Customer Reviews for LEGO Power Functions Motor Set

LEGO Power Functions Motor Set

Power Functions Motor Set
Average Customer Rating:
4.577 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(52 Reviews) 44
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (52 reviews)
5 stars
34
4 stars
15
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
0
49 of 5294%of reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Power Functions Motor Set
Review 21 for Power Functions Motor Set
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Posted:March 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
From: Basel
From:  Switzerland
Age: 14-18
Gender:  Male
Customer Type:  LEGO Fan
Building Experience:  Expert LEGO builder
Play Experience: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Level of Difficulty:
Very Easy
" This set is a very good set for people who are just advancing into the LEGO powerfunctions mania because it is very easy to implement to your LEGO models. Also, it is a good variant for you to buy powerfunctions without giving out money for a whole set for just playing around with the powerfunctions.
But: Now you must be wondering why I marked "Value for Money" with one brick. Simple: While I pay in Switzerland 70sfr. for the set, (about 85 US-dollars!!!!!!!) people in the US pay 30 bucks for it. I find outrageous that we have to pay almost three times the amount than Americans. Already last spring I had to pay 140 dollars more than in the US for the 10196 carousel!!!
But all in all it's a great set. "
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Power Functions Motor Set
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

ABSOLUTELY FANTASTIC!

Posted:March 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
From:  New Zealand
Age: 14-18
Gender:  Male
Customer Type:  LEGO Fan
Building Experience:  Expert LEGO builder
Play Experience: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Level of Difficulty:
Challenging
" This set is a must have for every Power Functions or high-level Technic fan. It includes everything you need to get started except batteries, and it is easily compatible with any medium-size Technic set. I have motorized my Race Truck, Snowmobile, Race Car, and many more creations using this set
PROS:
Great stuff!
Good value for money!
No faults with the contents
CONS:
No batteries included, and it needs six of them...
"
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Power Functions Motor Set
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Coolest add-on in like forever

Posted:January 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
From: Apopka
From:  United States
Age: 14-18
Gender:  Male
Customer Type:  LEGO Fan
Building Experience:  Advanced LEGO builder
Play Experience: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Level of Difficulty:
Challenging
" Ok I said challenging because well if you arent adding it specificly to that set with instructions it gets kinda hard but if you have the set like the excavator or the emerald nite (it still works with the smaller motor and the regular battery box just not as fast!!!) and the all the other big technic sets so if you want to motorize any other sets I HIGHLY RECOMEND THIS!!!!
Pros
Parts
lights
switch and the Gears
Cons
Price
smaller motor
BIG battery box
"
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Power Functions Motor Set
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Okay add-on

Posted:August 22, 2010
Customer Avatar
From: California
Age: 14-18
Gender:  Male
How long has this product been owned?  2-7 weeks
How often is this product used?  Every day
Play Experience: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for Money: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
" My sister got this for her old Excavator 8294, so I am reviewing it.
This is a good helper for a large set. the spider gears were not really needed, and the lights were kind of stupid and useless (not bright enough). Probably the best part about this set is the switch, which is in dire need when the battery box is in an undesireable place, such as the Excavator or 8265 Front Loader or even the old off-roader. Overall, since the only parts you really need are the motor, battery box and switch, you could save money by ordering those seperately. However, the set means well, and can help sets whose hydraulics or so forth take forever to operate.
"
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
5of 8found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Power Functions Motor Set
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Make it move

Posted:June 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
From: Orlando, FL
Age: 14-18
Gender:  Male
How long has this product been owned?  5-6 months
How often is this product used?  A few times per month
Play Experience: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" This set comes with everything you need to make your technic models come to life. Includes some handy joint pieces. Make your own moving models with the LEGO Power Functions Motor Set ! "
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
5of 6found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Power Functions Motor Set
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A good set.

Posted:April 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
From: Baxter
Play Experience: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" This is a good starter set. The motor that comes with it is the smaller of the two power function motors. You save a little over $3.00 by buying this set vs buying the parts separately, plus you get a few gears and jointed pieces. "
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
5of 6found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Power Functions Motor Set
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Let The Fun Begin...

Posted:March 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
From: LE1
Age: 19-24
Gender:  Male
How long has this product been owned?  2-3 months
How often is this product used?  Every few days
Play Experience: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
" This set is very useful and a lot better than the old 9v motors. The set enables you to make your creations move with the latest LEGO movement technology. This set includes all you need to start your way into the Power Functions world and to bring your LEGO creations to live. However, I think that some extra pieces would be useful... "
I would recommend this to a friend!
+26points
27of 28found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Power Functions Motor Set
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best set EVER!!!

Posted:January 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
From: Somewhere over the Rainbow
Age: 14-18
Gender:  Male
How long has this product been owned?  1 week or less
How often is this product used?  Every day
Play Experience: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" This Set is awesome!!!!!!!!!!!!
I'm using It for automatic hover Wheels On Star wars set 8018 AAT!!!!!!!!!!!!!
"
I would recommend this to a friend!
-4points
1of 6found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Power Functions Motor Set
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Don't Need A Technic

Posted:December 26, 2009
Customer Avatar
From: Hudson, NH
Age: 14-18
Gender:  Male
How long has this product been owned?  1 week or less
How often is this product used?  Every day
Play Experience: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" These were made to go with Technic sets but... I found out you don't need one. I bet you could make these work with any set (maybe). For Christmas 09 I got this and the Midi scale Star Wars Melenium Falcon. I realized there was enough space inside to wire the lights in. I made them fit perfectly (After moving some pieces). Now the inside lights up and gives the ship a more realistic look (I guess you could by the lights seperatly if you feel the need to try this)> "
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Power Functions Motor Set
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect!

