pay, but I think the main draw will be the figs,
But now to the pros and cons...
Pros,
Great figs
Rings
Sword
Rock with hidden ring
Nice little boat
Cons
Doesn't depict the scene from the movie to well
To sum it up I would say that if your wondering what to buy with any cash you don't know what to do with, then you should buy this."
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
My Product Recommendations
The Battle of Helm's Deep™
4.8 out of 5(77)
 
 
 
AT-TE™
4.8 out of 5(43)
 
 
 
The Mines of Moria™
4.6 out of 5(80)
 
 
 
 
 
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Riddles for the Ring
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Small, yet Mighty

Posted:December 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
From:  United States
Age: 14-18
Gender:  Male
Customer Type:  LEGO Fan
Building Experience:  Advanced LEGO builder
Play Experience: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value for Money: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Level of Difficulty:
Very Easy
"This is a very small set that includes 2 minifigures (one of which is Gollum), Gollum's little boat, and Gollum's little island. A function hides the ring. The price for this set is a little high, for I have seen set that are bigger for only $6."
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Riddles for the Ring
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

The Quest for the Ring Begins!

Posted:November 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
From: Madison
From:  United States
Age: 25-34
Gender:  Male
Customer Type:  LEGO Fan
Building Experience:  Intermediate LEGO builder
Play Experience: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Level of Difficulty:
Very Easy
"This is a nice little set and I like the play features as well first is the new Gollum which I think is somewhat the same as the one from the Shelobs attack set but different expression which I like because it looks like he is mad at Bilbo for taking his precious ring also Gollums little boat or raft is also very cool as well but I wish there was a way to put both minifigures inside it. I like Bilbo Baggins alot and this is the cheaper way to get him in this set I also like his double sided head one with a scared look after he see's Gollum and a regular face I also like that he has his sting sword as well. The small rock cave I like and I like the small features it has to where you can open the cave and turn the nob on the side to reveal the ring one thing I would like to point out is that you get an extra ring and sword which I think is very cool in case you lose either one of the two. This is a great little set overall and I think this would also be a great starter set for anyone who is a Lord of the Rings/ The Hobbit fan. I really hope we get Smuag in a big set for the second Hobbit moive coming out soon."
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Riddles for the Ring
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Bless us and splash us

Posted:November 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
From: maroengo
From:  United States
Age: 14-18
Gender:  Male
Customer Type:  LEGO Fan
Building Experience:  Expert LEGO builder
Play Experience: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Level of Difficulty:
Easy
"Finally a cheap set with gollum
this set is the best if you are a lord of the rings fan this set is for you its build is amazing with so much detail thank you lego!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
"
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Riddles for the Ring
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

you'll never guess whats in my pockets

Posted:August 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
From: charlotte
From:  United States
Age: 14-18
Gender:  Male
Customer Type:  LEGO Fan
Building Experience:  Advanced LEGO builder
Play Experience: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Lego has done it again! with Riddles for the ring.
Pros:
Gollum
Bilbo
Extra ring and sword
Boat is nice
Cave is really cool
Price is affordable ($9.99, wow, I'm impressed)
Cons:
Seems to little
Overall this is a nice set I would Highly recommend this to LOTR fans and The Hobbit fans"
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Riddles for the Ring
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My Precious!!!

Posted:August 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
From: Cottonwood
From:  United States
Age: 14-18
Gender:  Male
Customer Type:  LEGO Fan
Building Experience:  Intermediate LEGO builder
Play Experience: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Level of Difficulty:
Very Easy
"This is a good beginning and cheap set. Let's start with minifigures this set only contains two but both are unique one is a hobbit and the other is smeagol! Bilbo is detailed and has a two-sided face he also has sting. gollum has just a fish and the ring. because of other sets i have and this one i was able to get some extra stings and gave them to gollum to make him a more exciting character. i also like the precious i cant get bilbo to hold it in his hand though. the twisting function that pops the ring out of place really doesnt do anything so i put gollum on it at twisted it knocking him down. this set doesnt have all the exciting things of other sets but thats what makes it special because it makes kids think and imagine more."
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Riddles for the Ring
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Preeecciouussssss...

