Customer Reviews for LEGO LEGO MINDSTORMS: LEGO MINDSTORMS NXT

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at LEGO.

LEGO LEGO MINDSTORMS: LEGO MINDSTORMS NXT

Create the smartest, strongest and most advanced LEGO robot ever, in as few as 30 minutes! The new NXT Intelligent Brick, your robot's "brain," features a powerful 32-bit microprocessor and more memory, plus support for USB 2.0, Bluetooth and more! A highly versatile palette of LEGO TECHNIC elements combines with state-of-the-art ultrasonic, sound, light and touch sensors in the next generation of intuitive robotics. With included Quick-Start guide, easy-to-use software and step-by-step building instructions, beginners and experts alike can create humanoid, vehicle and animal robots that obey every command! Programming software is now available for both PC and Macintosh, plus with Bluetooth support, you can even command your robot from your mobile phone! LEGO MINDSTORMS NXT Includes: All-new NXT Intelligent Brick with 32-bit microprocessor, more memory and FLASH 3 Interactive Servo motors feature built-in rotation sensors to align speed for precise control New sound sensor reacts to sound commands, patterns and tones New ultrasonic visual sensor responds to movement Improved touch sensor reacts to touch and release Improved light sensor detects different colors and light intensities 519 specially selected LEGO TECHNIC elements for sturdy and durable building and improved functionality and movement 4 input ports, 3 output ports and 7 6-wire cords Matrix display Real sound speaker USB 2.0 and Bluetooth support Easy-to-use PC and Mac compatible interface Intuitive, icon-based drag-and-drop program "building" environment.
Average Customer Rating:
4.812 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(138 Reviews) 85
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (138 reviews)
5 stars
123
4 stars
7
3 stars
6
2 stars
1
1 star
1
128 of 13893%of reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for LEGO LEGO MINDSTORMS: LEGO MINDSTORMS NXT
Review 61 for LEGO LEGO MINDSTORMS: LEGO MINDSTORMS NXT
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

this is the most extreme lego set ever!

Posted:December 13, 2008
Customer Avatar
From: nh
Play Experience: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" this robot is amazing.
i have had it nearly 7 months and i can hardly put it down. now after 2 months or so of a normal lego set it would be on display and not in use. but this baby...
i havn't learned enough to build a "fully" functional robot on my own but i have got enough experience in this to have mind boggling fun with the tri-bot.
if you slightly mod the basic program for the quickstart and do a bit of math you can make it drive through your house and fetch you some wine (from a set starting point). i sugjest that you either buy the rechargeble batery set from lego or some from a basic store because that it sucks up lots of money worth of batteries if you are active with it. now for the pros and cons
pros: easy to program with drag-and-drop function.
software doesn't take much more than the better part of a half an hour to download.
the best feeling ever when you first test your robot out.
as long as you are older than 10, i think you'd get the basics.
the directions are amazing, as lego always makes them, no mistakes at all.
the motors are powerfull so you'll never be in a "gritty" situation.
cons: the brick could use a little more memory.
the batteries are expencive unless you get rechargebles.
the price could be about twenty dollars cheaper.
other than that it's best purchase ever.
sencearly saber755
"
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Review 62 for LEGO LEGO MINDSTORMS: LEGO MINDSTORMS NXT
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The best!!!

Posted:December 26, 2008
Customer Avatar
From: CA
Play Experience: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
" This is the best set ever, I owned it for a while, I'll go to the pro's and con's
pro's: NXT brick and accesories, and sensors, and don't forget the motors.
heavy duty wheels
gears
software
now for the
con's: The motors can be a bit of a problem
not enouph wheels.
More wheels and tires!!!
Other than those con's, the biggest one is the price, it is a bit much, but you can manage if you save up. "
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Review 63 for LEGO LEGO MINDSTORMS: LEGO MINDSTORMS NXT
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

this product is awesome

Posted:January 4, 2009
Customer Avatar
From: PA
Play Experience: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" this is a very high tech product that i enjoy very much, LEGO has created a very sophisticated product. with this product you can build all sorts of things from machine guns the safes!
ILOVEIT
"
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Review 64 for LEGO LEGO MINDSTORMS: LEGO MINDSTORMS NXT
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Simply amazing...

Posted:January 5, 2009
Customer Avatar
From: Battleground, WA
Play Experience: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" The mindstorms NXT really is simply amazing! From the programming to the sensors, this set is bound to occupy a kids time. The programming begins easy and gradually as your kid or you experiment your can make programs come to life. I especially like that is has the capability to use bluetooth. A lot of my friends have had the same experiences.
PROS: 1. Easy to build and program.
2. Gives a child a positive thing to do.
3. Sensors and movements are pretty accurate.
4. You can program the robot from your phone. ( If it has bluetooth that is.)
5. You can send programs easily from your computer, or from robot to robot!
CONS: 1. Turns a tiny bit when moving. ( This problem can be solved with proper programming.)
2. It scares your dogs.
3. It uses batteries fast, unless you have the special rechargeable battery.
4. Alpha rex can barely move, other models work better.
5. The robot is not recommended for little kids.
Hope you find this useful! (: "
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Review 65 for LEGO LEGO MINDSTORMS: LEGO MINDSTORMS NXT
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The best!

