Customer Reviews for LEGO Motorized Excavator

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at LEGO.

LEGO Motorized Excavator

Motorized Excavator
Average Customer Rating:
4.76 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(100 Reviews) 97
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (100 reviews)
5 stars
82
4 stars
14
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
0
96 of 10096%of reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Motorized Excavator
Review 21 for Motorized Excavator
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

8043 Powered Excavator

Posted:December 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
From: New York
From:  United States
Age: 35-44
Gender:  Male
Customer Type:  LEGO Fan
Building Experience:  Advanced LEGO builder
Play Experience: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Level of Difficulty:
Challenging
" This is the set that I'm expecting. It's powered, full functionable and moveable in all directions especially it's remote-controlled. I know nothing about mechanic but I really learn something from the powered functions LEGO sets. This LEGO powered excavator's functions are smooth and it's easy to control. Although I spent a whole day in building this LEGO set, I really enjoy the excited building. I hope LEGO designers can develop more powered functions LEGO sets in future. I appreciate this set and the designers who really devote themselves to the LEGO creations. "
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Motorized Excavator
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I love it!

Posted:December 23, 2010
Customer Avatar
From: Auburn
From:  United States
Age: 55-64
Gender:  Female
Customer Type:  LEGO Fan
Building Experience:  Expert LEGO builder
Play Experience: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" It was a little challenging to build, which was fine with me and it is fun to play with. I built both models and both were a lot of fun. I may have to buy another one so I can have both of them together! "
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Motorized Excavator
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

If you love mechanics and treaded vehicles...

Posted:December 24, 2010
Customer Avatar
From: Edmonton Canada
From:  Canada
Age: 35-44
Gender:  Male
Customer Type:  LEGO Parent
Building Experience:  Advanced LEGO builder
Play Experience: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Level of Difficulty:
Challenging
" I Just finished it yesterday and It's AMAZING! The thought that went into this model is incredible. I was particularly impressed with how the designers implemented the transmission and I was pleased to collect a few new speciality mechanical pieces and gearing. The controls and mechanics are genius and the build is tight, sturdy, and efficient. The fact that it is a 2-in-1 adds even more value. I would rank this one one of the best Lego models ever designed. "
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Motorized Excavator
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Most challenging Lego Technic set to date!

Posted:December 25, 2010
Customer Avatar
From: Chicago
From:  United States
Age: 14-18
Gender:  Male
Customer Type:  LEGO Fan
Building Experience:  Expert LEGO builder
Play Experience: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Level of Difficulty:
Very Challenging
" This is the most challenging Lego Technic set I have ever built/seen. I'd say it is A very good value for your money as well. I am amazed at the innovative methods they use for the mechanics of the set. This is also one of the few sets that can be 100% independent. It can do all of it's mechanical functions with you using just the remote. This is a great gift for any Lego Technic fan that wants a challenge!
Note: It took me about 5 1/2 hours to built this and I am a very fast builder, so An average Technic builder would likely take 9-12 hours, so be committed to work on it! "
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Motorized Excavator
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Technic set 5 star * * * * *

Posted:December 30, 2010
Customer Avatar
From: Lancashire
From:  United Kingdom
Age: 35-44
Gender:  Male
Customer Type:  LEGO Fan
Building Experience:  Advanced LEGO builder
Play Experience: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Level of Difficulty:
Challenging
" This set is the best ever. I was amazed by how complex the set is and how the gears and gear box are used to allow 4 motors to control all functions of the excavator. With infrared control this set sets the standard very hight for technic models.
The set took me 3 nights to build (3-4 hours per night) sat infront of the TV.
I would highly recommend this set, I love it, both building and playing.
"
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Motorized Excavator
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Lego Technic set ever

