Customer Reviews for LEGO Power Miners: Crystal Sweeper

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at LEGO.

LEGO Power Miners: Crystal Sweeper

Hungry rock monsters are on the loose, gobbling up crystals and causing havoc underground. Unleash the Crystal Sweeper and get them first! This massive mining vehicle spins its auto-rotating harvester wheel to collect a huge cargo of crystals and drop them into its rear-mounted bucket. Use the side-mounted laser crane to drill through rock, or deploy the motorcycle and ramp for emergency escapes and rescues. Just watch out for the monsters and their double-launching catapult! Roll the vehicle to activate the rotating harvester and scoop up the crystals into the bucket! Extend the drilling arm and pivot into position! Includes 2 miner and 2 rock monster minifigures! Measures over 9" (22cm) long and 6" (15cm) wide!
Average Customer Rating:
4.394 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(99 Reviews) 89
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (99 reviews)
5 stars
60
4 stars
26
3 stars
7
2 stars
4
1 star
2
82 of 9983%of reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for LEGO Power Miners: Crystal Sweeper
Review 1 for LEGO Power Miners: Crystal Sweeper
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice!!

Posted:August 5, 2010
Customer Avatar
From: Florida FL
Gender:  Male
How long has this product been owned?  Longer than 1 year
How often is this product used?  A few times per month
Play Experience: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"This one of my favorite power miners sets for many reason, but here are the pros and cons.
Pros:
Minifigures
Laptop
Sweeping action
Drill
Rock monster launcher
Cons:
Small
Overpriced
Thats it!!
Hope this helped!!!"
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for LEGO Power Miners: Crystal Sweeper
Overall: 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not very good...

Posted:May 23, 2010
Customer Avatar
From: USA
Age: 14-18
Gender:  Male
How long has this product been owned?  Longer than 1 year
How often is this product used?  A few times per year
Play Experience: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value for Money: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
"When I saw this set, I thought it was going to be the best set ever, I liked the detail and design of it, plus the minifigs. Once I got it it was as I expected it to be: Awesome minifigures, spectacular design and detail, and a high play experience. The only reason I did not like the set and was a huge problem was the sturdiness of the set. Every time I "gently" played with it it would crumble to pieces. I rebuilt it about 5 times then just stuffed it in my closet and haven't played with it since. If you don't care about the sturdiness though, you should buy this set. I did not find the set very good though."
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for LEGO Power Miners: Crystal Sweeper
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

woohoo

Posted:May 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
From: hunting monsters
Play Experience: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"its AWSOME i mean cmon the big spinney thing is so
cool it spins and picks up crystals
i got it today and it took me around 30 mins to build
but now for the pros
PROS:
banana
spinney thing
bike
LAPTOP
capatult
CONS:
NONE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
"
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for LEGO Power Miners: Crystal Sweeper
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

not much cons

Posted:April 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
From: NZ
Age: 14-18
Gender:  Male
How long has this product been owned?  Longer than 1 year
How often is this product used?  Every few days
Play Experience: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
"this set is pretty cool with very rare things that come with this.
pros=
cool drill
big sweeper
awesome rock catapult
meltrox and glaciator
rex and brains
escape bike
gun
2 sapphires and topaz gems
3 blue crystals, 3 red crystals and 2 orange crystals
cons=
gets sometimes jammed when i sweep crystals
too less power miners
anyway i would recommend this set to a friend."
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for LEGO Power Miners: Crystal Sweeper
Overall: 
3 / 5
3 / 5

A pricey set

Posted:January 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
From: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 25-34
Play Experience: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for Money: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
"This was the first power miners set that I bought, mainly because it was 50% off. It's a nice set although very pricey for what you get.
A lot of thought has been put into it's design - the orange claw section at the front rotates when the sweeper moves forward - but you have to be careful because there is a moveable gray plate under this which can actually interefere with the rotation of the claw if not positioned correctly.
My main issue with the set is actually with the control room/cockpit. On initial appearance, it looks quite large - 8 studs wide and therefore large enough to accomodate both minifigs (Brains and engineer). But the build of it is such that it uses a lot of bricks 2 studs wide on the insde so that actually, it's only 4 studs wide and has room for only 1 minifig.
You also get a dirt bike with this set which fits nicely into a clip at the back, and the drill mechanism, although simple seems to work quite well.
The build is a little tricky for younger builders, but nothing too difficult. You get a fair number of stickers as well, which is a bit of a nuisance, but otherwise, it's quite a good set - if you manage to get it on sale.
For the full price however, I'd probably recommend that you get something else..... perhaps the thunder driller and the rock wrecker?????"
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for LEGO Power Miners: Crystal Sweeper
Overall: 
3 / 5
3 / 5