Posted:February 3, 2009
Customer Avatar
From: Irvine,CA
" I got this for christmas and it rocks! the great thing about this toy is that once you get bored with one modle you can tke it apart and build a new one "
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Review 66 for LEGO LEGO MINDSTORMS: LEGO MINDSTORMS NXT
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome with a flaw

Posted:February 5, 2009
Customer Avatar
From: home,ca
Play Experience: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for Money: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" this thing is cool but it needs a piston part to it that hooks up to output ports. "
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Review 67 for LEGO LEGO MINDSTORMS: LEGO MINDSTORMS NXT
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Astounding Functionality!

Posted:February 9, 2009
Customer Avatar
From: Menifee, CA
Play Experience: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for Money: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" This intriguing set is amazing with its robotic capabilites. You can build and program the set into many models, such as a scorpion, a robotic arm, Alpha Rex, Tri-Bot, and so on...The only thing that really put me down was the hardness of actually programming the models. Programming takes up a lot of your computer's hard drive system. Plus, it's all really confusing and hard! Overall though, astounding set, yet not really worth $250! "
I would recommend this to a friend!
-2points
0of 2found this review helpful.
Review 68 for LEGO LEGO MINDSTORMS: LEGO MINDSTORMS NXT
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

a good buy but hard to use and program

Posted:February 9, 2009
Customer Avatar
From: Cambridge
Play Experience: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" I have greatly enjoyed this toy ever since I got it. I have built numerous working robots and enjoyed each one.
Programing is a little hard but I got a book from the library that helped a lot. The worst thing is that the motors are huge and hard to use, but a little tinkering and I can get them to fit. I think that Lego should make a pump to use with the hydraulics that would be extremely handy.
"
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Review 69 for LEGO LEGO MINDSTORMS: LEGO MINDSTORMS NXT
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

awesome buy

Posted:February 12, 2009
Customer Avatar
From: Ontario
Play Experience: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
" This set is a must buy for anyone who likes robotics and Lego. The program is sort of hard to use but if you play around with it you will find its gets easier to use. Pros. lots of play time and enjoyment. cons. its price is high and hard program. "
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Review 70 for LEGO LEGO MINDSTORMS: LEGO MINDSTORMS NXT
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Robot

Posted:March 17, 2009
Customer Avatar
From: Honolulu, Hi
Play Experience: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" I first got this set after I was done with First Lego League, a robotics competition, and wanted something to program. This kit is awesome. It comes with building instructions that tell you how to build 4 different robots. Then you can program them to do whatever you want to. My only complaint is the instructions being on cd and not booklet. "
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Review 71 for LEGO LEGO MINDSTORMS: LEGO MINDSTORMS NXT
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Building Experience, a Few Cons

Posted:May 6, 2009
Customer Avatar
From: Oakland, CA
Play Experience: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" This set is really complete with all the traditional things from the old RCX set and more. There are some Pro and Cons about this set below:
Pro:
- Comes complete with plenty of exciting elements
- New NXT Brick really brings a new level of programming (supports 3rd party software), and building
- Powerful new Servo motors are accurate
- If you have old RCX elements, I highly suggest you purchase the converter cables because it will really incorporate your robotic sets
- Simply a great buy
All the Pros are great compliments, but I wanted to reveal some detailed Cons for buyers who really want to know what they are getting.
Cons:
- New Servo motor is great, but the large size and awkward shape of the motor can be hard sometimes when building robots
- New sensors are also sometimes hard to mount because you can only mount them from underneath
- NXT-G (default NXT programming software) can be a hassle because of runtime lag (really depends on computer)
- Connector cables are not expendable by default (new cables use a new tip that looks comparable to a phone plug but slightly different, and can only be duplicated with special equipment), and are too flexible so you really have to bend them around when building
- Bluetooth can be tricky to use unless you have the correct software and/or hardware, and have sufficient knowledge with Bluetooth interface
I know there are a lot of Cons out there, but that should prevent you from buying this set, this is still a really great building toy, I was just picky on the Cons. "
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Review 72 for LEGO LEGO MINDSTORMS: LEGO MINDSTORMS NXT
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Robots Rule!