Posted:November 18, 2009
Customer Avatar
From: Gander, NL
Age: 19-24
Gender:  Male
How long has this product been owned?  2-7 weeks
How often is this product used?  Every day
Play Experience: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" This is the perfect starter set for anyone who is interested in lego technic, the motor is fairly strong for its size and with the addition of a "idle gear" you don't have to worry about damaging it unlike older motor sets i have owned. Also putting 2 universal joints in was a great idea for car builders. "
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
5of 6found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Power Functions Motor Set
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome

Posted:September 7, 2009
Customer Avatar
From: Taiwan
Age: 14-18
Gender:  Male
How long has this product been owned?  Longer than 1 year
How often is this product used?  Every few days
Play Experience: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" I added this set to my
Technic front loader.
And it was better than I thought,
it worked really smooth.
Great product!
"
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Power Functions Motor Set
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

power!!

Posted:August 15, 2009
Customer Avatar
From: Hampshire
Age: 14-18
Gender:  Male
How long has this product been owned?  2-7 weeks
How often is this product used?  Every few days
Play Experience: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" You can addpower functions to almost any model! Heres what i've added them to so far:
-city coastgaurd helicopter (rotating blades and search lights)
-power miners thunder driller (rotating drill)
-bionicle mezuki (rotating cannon and lights0
-bionicle toa mistika pohatu (rotating propellers/drills and lit head piece)
I recommend it to anyone who likes power!
"
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
5of 6found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Power Functions Motor Set
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

could have some more motors designs

Posted:June 12, 2009
Customer Avatar
From: Basingstoke
Play Experience: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" i got this for christmas and tried to install it in one of my old technic models. It wouldn't actually work properly but the old one (71427, 43362) worked better in it. The battery box was a bit big than the old one though. If there was a motor adapter it would be much better. It is good value and even included spares for the gears. If there are designs that are compatible with this, i'll use it. "
-1point
1of 3found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Power Functions Motor Set
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Make your designs come to life!

Posted:June 5, 2009
Customer Avatar
From: AZ
Play Experience: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" I got this set for my birthday and fell in love right away. Finally after 2 weeks of frustration and planing I built a propeller plain. w/ a working propeller:)
Though it may be hard to make something with the motor it will look pretty sweet when your done!
Happy building:)
"
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
1of 3found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Power Functions Motor Set
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

really good set

Posted:May 19, 2009
Customer Avatar
From: Cheltenham, England
Play Experience: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" This is a great set and as long as you have some spare technic pieces, you can motorize pretty much anything. Its quite a good value for money, and I might buy another motor and the IR reciever/remote next time and make a car. "
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Power Functions Motor Set
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Really brings your sets to life

Posted:April 15, 2009
Customer Avatar
From: Nottingham, UK
Play Experience: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for Money: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" If you are going to get the Excavator or Cherry picker, you simply have to get this. You can get most of the main elements seperately now such as lights, motor, switch and battery box but the part you need is the little white slipping/clutch gear which will protect your linear actuators - which I wish you could buy individually! "
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Power Functions Motor Set
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Mechanised

Posted:March 24, 2009
Customer Avatar
From: Portugal
Play Experience: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
" This set is very useful. Enabeling you to make your creations move with the latest LEGO movement technology. This set includes all you need to start your way into the Power Functions world and to bring your LEGO creations to live. However, I think that some extra pieces would be useful... "
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Power Functions Motor Set
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Makes the excavator 10 times better

Posted:February 5, 2009
Customer Avatar
From: UK
Play Experience: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
" Despite being a little pricey for just one motor, adding this set to the lego technic excavator makes the play experience 10 times better. The set comes with a couple of universal joints and cogs which are useful for controlling linear actuators on models like the excavator. The excavator is slow and boring to operate without this set, so it is definately worth buying. The telescopic handler however is not much better with or without this set, as the telescopic boom raises and lowers slowly either way. "
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Power Functions Motor Set
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great add on too the excavator

Posted:January 7, 2009
Customer Avatar
From: Sunny San Diego CA
Play Experience: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" I bought this kit with the excavator I bought and this is a great little set. Also considering it comes with a couple nice peices like the UJs and clutch it is a good set. The new lights are great and the motor works just fine. I am actually thinking that I should buy another motor, remote, and ir tower so that I can do a little rc. With the lights and switch from this set you can make almost any technic model with the gear switch feature (you spin one gear to do two functions) motorized. I had great fun with this and I definately reccomend it to anyone getting into power functions or if you have the excavator:telahandler "
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Power Functions Motor Set
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Enter Power Functions

Posted:December 25, 2008
Customer Avatar
From: Oregon
Play Experience: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
" This kit is a great way to become familiar with Power Functions, especially if you are used to the old 9V motors. The motor itself is the so-called "medium" motor. It's a little more powerful than a mini motor and takes up less space. It is a bit difficult to attach to your model, however. The battery pack is nice, and I like that it lights up when the power's on. The polarity switch is handy, and the LED lights are really nice. My general complaint with the kit is that it comes with only a few extra parts and basically no instructions. I would add a whole compliment of gears and an instruction book like 8721 and 8735 had. It'd also be nice if it came with an extension cable. But it does come with a few of those new 3-stud UV joints, and they're nifty. Overall, this is a good product if you already have lots of gears on hand and can use them well. "
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
10of 15found this review helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3 next>>