Customer Reviews for LEGO LEGO® Power Functions Motor Set

LEGO LEGO® Power Functions Motor Set

LEGO® Power Functions Motor Set
Average Customer Rating:
4.6 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(45 Reviews) 37
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (45 reviews)
5 stars
30
4 stars
13
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
43 of 4596%of reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for LEGO® Power Functions Motor Set
Review 21 for LEGO® Power Functions Motor Set
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best set EVER!!!

Posted:January 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
From: Somewhere over the Rainbow
Age: 14-18
Gender:  Male
How long has this product been owned?  1 week or less
How often is this product used?  Every day
Play Experience: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This Set is awesome!!!!!!!!!!!!
I'm using It for automatic hover Wheels On Star wars set 8018 AAT!!!!!!!!!!!!!
"
I would recommend this to a friend!
-4points
1of 6found this review helpful.
Review 22 for LEGO® Power Functions Motor Set
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Don't Need A Technic

Posted:December 26, 2009
Customer Avatar
From: Hudson, NH
Age: 14-18
Gender:  Male
How long has this product been owned?  1 week or less
How often is this product used?  Every day
Play Experience: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"These were made to go with Technic sets but... I found out you don't need one. I bet you could make these work with any set (maybe). For Christmas 09 I got this and the Midi scale Star Wars Melenium Falcon. I realized there was enough space inside to wire the lights in. I made them fit perfectly (After moving some pieces). Now the inside lights up and gives the ship a more realistic look (I guess you could by the lights seperatly if you feel the need to try this)>"
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Review 23 for LEGO® Power Functions Motor Set
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect!

Posted:November 18, 2009
Customer Avatar
From: Gander, NL
Age: 19-24
Gender:  Male
How long has this product been owned?  2-7 weeks
How often is this product used?  Every day
Play Experience: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"This is the perfect starter set for anyone who is interested in lego technic, the motor is fairly strong for its size and with the addition of a "idle gear" you don't have to worry about damaging it unlike older motor sets i have owned. Also putting 2 universal joints in was a great idea for car builders."
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
5of 6found this review helpful.
Review 24 for LEGO® Power Functions Motor Set
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome

Posted:September 7, 2009
Customer Avatar
From: Taiwan
Age: 14-18
Gender:  Male
How long has this product been owned?  Longer than 1 year
How often is this product used?  Every few days
Play Experience: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I added this set to my
Technic front loader.
And it was better than I thought,
it worked really smooth.
Great product!
"
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Review 25 for LEGO® Power Functions Motor Set
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

power!!

Posted:August 15, 2009
Customer Avatar
From: Hampshire
Age: 14-18
Gender:  Male
How long has this product been owned?  2-7 weeks
How often is this product used?  Every few days
Play Experience: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"You can addpower functions to almost any model! Heres what i've added them to so far:
-city coastgaurd helicopter (rotating blades and search lights)
-power miners thunder driller (rotating drill)
-bionicle mezuki (rotating cannon and lights0
-bionicle toa mistika pohatu (rotating propellers/drills and lit head piece)
I recommend it to anyone who likes power!
"
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
4of 5found this review helpful.
Review 26 for LEGO® Power Functions Motor Set
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

could have some more motors designs

Posted:June 12, 2009
Customer Avatar
From: Basingstoke
Play Experience: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"i got this for christmas and tried to install it in one of my old technic models. It wouldn't actually work properly but the old one (71427, 43362) worked better in it. The battery box was a bit big than the old one though. If there was a motor adapter it would be much better. It is good value and even included spares for the gears. If there are designs that are compatible with this, i'll use it."
-1point
1of 3found this review helpful.
Review 27 for LEGO® Power Functions Motor Set
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Make your designs come to life!

Posted:June 5, 2009
Customer Avatar
From: AZ
Play Experience: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"I got this set for my birthday and fell in love right away. Finally after 2 weeks of frustration and planing I built a propeller plain. w/ a working propeller:)
Though it may be hard to make something with the motor it will look pretty sweet when your done!
Happy building:)
"
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
1of 3found this review helpful.
Review 28 for LEGO® Power Functions Motor Set
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

really good set

Posted:May 19, 2009
Customer Avatar
From: Cheltenham, England
Play Experience: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"This is a great set and as long as you have some spare technic pieces, you can motorize pretty much anything. Its quite a good value for money, and I might buy another motor and the IR reciever/remote next time and make a car."
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Review 29 for LEGO® Power Functions Motor Set
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Really brings your sets to life

