Customer Reviews for LEGO LEGO® Power Functions IR Receiver

LEGO LEGO® Power Functions IR Receiver

LEGO® Power Functions IR Receiver
Average Customer Rating:
4.6 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(30 Reviews) 26
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (30 reviews)
5 stars
23
4 stars
3
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
0
29 of 3097%of reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for LEGO® Power Functions IR Receiver
Review 1 for LEGO® Power Functions IR Receiver
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Much better than the old V1 receiver

Posted:October 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
From:  United Kingdom
Age: 25-34
Gender:  Male
Customer Type:  LEGO Educator
Building Experience:  Expert LEGO builder
Purchased For: Self
Play Experience: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I had bought the old V1 version and it has a noticeable difference from the V2 version. The V2 version reciprocates much faster and it's more efficient in power consumption.
The IR receiver is a "must-have" item for radio controlled machinery. It receives a signal from the IR controller to execute movements when a motor is plugged to it. Although it sticks out quite noticeably when equipped in small race-cars and trucks, it can be covered by small LEGO plates. Additionally, it supports 2 plugs instead of one, bargaining it's way to the LEGO market. Everyone loves the IR series, don't they?
I would highly recommend purchasing the current V2 version."
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for LEGO® Power Functions IR Receiver
Overall: 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Still shipping v1 receivers

Posted:February 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
From:  United States
Age: 35-44
Gender:  Male
Customer Type:  LEGO Fan
Building Experience:  Intermediate LEGO builder
Purchased For: Self
Play Experience: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value for Money: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
"I bought four receivers, expecting by now that Lego would be shipping v2 of the receiver that does not restrict power to the motors like v1 ( The v2 receiver has been around a while with the 9398 crawler). Can Lego please make v2 available for purchase and state in the description the version so that we know what we are purchasing."
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
6of 9found this review helpful.
Review 3 for LEGO® Power Functions IR Receiver
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent

Posted:December 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
From: Northbrook
From:  United States
Age: 14-18
Gender:  Male
Customer Type:  LEGO Fan
Building Experience:  Advanced LEGO builder
Purchased For: Self
Play Experience: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Level of Difficulty:
Easy
"This LEGO product is excellent. It's small and can easily fit into most LEGO trains. As long as their is nothing obscuring the blue part on top, the signal is perfect. The receiver has two outputs, which allows you to run two motors or a motor and lights from a single receiver. It operates on four different channels, allowing you to run four different models at once from the same remote controller. For fifteen dollars, it's an excellent value for the money."
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
-2points
0of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for LEGO® Power Functions IR Receiver
Overall: 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Fluorescent lights

Posted:September 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
From: Neptune
From:  United States
Age: 65 or older
Gender:  Male
Customer Type:  LEGO Fan
Building Experience:  Expert LEGO builder
Play Experience: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for Money: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Level of Difficulty:
Very Easy
"You need to know that this IR controller will not work at all with fluorescent lights on overhead. Thought I was crazy until I turned them off and it worked fine. Just a FYI."
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for LEGO® Power Functions IR Receiver
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Full review from Range, to Model it is here.

Posted:December 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
From: Winston-Salem
From:  United States
Age: 14-18
Gender:  Male
Customer Type:  LEGO Fan
Building Experience:  Expert LEGO builder
Play Experience: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Level of Difficulty:
Very Challenging
"This is a very good Piece of equipment, if you just have a motor and a battery box and looking into making your models RC this would be very helpful, It has about a 25-30 Foot range Indoors, and about a 15-20 Out doors. This has been a fan loved piece so there where three types, Most people don't know about that this one had a older one it looked the same and acted similar, It had a 10-15 Foot range inside and about 10 foot range outdoors, I would recommend buying it from a place like LEGO because they are only selling the 'Newer' one, The V2 Featured in the Rock crawler has better battery to motor power usage, so the motors spin the same speed but the battery uses less power, I have the V2 and I think it has a little better range (though I haven't tested it yet) I can't say what to do right now, Wait and get the newer one (though it isn't much better then this one) Or just have this one Because we don't know if this could come out in a day or a year it is a hard choice.
Value for money is excellent, $12 to make awesome RC models is totally worth it. They do break after about 3 years I have just had my oldest one pass its life time.
Play, Wow all I can say is that these make your model that much better. They are so fun whether it is from Driving your LEGO train around the Christmas tree, to Driving your LEGO Jeep outside this is perfect for every place.
Unlike most of the PF parts I don't know if this is water proof, the motors are and I have tested them but I don't want to test this.
Mainly for Technic building, it has two front Pin holes then the rest of it is studded.
The video I attached is of my Jeep I built and it is showing my Technic model using this part. This is outdoors and I am about 10 feet away at the time."
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
11of 12found this review helpful.
Review 6 for LEGO® Power Functions IR Receiver
Overall: 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Works

