LEGOStarwars23
Top 500 Contributor
Share LEGOStarwars23's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
LEGOStarwars23's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    34
  • Helpfulness Votes
    36
  • First Review
    September 25, 2009
  • Last Review
    June 3, 2011
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.7
 
 
LEGOStarwars23's Reviews
1 2 3 4 next>>
 
 Alien Striker
Alien Striker
Alien Striker
 
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice impulse buy!
Posted:June 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
From: London
From:  United Kingdom
Age: 14-18
Gender:  Male
Customer Type:  LEGO Fan
Building Experience:  Expert LEGO builder
Play Experience: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Level of Difficulty:
Very Easy
" This is a very nice impulse buy and I may well get some more Alien Conquest sets after this!
Both Minifigures are fantastic. The earth defender has a nice double sided printed torso, his helmet has a nice shape and his gun looks cool! The alien, meanwhile, has an amazing new mould as his head. It looks really good, with the big eyes and teeth sticking out. The brain detail on the top is a nice piece of detail.
The speeder isn't too bad, but I get the feeling that any old person could build something like this and I didn't get any sort of thrill from building it. It looks quite sleek but is nothing special... I buy a LEGO set expecting to find a nice little section where I think, "That's a clever build" or something similar. But I didn't get that with the speeder... Still, it's nice enough!
Overall, the minifigures make this set, which is also well-priced. The speeder looks quite good but isn't anything special. Still, I would recommend this set! "
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
 
 Clone Trooper™ Battle Pack
Clone Trooper™ Battle Pack
Clone Trooper™ Battle Pack
 
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Battle Pack so far
Posted:June 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
From: London
From:  United Kingdom
Age: 14-18
Gender:  Male
Customer Type:  LEGO Fan
Building Experience:  Expert LEGO builder
Play Experience: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Level of Difficulty:
Easy
" Finally I have picked up one of these sets at the Lego Store. I have been meaning to get this for ages but never got round to it. I'm glad I eventually did!
Those minifigures, quite frankly, make the set! The Bomb squad troopers are unique and stand out among my collection of minifigures. The Clone Commander has a nice sand-green helmet with printed legs and torso. But the ARF trooper beats the lot. The amazing detail on the helmet is outstanding. The normal torso and legs are a bit of a letdown but I just swapped them with the Commander's legs and torso. Amazing minifigures, then!
The speeder has a simple yet sleek design, with some rare pieces thrown into the mix. It glides along nicely on my carpet and looks great. It is also nice and easy to seat the Clone minifigure. Definitely better than the speeder in the Snowtrooper Battle Pack.
Overall then, adding the minifigures and the speeder together makes a 5* set! 85 pieces for £10 is pretty good value, too, but a little turret would have made the pricing perfect! "
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
 
 LEGO® Minifigures Series 4
LEGO® Minifigures Series 4
LEGO® Minifigures Series 4
 
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great series!
Posted:April 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
From:  United Kingdom
Age: 14-18
Gender:  Male
Customer Type:  LEGO Fan
Building Experience:  Advanced LEGO builder
Play Experience: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Level of Difficulty:
Very Easy
" Series 4 is, in my opinion, the best series yet!
Here are some of my favourite figures:
Kimino Girl - She has a double-sided torso and the fan element looks great!
Werewolf: The ripped shirt and face detail is really good, as is the bone.
The Artist - The palette and brush are unique to the artist and his paint splattered clothing looks realistic!
The Hazmat Guy - His helmet is the best piece in the series! He has a cool weapon which links up to the back of the helmet!
The Viking - Cool detail on the shield and the helmet is accurate.
Crazy Scientist - Unique conical flask can be held at the top or the bottom. That hair is brilliant too!
The soccer palyer, hockey player, sailor, garden gnome and musketeer are good too. Get this series while you still can! "
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
 