Posted:April 15, 2009
Customer Avatar
From: Nottingham, UK
Play Experience: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for Money: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"If you are going to get the Excavator or Cherry picker, you simply have to get this. You can get most of the main elements seperately now such as lights, motor, switch and battery box but the part you need is the little white slipping/clutch gear which will protect your linear actuators - which I wish you could buy individually!"
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Review 30 for LEGO® Power Functions Motor Set
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Mechanised

Posted:March 24, 2009
Customer Avatar
From: Portugal
Play Experience: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
"This set is very useful. Enabeling you to make your creations move with the latest LEGO movement technology. This set includes all you need to start your way into the Power Functions world and to bring your LEGO creations to live. However, I think that some extra pieces would be useful..."
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Review 31 for LEGO® Power Functions Motor Set
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Makes the excavator 10 times better

Posted:February 5, 2009
Customer Avatar
From: UK
Play Experience: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
"Despite being a little pricey for just one motor, adding this set to the lego technic excavator makes the play experience 10 times better. The set comes with a couple of universal joints and cogs which are useful for controlling linear actuators on models like the excavator. The excavator is slow and boring to operate without this set, so it is definately worth buying. The telescopic handler however is not much better with or without this set, as the telescopic boom raises and lowers slowly either way."
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Review 32 for LEGO® Power Functions Motor Set
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great add on too the excavator

Posted:January 7, 2009
Customer Avatar
From: Sunny San Diego CA
Play Experience: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"I bought this kit with the excavator I bought and this is a great little set. Also considering it comes with a couple nice peices like the UJs and clutch it is a good set. The new lights are great and the motor works just fine. I am actually thinking that I should buy another motor, remote, and ir tower so that I can do a little rc. With the lights and switch from this set you can make almost any technic model with the gear switch feature (you spin one gear to do two functions) motorized. I had great fun with this and I definately reccomend it to anyone getting into power functions or if you have the excavator:telahandler"
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Review 33 for LEGO® Power Functions Motor Set
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Enter Power Functions

Posted:December 25, 2008
Customer Avatar
From: Oregon
Play Experience: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
"This kit is a great way to become familiar with Power Functions, especially if you are used to the old 9V motors. The motor itself is the so-called "medium" motor. It's a little more powerful than a mini motor and takes up less space. It is a bit difficult to attach to your model, however. The battery pack is nice, and I like that it lights up when the power's on. The polarity switch is handy, and the LED lights are really nice. My general complaint with the kit is that it comes with only a few extra parts and basically no instructions. I would add a whole compliment of gears and an instruction book like 8721 and 8735 had. It'd also be nice if it came with an extension cable. But it does come with a few of those new 3-stud UV joints, and they're nifty. Overall, this is a good product if you already have lots of gears on hand and can use them well."
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
9of 13found this review helpful.
Review 34 for LEGO® Power Functions Motor Set
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Set

Posted:December 12, 2008
Customer Avatar
From: Maryland
Play Experience: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for Money: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"This is a really good by. the lights are really nice the motors good for for moving light objects and i really like the switch."
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Review 35 for LEGO® Power Functions Motor Set
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very expensive!

Posted:November 22, 2008
Customer Avatar
From: Basel, Switzerland
Play Experience: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for Money: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
"If you buy this, it will make the Excavater come to life. But the silly thing is, that it has LED lamps. The LED lamps do get used in any of the kits that need this. So, to save money, you should just buy the motor and the batterybox."
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
Review 36 for LEGO® Power Functions Motor Set
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Useful Product

Posted:November 1, 2008
Customer Avatar
From: Honiton, Devon, England
Play Experience: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This is an excellent addition to any Lego collection and the LED's go nicely in other products such as the Technic Dune Buggy and Bulldozer. The Pole Switch has many many applications and I can't wait for them to release it as an individual product.
5/5
"
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Review 37 for LEGO® Power Functions Motor Set
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good to start with

Posted:June 28, 2008
Customer Avatar
From: Willamsport, PA
Play Experience: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for Money: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
"the light box and switch are helpful, but if you already have enough motors and a battery pack, it's not a good value. I would recommend this to anyone who is starting power funtcions , and is really serious about them."
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
9of 13found this review helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for LEGO® Power Functions Motor Set
Based on the average of (8) ratings-only reviews
Overall: 
4.6 / 5
4.6 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 8 out of 8
Play Experience: 
4.8 / 5
4.8 / 5
Value for Money: 
4.4 / 5
4.4 / 5
<<prev 1 2