Posted:December 31, 2010
Customer Avatar
From: Montreal
From:  Canada
Age: 14-18
Gender:  Male
Customer Type:  LEGO Fan
Building Experience:  Advanced LEGO builder
Play Experience: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for Money: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Level of Difficulty:
Challenging
" Definitely the best Lego set I have ever got! It is amazing how complicated the motorized excavator really is. If you love how geared functions work and how power functions can be in a machine to control it, you have to get this model. The machine also comes with a lot of good parts like a Battery box, 2 remote controls and IR receivers, four new linear actuators, four motor, and a bunch of other Technic parts. If you love Lego Technic and you don't want to miss out on a great model you should really check this out. Another cool thing about the motorized excavator is it allows you to control 6 different functions by remote control with four motors. How? You will have to buy it to find out. All I can say is it is amazing how Technic builders thought this model through. "
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Motorized Excavator
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Build & Playability

Posted:January 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
From: Cork, Ireland
From:  Ireland
Age: 25-34
Gender:  Female
Customer Type:  LEGO Fan
Building Experience:  Expert LEGO builder
Play Experience: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Level of Difficulty:
Average
" Good set to build. It took roughly 8 hours. Great fun using the model once its built after you get used to the controls. I also like that the gearing can be changed remotely between operating the arm and the driving of the model.
Pros:
Good playability
Attention to detail
Full range of movements by remote control
Cons:
Some sections of construction were difficult to put together
Appears to be slow when moving digger forward compared to the motorised bulldozer(8275) but I must check the issue with linear actuators as it may be possible its an old model I purchased.
"
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Motorized Excavator
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Posted:January 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
From:  United States
Age: 14-18
Gender:  Male
Customer Type:  LEGO Fan
Building Experience:  Advanced LEGO builder
Play Experience: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Level of Difficulty:
Average
" The Lego Technic Excavator is truly the best. I love how it can do six different functions with only four motors! It does evrything the real excavators do in real life! It's details are also very identical to the real thing. Over all, if you like AWESOME Technic sets, get this one! "
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Motorized Excavator
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing Kit

Posted:January 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
From: Chicago: Bartlett
From:  United States
Age: 14-18
Gender:  Male
Customer Type:  LEGO Fan
Building Experience:  Expert LEGO builder
Play Experience: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Level of Difficulty:
Average
" The excavator is a very nice set. The only thing I disliked was that it moved very slowly because of all the friction on the gears. I also disliked how the arm could barely pick up anything. This might be the only kit where I actually liked the B-model better than the A-model. The end loader is much stronger than the excavator, although at first I was a little skeptical about how the tracks pivoted. The kit contains some pieces I really needed, like the motors, RC stuff, and battery box. I was very disappointed though when one of the channels on one of my receivers didn’t work, but I should get a new one in the mail soon. Lego deserves an A+ for making the kit; I think we all wanted something like this! Best kit since the large telescopic handler arrived in 2008! "
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Motorized Excavator
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Simply perfect.

Posted:February 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
From:  Netherlands
Age: 19-24
Gender:  Male
Customer Type:  LEGO Fan
Play Experience: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Level of Difficulty:
Challenging
" This set is just perfect. Building it was a lot of fun with the countless numbers of gearwheels. It's really alot of fun to see that all of the functions are slowly starting to work as you put the set together.
For play value, this set is probably the best set ever. All of the functions work really well, including lifting the boom (which was a problem with the old linear actuators, but this has been totally fixed). This thing is also pretty powerful when driving, especially on a surface where the tracks get decent grip like on a matress or carpet. I tried to "hill climb" with this thing on a bed sheet and by balancing the excavator with the boom it got surprisingly far. I could go on and on but you'll find out how much play value this set has by yourself once you get it.
Pros:
great power functions
fun build
very good price (the power functions alone cost about €110,- and on top of that you get over a thousand pieces)
fully remote controlled
alot of power in the driving function (it drive fast but it will get pretty much anywhere, just like a real excavator)
very nice model to look at
To be fair, there are a few cons. But none of these are a really big issue and the pros outweigh the cons by far.
Cons:
needs alot of batteries (6x AA & 6x AAA) which are expensive
B model instructions aren't included, you can only download them
stickers
But hey who cares. This is one of my favorite sets EVER (apart from the modular houses). I give this set a full 10/10 and anyone who's thinking of getting it should get it.
To end this review, here's a tip to make sure your excavator runs smoothly, if you're not very experienced with LEGO Technic yet: When you put a gearwheel on an axle, make sure you slide it back a little and then see if the gearwheel turns smoothly. It doesn't matter if the axle can move back and forward a little, that won't affect the powerfunctions at all. Just make sure you don't put the gearwheels on too tight. "
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Motorized Excavator
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Posted:February 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
From:  Italy
Age: 19-24
Gender:  Male
Customer Type:  LEGO Fan
Building Experience:  Advanced LEGO builder
Play Experience: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for Money: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Level of Difficulty:
Challenging
" Building that LEGO has been a very gratifying experience; I built it without too many difficulties and without break. When I finally used it I felt very satisfied.
It is very well developed aside from the bucket: it has been used that of the LEGO 8265 "Front Loader"; for the complexity of the model they could build a more true-to-life one.
"
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Motorized Excavator
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Lego Technic Motorized Excavator 8043