 Space Moon Buggy
Space Moon Buggy
Space Moon Buggy
 
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Impulse Buy!
Posted:April 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
From:  United Kingdom
Age: 14-18
Gender:  Male
Customer Type:  LEGO Fan
Building Experience:  Advanced LEGO builder
Play Experience: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Level of Difficulty:
Easy
" This is another great impulse City set! I might well buy some of the other space sets as a result of getting this. Although the set only contains a few rare parts, the set is very fun and playable, the build is quick and straightforward and the minifigure is brilliant!
PROS:
-The minifigure is amazing! The helmet/ oxygen tank piece is fantastic and looks great. This is one of the best City minifigures out there at the moment!
-The drill attachment is quite clever - it can rotate and you can adjust where the drill is facing very easily. The drill piece itself is quite rare, too. The small dish is a nice bit of detail.
-£3.99 for 37 pieces gives this set a piece to price ration of 10.8pence. This makes it a great deal, especially since the minifigure is so detailed.
-The instruction manual is quite deatiled at the back, with realy pictures of astronauts and space, with facts as well, as well as the usual pictures and Lego City scenes.
CONS:
None!
This set, then, is a great buy. It's cheep and yet still includes lots of playability and a great minifigure. Even if you only have this set from the Space theme, it will be enough to think up many different storylines!
Check out my video review on you tube - search DWSWTW52. "
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
7of 8found this review helpful.
 
 The Battle of Naboo™
The Battle of Naboo™
The Battle of Naboo™
 
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
That's a lot of Droids!
Posted:December 31, 2010
Customer Avatar
From:  United Kingdom
Age: 14-18
Gender:  Male
Customer Type:  LEGO Fan
Building Experience:  Expert LEGO builder
Play Experience: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Level of Difficulty:
Average
" This set is pretty amazing. For starters, twelve minifigures for just £26/ $25 is fantastic. The speeder itself is really detailed and accurate as well.
PROS: The eight Droids and two pilot Droids included makes this a fantastic army builder - if you get a few of these you will have a huge Droid army! Also, the redesigned Gungans are brilliant. Their head moulds and torsos are so detailed and accurate - The LEGO group have done a great job on them! The speeder is really accurate and contains many rare dark beige and brown pieces. The little spotlight and other little details make this set look even better! The Droid-rack is a well designed feature and works well. The speeder is easy to build and the finished product looks very nice. The price is definitely worth it. 241 pieces for £26/ $25 is a very good deal.
CONS: The speeder could have been made slightly wider and perhaps the Droid rack could have been extended just in case you needed extra space to store spare Droids, but that isn't a major issue. Also, this set could have included a Droideka, as they haven't been released since 2007 and they were featured in the Battle of Naboo.
Overall, though, this set is a great-army builder, the Gungans looks great, and the speeder contains rare colours and elements and looks good.
"
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
 
 LEGO Hard to Find Items: The Battle of Endora(8038)
LEGO Hard to Find Items: The Battle of Endora(8038)
Battle on the forest moon of Endora!
 
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
One of the best!!
Posted:December 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
From:  United Kingdom
Age: 14-18
Gender:  Male
Customer Type:  LEGO Fan
Building Experience:  Expert LEGO builder
Play Experience: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Level of Difficulty:
Average
" This has got to be up there with the best LEGO Star Wars sets of all time! The Battle of Endor comes with so many varied parts, minifigures and accessories and you can really recreate that epic battle on Endor in Return of the Jedi.
The glider looks really good and it is bigger than I thought it would be. It is a little flimsy and falls over quite easily on its stand. The two speeders are nothing special, but they can build up your speeder collection and you can recreate the speeder-chase on Endor. One of the best features of this set is the catapult. The flick-fire missiles which are very common in Star Wars sets are pathetic compared to this. Once, I was able to fling the Lego "rock" seven metres! It is quite accurate as well and is made up of rare pieces. The spear and the bow on either side are nice additions.
The AT-ST is easily the worst thing included. It isn't flimsy as such, but if you slightly brush against it, the thin legs can't support it and it just topples over. Also, the "chicken legs" feature only works if you are holding the AT-ST above the ground. If in is on a table or on a floor, the legs won't work.
The actual bunker, the main part of this set, is excellent. The feature by which you can "destroy" the bunker works really well and the Lego Group deserve lots of praise for designing this so well. The door feature is also really good. In the interior, the computer elements look really detailed and the cannisters and revolving chairs are nice little additions which make the bunker seem even more real.
Finally, the minifigures are just sublime. R2-D2 and Chewbacca are the only average minifigures in this set - the others are all rare or exclusive. Han Solo is his Endor gear is exclusive to this set and his legs and torso look really great, especially the intricate belt detail. Leia in her Endor clothing is another exclusive - her torso is really detailed. The Rebel Commandos are just fantastic. The faces are varied and I have never seen such detail on a torso in my whole LEGO collection! The Ewoks are brilliant and I like the fact that LEGO made each one look different. The Biker Scouts haven't been seen for almost a decade, if not more, and I have waited for ages to get some of these! The Death-Star Trooper is only available in The Death Star, which is very expensive, so this is a cheaper way of getting him. He is great!
The set also comes with many pistols and also rifles, so if you need any spares, this is a good set to get them. The piece count of 890 makes this set very good value price-wise.
Overall, this set includes many rare colour and elements, is accurate and includes many features, has a great catapult and glider, has a detailed bunker, has rare, exclusive and sublime minifigures and is really good value!! The AT-ST was the only disappointment. Buy it before it goes out of stock! I give it 10/10. I hope this review was helpful! "
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
 