Posted:August 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
From: Vancouver
From:  Canada
Age: 14-18
Gender:  Male
Customer Type:  LEGO Fan
Building Experience:  Advanced LEGO builder
Play Experience: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Level of Difficulty:
Easy
"I bought this set for my own birthday, and built it on the same day, it looks like a boring piece, but if you do have the right imagination, you could turn it into something that would keep you busy for hours. The set has two buildable things, one being a rock, and the other being Gollum's boat. This set comes with the One Ring and a fish too. Now to the details-
The Rock-
This piece has some really cool features. First off, there is a little flat place at the top, where Gollum can snack on "tasty orcses".(they don't come with the set). Also you can hide the ring inside a rock, and then cover it with movable rock piles. The actual rock looks pretty evil looking, and it gives you the feeling that it really is in a cave and water surrounds it.
The Boat-
This little boat is of a brownish color, it is held together by bones that Gollum collected from his previous orc dinners. The boat DOES NOT FLOAT, for those who are wondering, so if you are a parent seeking to use this as a bathtub toy, it ain't gonna work, try using one of the City Coast Guard Sets. You can place Gollum inside.
Bilbo Baggins-
This Bilbo is the second one in the Hobbit series, the other being in Bag End. Here he is dressed in an adventurers outfit, with a red and beige color.
Gollum-
The moment we've all been waiting for, the creepy slimy weird thing that lives in caverns! Here he is pictured in his crooked form, just as in the movie. He has two arms that you have to put on him. He has a different face then the Shelob Attacks set, as this one looks younger and with a different face.
Other Comments-
I suggest that you buy the Goblin King Battle, as it is part of the scene where Bilbo falls into Gollum's hole. Also, I reccomend you buy all the other sets, as you get all the different dwarfs. I hope you enjoyed the review, and...
SUPER DOOGY AWAY~~~~"
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Riddles for the Ring
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wait, my precious, wait!!!

Posted:July 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
From: Leeds
From:  United Kingdom
Age: 14-18
Gender:  Male
Customer Type:  LEGO Fan
Building Experience:  Expert LEGO builder
Play Experience: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Level of Difficulty:
Very Easy
"Despite its small size, this set is fun to play with and I'm glad that Lego made another set with Gollum. Now for the minifigures.
Gollum: Gollum is newly printed with smaller eyes that are squinting and his facial appearance fits him perfectly with his schemes and tricks against poor Bilbo Baggins. Gollum comes with a fish.
Bilbo Baggins: Bilbo is the only figure who is not exclusive to this set . He has his red jacket as well as Sting. His alternate expression is a gasp of horror.
Now onto the actual set. Gollum has his little boat which is seen in the movie and the boar is decorated with a small bone and skeleton arms. The actual rock/cave is quite detailed to look like there is nothing special about it but a play feature allows you to move some rocks and turn a piece revealing Gollum's precious.
This is my conclusion:
Gollum: 10/10
Bilbo Baggins: 9/10
Pros: Minifigures, no stickers.
Cons: Could have a goblin, blue Sting and a small mushroom patch
Overall it is a really good play set
"
I would recommend this to a friend!
+11points
14of 17found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Riddles for the Ring
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Riddles in the Dark

Posted:July 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
From: Bangor
From:  United Kingdom
Age: 14-18
Gender:  Male
Customer Type:  LEGO Fan
Building Experience:  Expert LEGO builder
Play Experience: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Level of Difficulty:
Easy
"A very good set but costs a little much. The two characters Bilbo Baggins and Gollum are AWESOME. With a spare One Ring and two Stings you'll have all parts incase you loose any of the important parts. I recommended this to at least 5 of my friends"
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Riddles for the Ring
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good starter set

Posted:July 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
From: Fort Worth
From:  United States
Age: 35-44
Gender:  Male
Customer Type:  LEGO Parent
Building Experience:  Advanced LEGO builder
Play Experience: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Level of Difficulty:
Very Easy
"Although this set is small, it has some nice elements which should make it appealing. Riddles for the Ring is based on one of the most important scenes in the movie. This is the least expensive way to get Bilbo, Gollum, and the One Ring. Bilbo also comes with his trusty Sting. The Gollum in this set is very similar to the one found in the Shelob Attacks set with just a slightly different facial expression.
Besides the two desirable minifigures, there are two small builds to give a sense of the gloomy cavern. One is Gollum's boat, complete with some bones. The other is a section of the grey cave. There are several slope pieces which help make it up. The cave can be opened up and a knob feature turned to reveal the ring.
The set is certainly basic, but for those with a limited budget and an interest in the Hobbit/Lord of the Rings, this would be a very good set to start with. The value is certainly good for the parts and minifigures presented."
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Riddles for the Ring
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Riddles for the ring

Posted:June 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
From:  Sweden
Age: 14-18
Gender:  Male
Customer Type:  LEGO Fan
Building Experience:  Expert LEGO builder
Play Experience: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for Money: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Level of Difficulty:
Very Easy
"It's a great little set. a bit overpriced in my opinion but it's probably because it's from The Hobbit. I will list the pros and cons.
Pros:
Gollum!
Bilbo
Not only one but two rings!(one spare)
The boat.
Cons:
None!
I think it's a great litte set and the only set to include The Hobbit Gollum. You can also get Gollum in the Lord of the rings set: Shelob attacks but he is slightly diffrent.
/SimonHotDog
"
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Riddles for the Ring
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My precious!