Posted:December 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
From: Fleet
From:  United Kingdom
Age: 14-18
Gender:  Male
Customer Type:  LEGO Fan
Building Experience:  Novice LEGO builder
Play Experience: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Level of Difficulty:
Average
"The receiver its self works fine but after a year or much sooner the cable will break. If you have lots of money you can probably afford a new one. Also very over over priced."
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
8of 12found this review helpful.
Review 7 for LEGO® Power Functions IR Receiver
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Reciver

Posted:April 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
From: Fresno
From:  United States
Age: 14-18
Gender:  Male
Customer Type:  LEGO Fan
Building Experience:  Intermediate LEGO builder
Play Experience: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Level of Difficulty:
Very Easy
"I bought one of these for my LEGO train but then I stopped working.But LEGO was nice enough to send me a new one although great product."
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
8of 10found this review helpful.
Review 8 for LEGO® Power Functions IR Receiver
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The "Main Knob" for all IR builds

Posted:April 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
From: Humlebaek
From:  Denmark
Age: 45-54
Gender:  Male
Customer Type:  LEGO Grandparent
Building Experience:  Advanced LEGO builder
Play Experience: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Level of Difficulty:
Easy
"This unit is brilliant !!
It's not just a reciever, but also a twin controller unit.
It has 2 separate subchannels for each of the 4 main channels.
This way it will control 2 motors or 1 motor and lights on a train, or any two powerfunction units.
As a "train-o-holic" this unit along with the other controls is a MUST for powering and controlling modern lego IR trains.
I wish that lego would make a SET with the necessary items for powering trains:
8884 IR reciever
8879 IR speed remote control
8870 lights
88002 train motor
88000 battery box (or alternately, 8878 rechargable battery box and 8887 charger)
And then give us a reasonable rebate on the whole deal, since we already have bought a train. {;o)"
I would recommend this to a friend!
+27points
27of 27found this review helpful.
Review 9 for LEGO® Power Functions IR Receiver
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

IR Reciever

Posted:February 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
From: Here.
From:  United States
Age: 14-18
Gender:  Male
Customer Type:  LEGO Fan
Building Experience:  Advanced LEGO builder
Play Experience: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for Money: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Level of Difficulty:
Very Easy
"I almost threw up when I saw the price! If you're going to make a remote control Lego vehicle then you'll NEED this, And Lego takes advantage of that... Can't do much about that. It's pretty compact and fits well into a set, but you can't attach bricks onto the top. I like the fact that the red and blue marks tell you where the left and right motors attach.
Pros:
Pretty long distance.
Color-coded for left and right.
Cons:
Price.
Price.
Price.
$15.00+.
If you plan on buying it, you need to be prepared to pay up."
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
5of 10found this review helpful.
Review 10 for LEGO® Power Functions IR Receiver
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cool, Small, Intelligent and makes Lego's Better

Posted:January 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
From: Burbank
From:  United States
Age: 19-24
Gender:  Male
Customer Type:  LEGO Fan
Building Experience:  Expert LEGO builder
Play Experience: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Level of Difficulty:
Very Challenging
"The IR Receiver is a very good product from Lego because it can handle two channels at a time and is easy to hook up to anything on your models. I use the red channel to power the wheels on my car and the blue channel to power the steering. It easily can reach a far distance and handle the remote control. It's good for anything on power function Lego's that has a remote control."
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for LEGO® Power Functions IR Receiver
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

simply genious...