Posted:March 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
From: Gloucester
From:  United Kingdom
Age: 35-44
Gender:  Male
Customer Type:  LEGO Parent
Building Experience:  Expert LEGO builder
Play Experience: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Level of Difficulty:
Challenging
" Wow! A fantastic product!!! One of the best in mine and my sons collection. The detail is fantastic!!! realistic look, functions, sounds etc... A challanging but fun and interesting build. Took us 6 hours to complete!! Plus you get 9 power function products in one set!!!! I thought it being a power function set there would be a few technical issues with gears jamming or wrong things moving but with this set NONE!! Worked perfectly first time!! However... there is a con to this set... such as battery power... as there are four motors and 2 receivers running off one battery box the batteries drain quite quickly. I have had this set a month now and have already changed the batteries twice but then it depends on how much you use it and what kind of batteries you buy..! Mabey using the re-chargable battery box in this set would have been better!! Another good thing however is it is huge!!! Lego produce to many small products, as my son says "the bigger, the better" I would highly recommend this product to a friend or any Lego fan. Just take note that it is a challanging build and smaller builders will need some help from 'mummy and daddy'
Happy Building!!
"
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Motorized Excavator
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wonderful Experience

Posted:March 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
From: East Falmouth
From:  United States
Age: 65 or older
Gender:  Male
Customer Type:  LEGO Grandparent
Building Experience:  Advanced LEGO builder
Play Experience: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Level of Difficulty:
Very Challenging
" #8043--- Absolute FUN!!!! The toughest I have built. The Design, and Engineering was a pleasure to experience. Manny thanks. "
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Motorized Excavator
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My Favorite Technic Set

Posted:March 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
From: Penfield
From:  United States
Age: 19-24
Gender:  Male
Customer Type:  LEGO Fan
Building Experience:  Expert LEGO builder
Play Experience: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Level of Difficulty:
Challenging
" This was my first big Technic purchase since the pneumatic tow truck of 1998 (set #: 8462). I am very happy with the set.
I love the new power functions included with the model. They control every aspect of the excavator's movement. I haven't used the model enough to determine average battery life, but I've heard that it goes through AAs rather quickly. I think the (not included) rechargeable battery pack might be a good idea.
I had a great time building this model. It's safe to say that thanks to this excavator, I will once again become a regular buyer of Lego Technic sets. "
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Motorized Excavator
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

RaptorReveiw On Motorized Excavator

Posted:April 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
From:  United States
Age: 14-18
Gender:  Male
Customer Type:  LEGO Fan
Building Experience:  Expert LEGO builder
Play Experience: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Level of Difficulty:
Average
" The Motorized Excavator Is A Fun Set But The Price Is High. This Set Is Still Nice. So Here Are The Pros.
Its Fun To Play With.
And Cons.
It Cost Alot.
Actully Its Not That Much Cons And Pros.
"
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Motorized Excavator
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

What a build...