Posted:June 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
From:  United States
Age: 14-18
Gender:  Male
Customer Type:  LEGO Fan
Building Experience:  Expert LEGO builder
Play Experience: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Level of Difficulty:
Average
"This is a great set. I am very glad LEGO began creating LOTR and Hobbit sets. I recommend you buy this immediately since it is cheap and is so cool. Gollum only comes in this set and Shelob Attacks, so he is somewhat rare, plus I always was pretty fond of him. Bilbo is the main character, so he is not too special, but he is necessary for this scene. The only things included in this set are Gollum's boat and a rock, but both are well-designed. I even got two extra rings!"
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Riddles for the Ring
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

My precious!

Posted:June 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
From: Cape Coral
From:  United States
Age: 14-18
Gender:  Male
Customer Type:  LEGO Fan
Building Experience:  Expert LEGO builder
Play Experience: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Level of Difficulty:
Very Easy
"Hello,
Today I'll be reviewing "Riddles for the Ring"
Minifigures:
Bilbo Baggins is a nice figure, his sword Sting, and the Ring are nice.
Gollum is pretty good, but I don't like that you can't move his legs.
The boat is pretty simple, but is nice.
The rock has got some nice pieces, The function isn't that great though
Overall this is a great set!
Hope this helps,
TMNTfan00
"
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Riddles for the Ring
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A Nice Hobitses Set

Posted:May 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
From:  United States
Age: 14-18
Gender:  Male
Customer Type:  LEGO Fan
Building Experience:  Advanced LEGO builder
Play Experience: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Level of Difficulty:
Easy
"This set was another good buy. It is small but has a good amount of detail. The rock on the set looks realistic and the opening of the rocks to reveal the ring was a neat idea.
Pros.
Lots of detail
Gollumn
Sting
Two rings
Cons.
None really
"
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Riddles for the Ring
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

"What Has It Got In It's Pocketess?"

Posted:May 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
From: Coatesville
From:  United States
Age: 14-18
Gender:  Male
Customer Type:  LEGO Fan
Building Experience:  Advanced LEGO builder
Play Experience: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Level of Difficulty:
Very Easy
"Okay... So today I'll review the set "Riddles For The Ring". It's a great set if you want Bilbo and Gollum. The rook in which Gollum stands on is very nice. It’s good for either replaying the scene or scraping for spare parts. I’ve taken it apart many times, for the use of the nice grey rock parts. Gollum’s boat is just like the movie (Even though you don’t get much footage of it…) So to the pros and cons:
Pros:
-Bilbo
-Gollum
-Lots of good spare parts like, 1 Sting sword, 2 more Rings, and Lots of Bones
Cons:
-Ring “Finding” function is actuate to the movie
-The name of the Set. I know it’s minor but, I’m a big LOTR/Hobbit/Middle-earth fan and it’s not actually describing the scene
Over all, the set is a 5/5! I think it’s a great starter set for anyone who likes the Hobbit or Legos!"
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Riddles for the Ring
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Set!

Posted:April 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
From: Fairhope
From:  United States
Age: 14-18
Gender:  Female
Customer Type:  LEGO Fan
Building Experience:  Advanced LEGO builder
Play Experience: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Level of Difficulty:
Very Easy
"I got this set for only $5 at Walmart, so I bought 2 of them! Overall great set! I am sure kids love playing with it!
PROS
-The minifigures are amazing! I am so glad I got them!
-I got 2 rings per set and that makes me very happy!
-I love some of the rock pieces I got
CONS
-It is $10, but I got it for $5. I wouldn't pay $10.
-Gollum's face is kind of scary. That doesn't really count, though.
"
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Riddles for the Ring
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Let's have a game of riddles, Precious!

Posted:March 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
From:  United States
Age: 14-18
Gender:  Male
Customer Type:  LEGO Fan
Building Experience:  Advanced LEGO builder
Play Experience: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Level of Difficulty:
Easy
"I was able to get this set for only $7.00 because the store I got it from was going out of buisness, and I was quite excited about it. Anyway, this is a great way to pick up Bilbo and Gollum for cheap, the rock with the "ring reveal" function is kinda cool and the boat is small, but good. Overall, I am really happy with this set, and am looking forward to collecting the rest!
I hope that this was helpful, Play well!
"
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Riddles for the Ring
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great figures, as always with Lego

Posted:February 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
From:  United States
Age: 14-18
Gender:  Male
Customer Type:  LEGO Fan
Building Experience:  Expert LEGO builder
Level of Difficulty:
Very Easy
"Finally a small set containing tow of the most desired figures: Bilbo and Gollum. Gollum is back in this smaller set with his bone boat and snarky attitude. Bilbo has found the ring, and this is the most inexpensive way to get the ring! Both figures have great printing. The rock function is realisitic and sturdy, and so is the boat. I recommend this set to all lego fans!
pros:
Playability; figures
cons:
overpriced but still worth it
"
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>