not the best

Posted:January 23, 2010
Customer Avatar
From: milky way
Play Experience: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
"this product was good but the sweeping crystal thing did not work so well i could have a differant mechanism so it could work better but you get a cool motor bike and plenty of minifigs
pros
minifigs
catapult
amount of cystals
cons
mechanisms
"
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for LEGO Power Miners: Crystal Sweeper
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Gray platform clogs up the gears!

Posted:January 3, 2010
Customer Avatar
Play Experience: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for Money: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
"When I bought the set, I thought that it would be huge! (looking at the box that is,) Well, it really wasn't. The set comes with four minifigures, two miners, and two rock monsters. It also came with a rock monster catapult and the Crystal Sweeper.
The set includes many minifigures:
Brains (The scientist)
Engineer (Bomb on his chest)
Glaciator (Blue rock monster)
Meltrox (Red rock monster)
The Power Miners included in this set wear goggles, I like them better with the goggles so if I have extra ones I give them to my other power miners. It also seems like that Glaciator comes in every set. I think I have 4 of them at the moment: One in the Granite Grinder, One in the Crystal Sweeper, One in the Boulder Blaster, One in the Titanium Command Rig.
The set also comes with a rock monster catapult that actually works, you put two rock monsters on and fling them and watch them go flying.
On to the actual Crystal Sweeper:
The Crystal Sweeper actually lives up to it's name. It can actually sweep up crystals and rock monsters etc. The way it works is that the harvester wheel shoots crystals up the gray ramp at the bottom and then they hit the platform connected to the cockpit and then fall into the bucket. The Crystal Sweeper also comes with many accessories like a bannana and dynamite. On the right side of the Crystal Sweeper is a Drill that is very flexible and can move very easily. On the left side however, is a motorcycle used for quick escapes and a mini drill, shovel, bannanas, and four diamonds. The only thing that is bad about this set is that the gray ramp at the bottom of the set occasionally goes up and clogs up the first gear, preventing the harvester wheel to move and the Crystal Sweeper itself to move forward. But, that's the only major issue.
Pros:
Two Power miners
Two Rock monsters
Rock monster catapult
Quick escape motorcycle
Drill
Actually sweeps up crystals
Many accessories
Cons:
The gray ramp clogs up the first gear
As you see, there is a very long list of pros, but only one con. Although it's only one problem, it's a very major issue. Before I knew that it was the ramps fault, I thought that it was normal so I kept making it go forward, but the first gear broke. (good thing I had a spare gear). Besides that one con, the Crystal Sweeper works perfectly and I would highly recommend it to a friend or two....
"
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for LEGO Power Miners: Crystal Sweeper
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Pretty good set!

Posted:January 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
Play Experience: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for Money: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
"I got this set for my birthday last year, and I have displayed it on one of my many shelves ever since.
Pros:
Meltrox
Two Miners
Laptop
Banana
Catapult
Cons:
The Drill falls off easily
The Scoop only works at high speeds
A little small for it's cost
Glaciator(TOO MANY GLACIATORS!)
Overall, I'd say this set is a great set, and would work well for the little miners in your family, if they could put it together."
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for LEGO Power Miners: Crystal Sweeper
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Crystals!!!

Posted:January 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
From: Tylstrup, Denmark
Age: 14-18
Gender:  Male
How long has this product been owned?  2-7 weeks
How often is this product used?  Every few days
Play Experience: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for Money: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"This is my first, only and last Power Miners set. The reason why I don't wanna get more is that they have too many Technic pieces in them - sorry. I just don't like the look of the Power Miners sets. But this is cool!
PROS:
*Two miners - smiling/scared
*Two rock monsters - one red and one blue
*A LAPTOP!
*8 large crystals!
*A small catapult for the rock monsters - it launches them quite good!
*The Crystal Sweeper! It's amazing - it can sweep up the crystals into it's bucket at the rear. It has an orange dirt bike which is cool. It has two crates - one with a banana, one with four gems in it, and a lid. The roof pops off the cockpit, and there is controls and a steering wheel in there. It has very cool headlights and engines. It also has a drill that you can extend. It has a shovel and a small drill (a speargun with a cone on it) on the side. And it has two dynamite sticks on either side of the cockpit. AMAZING!
CONS:
*Stickers
*A tad too many Technic parts.
*Sometimes the crystal-sweeping function does not work.
*Cockpit is unroomy.
But this is a great set. They still sell it in stores but not on Legoshop.com, so get this quick!"
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for LEGO Power Miners: Crystal Sweeper
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