Posted:April 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
From: Colombo
From:  United Kingdom
Age: 14-18
Gender:  Male
Customer Type:  LEGO Fan
Building Experience:  Advanced LEGO builder
Play Experience: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Level of Difficulty:
Challenging
" Pros-
1-lots of gears
2-amazing gear shifts
3-solid build
4-motors and wires hidden nicely
5-fun to play with
6-gears shift remotely
7-HUGE
8-very nice stickers(especially the lettering)
9-challenging build
10-huge bucket
Cons-
1- moves a little too slowly
2-stickers! (they might look nice, but they might peel off after a while)
the price definitely is not a con. considering thepeices, power functions, and the complexity of the entire model, 200 dollars is definitely a good price. my favorite part about it is the gear shifts, which Lego has wisely kept uncovered. This set is a testament to the sheer brilliance of Lego and it's designers. "
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Motorized Excavator
Overall: 
3 / 5
3 / 5

complacency

Posted:April 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
From: Los Angeles
From:  United States
Age: 35-44
Gender:  Male
Customer Type:  Other
Play Experience: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for Money: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" I bought this toy for my nephews who are Lego builder enthusiasts. The gears, functionality, motors and remote control are outstanding. But what a disappointment that the bucket is such a large piece of ugly molded plastic unbecoming of the elegant essence of Lego. The toy should be constructed of building blocks that can rebuilt into innovative and imaginative creations, not parts borrowed from a Tonka truck. "
I would recommend this to a friend!
-6points
0of 6found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Motorized Excavator
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

GREAT!!

Posted:April 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
From: NJ
From:  United States
Age: 14-18
Gender:  Male
Customer Type:  LEGO Fan
Building Experience:  Advanced LEGO builder
Play Experience: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Level of Difficulty:
Challenging
" Very cool kit! I got it for Christmas and built the b model witch was quite a challenge but it payed off.
Pros:
-Nice Design
-remote controlled
-strong and durable
Cons:
batteries are drained a bit fast
a bit on the pricy side
Over all its great (even used it to clean my room) and i would recommend to a friend
"
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Motorized Excavator
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

One of the best models I've owned!

Posted:May 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
From: Cincinnati
From:  United States
Age: 25-34
Gender:  Male
Customer Type:  LEGO Fan
Building Experience:  Advanced LEGO builder
Play Experience: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Level of Difficulty:
Very Challenging
" I am a veteran builder at 31 years old, and it took me about 6 hours to put this together! To say this thing is complex is an understatement. I love the way the designer made everything fit and look right, and everything does what it looks like it is supposed to do... see my review of the new supercar, 8070 - I was disappointed in that one.
The instructions are very long, adding up to a maximum of 4-6 pieces at a time, but there were stages in the construction where this tedious process was really helpful, like the placement of the gears and transmission parts. You really want to pay attention while building the geared parts, because due to the way this model is put together, you might end up having to disassemble quite a bit in order to fix a misplaced part.
One innovative feature of this excavator is the motorized gear switching to activate either movement or shovel operation. No hands-on intervention required to activate any features! I would have liked to have seen a clutch used to save the motor and the gears, but I found that the absence of a clutch was necessary to have the power to switch the gears, especially as the batteries wear down.
This model is so awesome (and complex), I don't want to take it apart and build its alternate model. "
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Motorized Excavator
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A GREAT TOY

Posted:May 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
From: bulgaria sofia
From:  Sweden
Age: 14-18
Gender:  Male
Customer Type:  LEGO Fan
Building Experience:  Intermediate LEGO builder
Play Experience: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Level of Difficulty:
Challenging
" I had built both of the models and i thing that the model B is considerably better. It's far more fun because it's faster and easier to control. The M motors are simply too small for the A model but they are perfect for the B. I love this toy and all of it's functions. And it looks really good too. It has a lot of power and it can climb things or push something almost like the buldozer. I'm looking forward to the next lego technic top model. Thanks lego! "
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Video Review:
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
I would recommend this to a friend!
+15points
17of 19found this review helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 next>>