Posted:May 20, 2009
Customer Avatar
From: Earth
Play Experience: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" This is an Extreme Lego set! As soon as I opened the box I knew I had made a good choice. The models on the disc were fun to build, like Spike and his stinging tail. The programing is hard at first, but you get better at it with time. The pieces are strong and hold up well to the functions they perform. I think this set is great for veteran builders. "
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Review 73 for LEGO LEGO MINDSTORMS: LEGO MINDSTORMS NXT
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Incredible

Posted:June 1, 2009
Customer Avatar
From: In a galaxy far, far away
Play Experience: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Thie was an awesome set!!! I saved and saved through my allowance and it is incredible. I have only built the scorpion, and I have created to programs already.
Pros:
Stays together
Programs work well
Motion is smooth
Fairly easy to build, but I would recommend this to more advanced builders
Fun to play with
Easy to program on the computer
Cons:
To little memory on the NXT "
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Review 74 for LEGO LEGO MINDSTORMS: LEGO MINDSTORMS NXT
Overall: 
3 / 5
3 / 5

bad price

Posted:June 4, 2009
Customer Avatar
From: WA
Play Experience: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
" This set is bad for the value for money. And the nxt brain brick is very very heavy and cannot carry itself very well. Now to pros and cons:
pros:
ultrasonic sensor
sound sensor
touch sensor
light sensor
brain piece
3 motors
cons:
way too pricey
the motors are big
the brain is heavy
complicated for a ten year old
"
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Review 75 for LEGO LEGO MINDSTORMS: LEGO MINDSTORMS NXT
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A Great invention!

Posted:June 12, 2009
Customer Avatar
From: Hong Kong, New Torritory, Shatin
Play Experience: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" The new MindStorms NXT is very great! My brother and I cannot stop playing it! I think the gears and the sensors are better 10 years ago. If anyone ask me which LEGO set is the best for bying, I would tell him to buy this! "
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Review 76 for LEGO LEGO MINDSTORMS: LEGO MINDSTORMS NXT
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Mindstorms NXT

Posted:June 14, 2009
Customer Avatar
From: Earth
Play Experience: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" All:
Pros:
Can sense light, sound, touch, and distance
Cons:
None
Alpha Rex:
Pros:
Can sway back and forth
Can move arms up and down
Cons:
Does not walk well at all
Vehicle with Pincers:
Can grab a small ball when it hits it
Cons:
None.
Mindstorms NXT is awesome. There are many different robots with many different functions you can invent. Programming is a bit difficult to understand, but overall I would highly recommend Mindstorms.
"
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Review 77 for LEGO LEGO MINDSTORMS: LEGO MINDSTORMS NXT
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Posted:June 26, 2009
Customer Avatar
From: gamma hydra 4
How long has this product been owned?  Longer than 1 year
How often is this product used?  Every few days
Play Experience: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" the reason i would not recomend it to a freind is the com plexity it introuduces "
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Review 78 for LEGO LEGO MINDSTORMS: LEGO MINDSTORMS NXT
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Really really cool!

Posted:July 4, 2009
Customer Avatar
From: MD
Age: 14-18
How long has this product been owned?  11-12 months
How often is this product used?  Every few days
Play Experience: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" This is the best set I have ever owned!
It can do anything you want it to do!
You can use it to feed the birds, feed the fish,
set your alarm,
and or bring you things!
This set is amazing, and it's a fun build!
I really recomend geting this!
"
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Review 79 for LEGO LEGO MINDSTORMS: LEGO MINDSTORMS NXT
Overall: 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Honestly, I don't really like this

Posted:July 10, 2009
Customer Avatar
From: HOT AND SUNNAY LOS ANGELES
Age: 14-18
Gender:  Male
How long has this product been owned?  5-6 months
How often is this product used?  Never
Play Experience: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value for Money: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
" Honestly, If you want to just play around for fun, i dont recomend this for you. Also, if you're the only lego fan in your household it's gonna be REALLY boring. It's fun with a large group but if your alone playing around it's just too complicated. I got this for my birthday and I regret that. I think I should've got that lego train set. "
-6points
1of 8found this review helpful.
Review 80 for LEGO LEGO MINDSTORMS: LEGO MINDSTORMS NXT
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

BEST LEGO SET EVER!!!

Posted:July 14, 2009
Customer Avatar
From: U.S.A.
Age: 14-18
Gender:  Male
How long has this product been owned?  5-6 months
How often is this product used?  Every few days
Play Experience: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" THIS SET IS AWESOME !!! There is so much to do with it! This is a great set for anyone 10 years + . These sets are even used in colleges!And guess what else-it's 100% educational!!! The set is so fun , and it's educational too! What else could you ask for?A building toy that's fun, educational,and can be used for many, many ,many years to come! A great value! I LOVE THIS SET!!!!!!! "
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 next>>