after chrismas set

Posted:January 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
From: Seguin,TX
Age: 14-18
Gender:  Male
How long has this product been owned?  2-7 weeks
How often is this product used?  Every day
Play Experience: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"On the day of chrismas I got another set after geting a wrong gift we decide to take it back to the store I wanted the thunder driller but got the crysal sweeper.It took me 2hr to build bue it kept breaking i wait till tomorrow finaly it was done
pros:
8 crystals
4 jems
2 rock monster
1 scietist and 1 engineer
rock catapult
tank like wheels
nice decine
con:
one only
the first time i built it it was to loose
"
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for LEGO Power Miners: Crystal Sweeper
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

The mack daddy of power miners

Posted:January 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
From: underground
Age: 14-18
Gender:  Male
How long has this product been owned?  1 week or less
How often is this product used?  Every day
Play Experience: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"I got this set for christmas and, It, is, well, great!!!!!!! The sweeper really works! But the gear that spins with the wheel scrapes the slide. Big problem. And it is extremely breakable. But I would recommend you to buy it. Buy it right this second."
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for LEGO Power Miners: Crystal Sweeper
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great set!!! But, please read this....

Posted:December 30, 2009
Customer Avatar
From: Lexington, SC
Age: 14-18
Gender:  Female
How long has this product been owned?  1 week or less
How often is this product used?  Every day
Play Experience: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Ok,
I just want to start out saying, i've wanted this set for a long time. But i couldn't afford $70. But when i finally got it, it was on sale for $50. But i would of payed $70! It's great! It really does pick up the crystals! BUT! After spending 2 and a half hours building it, i push it, and the whole cockpit fell off, when i went to fix the cockpit, the platform holding the bike fell off, i go to fix that and the other platform falls off, i got to fix that, and the wheels fell off!! Etc!!!!! I was sooo close to taking it back! But i took a break, relaxed, then grabbed some extra orange pieces i had left over from an old spongebob set. I had to secure the cockpit and platforms. So, when you get this set, take some extra pieces, and secure the cockpit from the side windows, and connect it to the place between the platform and the gray barrel shaped things. Also, take a long piece and connect the two platforms by putting the long (flat) piece over the bucket. Now, when you do this, you wont be able to dump the crystals out, you either have to get them out with your hands, or temporarily take of the flat long piece. TEMPORARILY.
I highly recommend this set, but only if you have extra pieces laying around. Please, save yourself some frustration and do what i said. If you do this, it will be your favorite power miners set!
Pros:
*REALLY picks up crystals!!!!!
*I love the little bike!
*TWO rock monsters (Who cares if it comes with glaciator)
*Monster catapult works great!
*i love the crane! (It swivels)
*It comes with 8 crystals!!
*It has 4 gems! (Little crystals)
*Laptop
*BANANA! (Random, but it's cool!)
*It pushes really easily (I don't like the tank style wheels, but these ones don't get stuck, even on carpet!
Cons
*Like i said, it has a chain reaction of breaking unless you secure it.
*Sometimes it flings the crystals across the room. But only if you push it too fast.
Overall, it's a great set. I gave it five bricks (And/or stars)
because i love it! But once again, secure it!!!!!!!! I hope this review was helpful, and now you won't have to take it back to the store. :)
"
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for LEGO Power Miners: Crystal Sweeper
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Pretty Good, design flaws though

Posted:December 30, 2009
Customer Avatar
From: Saratoga, CA
Age: 14-18
Gender:  Male
How long has this product been owned?  1 week or less
How often is this product used?  Every few days
Play Experience: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value for Money: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
"Good:cool mechanism sweeping up monsters and crystals
Con:Crystals and rock monsters sometimes don't come into the bucket from sweeper."
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for LEGO Power Miners: Crystal Sweeper
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Okay