Posted:November 9, 2010
Customer Avatar
From:  United States
Age: 14-18
Gender:  Male
Building Experience:  Advanced LEGO builder
Play Experience: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"synchronizing more than 2 motors(of any size) is quite easy with these. having 2 (or more) receivers on the same channel as one remote opens up sooo many possibilities."
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for LEGO® Power Functions IR Receiver
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

RC your inventions!

Posted:June 3, 2010
Customer Avatar
From: USA
Age: 35-44
Gender:  Male
How long has this product been owned?  Longer than 1 year
How often is this product used?  A few times per month
Play Experience: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
"This is a great pruchase if you have power functions. It's a bit pricey comapred to the motors though. If you want to remote control something like a car, this and the remote are a must buy. The range is quite high, and even at the highest range the readings are very accurate, but just like all of the other power functions elements I own, I had to replace this because of a fault in the connector brick. This problem is because I played with it way too much. If you have this same problem please say so in a review so I know that my power functions were all defective. Must buy, but beware of this problem!"
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for LEGO® Power Functions IR Receiver
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

never ending fun

Posted:April 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
Gender:  Male
How long has this product been owned?  2-3 months
How often is this product used?  Every day
Play Experience: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"This is an exelant product and has absolutly loads of fun to offer. (especialy if you have a model that moves)
this product isn't cheap but well worth getting one, im going to get another one.
"
I would recommend this to a friend!
-2points
0of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for LEGO® Power Functions IR Receiver
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A must for lego rc

Posted:March 22, 2010
Customer Avatar
From: FL
Age: 14-18
Gender:  Male
How long has this product been owned?  2-3 months
How often is this product used?  Once per week
Play Experience: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"I have had this for while and have never been disapointed. i use it with my nxt quite often and i love to remote control my models as well. All in all great product and i hope that they will ship my second one soon!"
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for LEGO® Power Functions IR Receiver
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for trains

Posted:February 22, 2010
Customer Avatar
From: Belgium, Nivelles
Age: 25-34
Gender:  Male
How long has this product been owned?  2-7 weeks
How often is this product used?  Every few days
Play Experience: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Hi,
This item is very usefull with new power fonction remote control.
It works great with the train motor."
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for LEGO® Power Functions IR Receiver
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Needed

Posted:August 14, 2009
Customer Avatar
From: Sultan W.A.
Gender:  Male
How long has this product been owned?  9-10 months
How often is this product used?  Once per week
Play Experience: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"notice that this is the recever part. It is what makes or is part of what makes what ever you are making move. If don't have this piece your remote will be quite usless!"
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for LEGO® Power Functions IR Receiver
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Totally awsome

Posted:May 13, 2009
Customer Avatar
From: bern ID
Play Experience: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"If you want to drive a truck around without pushing it, this is the thing for you. I build trucks all the time with the power functions parts. Just get some engines, a battery box this sensor, and a remote control an youre off!!!!!!!!!!! Get this now."
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for LEGO® Power Functions IR Receiver
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

A must have to bring your sets to life

Posted:April 15, 2009
Customer Avatar
From: Nottingham, UK
Play Experience: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for Money: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"You get 4 channels with the Power Functions IR system. Each channel can control two motors from the remote (8885) so if you are thinking of putting loads of power in a set you're working on (up to 8 motors), you're going to need some of these. Really simple to add into your models and power functions system. Would suggest purchasing along with the Power Functions Motor Set (8293). Notice from the new controllers (see Themes-Trains-Accessories) that you can incorporate rate control through the same IR reciever so I hope to see the Power Functions system spreading out throughout more Lego themes."
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for LEGO® Power Functions IR Receiver
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Accurate

Posted:March 24, 2009
Customer Avatar
From: Portugal
Play Experience: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for Money: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
"This reciver is very precise, it recieves the signal from the controller very quickly enabeling you to control your creations to the second. Very handy and in a small size nearly appeals to be built in one of your creations."
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for LEGO® Power Functions IR Receiver
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This is really a great thing!

Posted:March 16, 2009
Customer Avatar
From: Sweden,Örebro
Play Experience: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
"I use this to not only with the remote, with my NXT too. (I've a IR link sensor and a PF remote)"
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>