Posted:December 26, 2009
Customer Avatar
From: New York,NY
Age: 14-18
Gender:  Male
How long has this product been owned?  1 week or less
How often is this product used?  Every day
Play Experience: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"its an okay set the wheels broke and i still didnt fix it yet because everytime i do it breaks MORE and i dont want that to happen any way this is a cool set i got it for christmas 2009! and its fun but the sweeper barely works anyway lets get to the pros and cons pros: laptop drill shovel banana 8 crystals 2 rock monsters catapult 2 dynamite cons: breaks a bit too much :) Rexdukebrainsdoc11 out"
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for LEGO Power Miners: Crystal Sweeper
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

THE CRUSTAL SWEEPER

Posted:December 26, 2009
Customer Avatar
From: UNDERGROUND
Age: 14-18
Gender:  Male
How long has this product been owned?  1 week or less
How often is this product used?  Every day
Play Experience: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"THIS IS A GREAT SET!
PROS:
ROCK MONSTERS
CATAPULT
MINERS
SWEEPING FUNCTION WORKS
MOTOR BIKE
ACCESSERIES
CONS:
RAMPS STICKS
"
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for LEGO Power Miners: Crystal Sweeper
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice set

Posted:December 26, 2009
Customer Avatar
From: Wisconsin
Play Experience: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"Fun build, well designed and most pieces stay on which is hard when it comes to lego sets. I've noticed all the previous pros and cons written i'll save you mine. Except the price is a bit high as mentioned by other $50-$60 would be more reasonable per brick count. I like the set and would buy it again. Another well done Power Miner set"
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for LEGO Power Miners: Crystal Sweeper
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worth the $79.99 I paid for one with a damaged box

Posted:December 25, 2009
Customer Avatar
From: Pittsburgh, PA
Age: 14-18
Gender:  Male
How long has this product been owned?  1 week or less
Play Experience: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I haven't bought a set from a LEGO-original line for a while, and I wasn't dissapointed with this one. It's main function, sweeping up the crystals, only works if you get it to a certain speed (too slow won't be enough to push the crystals up the ramp and too fast will shoot them across the room), but you know you really want to sweep up the monsters, which you can, but DO NOT run the Crystal Sweeper on carpet. it tends to sweep up more than crystals. I've had to clean dust, hair, etc. out of the treads and interior. The monster catapult only works if you place it on a higher surface than the Crystal Sweeper. The set comes with 8 crystals, but you can add some from other sets. It's fun to set up a field of crystals with monsters in it and sweep the whole thing up. they you can lift the cover on the back and catapult the crystals and monsters out."
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for LEGO Power Miners: Crystal Sweeper
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My Favorite Power Miners Set So Far

Posted:December 24, 2009
Customer Avatar
From: Metairie,LA
Age: 14-18
Gender:  Male
How long has this product been owned?  1 week or less
How often is this product used?  Every day
Play Experience: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"This set is about $20-$30 overpriced,but it is worth it!
With the ability to sweep up rock monsters and crystals,it is really fun to play with.With the laptop,motorbike,drill,and rock monster launcher,this set has the coolest accsesories! Definitly buy this set.
"
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for LEGO Power Miners: Crystal Sweeper
Overall: 
1 / 5
1 / 5

BAD

Posted:December 17, 2009
Customer Avatar
Gender:  Male
How long has this product been owned?  11-12 months
Play Experience: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value for Money: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
"I was very disaponted with this product when i built it it was pretty hard and it would never sweep up the crystals or rock monsters AND when i moved it, it fell appart i tryed taking it appart and rebuilding it again 3 times and it still dident work i was VERY DISAPONTED also it cost alot (i have bad spelling)"
-1point
1of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for LEGO Power Miners: Crystal Sweeper
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

good but price could have been lower

Posted:December 12, 2009
Customer Avatar
From: payson ut
Age: 14-18
Gender:  Male
How long has this product been owned?  9-10 months
How often is this product used?  Every day
Play Experience: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
"this is a good lego set
pros: 2 rock mosters, monster launcher, alot of power crystals,
cons: high price could have been 10 dollars cheaper
and falls apart easy
"
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>