 LEGO Hard to Find Items: Public Transport Station(8404)
LEGO Hard to Find Items: Public Transport Station(8404)
Catch the tram or hop the bus at the LEGOA City transport station!
 
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Really great set
Posted:December 14, 2010
Customer Avatar
From:  United Kingdom
Age: 14-18
Gender:  Male
Customer Type:  LEGO Fan
Building Experience:  Expert LEGO builder
Play Experience: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Level of Difficulty:
Average
" This set is really fantastic!
THE TRAM: The tram is really detailed. It has lots of seats for minifigures within and four doors, two on each side. The tram is well scaled and it can run on the LEGO train tracks, which is great.
THE BUS: The bus contains many rare lime-green pieces. It is much bigger than the bus in 7641 City Corner. Like the tram, there are many seats for minifigures inside.
THE OTHER VEHICLES: The street sweeper has a unique design and has a different shape to previous sweepers. The sports car is essentially a yellow version of the 8402 Sports Car. They are both nice vehicles to have in your LEGO city.
THE KIOSK: The kiosk is a nice part of this set. LEGO have cleverly made a small rotating postcard stand. It also has a coffee machine. Next to the kiosk, there is a recycling bin, a post box and a map of the route which route 55 (the tram) takes.
THE PLATFORMS: The double-sided platform has a really cool transparent roof and also a small bench for minifigures to sit on while they wait. There is also a computer element on the side of one of the pillars, presumably for minifigures to see when the bus or tram they need is arriving. The other platform has a shelter, which houses a bench, and also a sticker with a timetable for route 55. There is another recycling box and also a cycle rack, where you can put the green bike that comes with the set.
THE MINIFIGURES: The city street worker is a nice addition, as are the three commuters, which are nice because they can simply add to your civilian minifigure tally, which make your city look more lively and complete. The two drivers are also great.
THE BUILD: The Build is pretty straightforward and easy. It can, at times, become a little repetitive, especially with the tram and the bus.
THE PRICE: Perfect. 864 pieces for £80 gives a great iece to price ratio and when all the separate elements of the set are brought together, it is actually quite big.
OVERALL: This set deserves 10/10. LEGO have clearly thought about how to make this set look brilliant. It contains rare elements, good minifigures, five different modes of transport (Bike, Car, Sweeper, Bus, Tram), all of which have a unique design, and finally, little details like the recycling bins, or the postcard stand, help bring the whole set to life! "
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
 
 Cad Bane’s Speeder™
Cad Bane’s Speeder™
Cad Bane’s Speeder™
 
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cad Bane doesn't work for free...!
Posted:October 30, 2010
Customer Avatar
From: United Kingdom
From:  United Kingdom
Age: 14-18
Gender:  Male
Customer Type:  LEGO Fan
Building Experience:  Expert LEGO builder
Play Experience: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Level of Difficulty:
Average
" Cad Bane's Speeder is definitely up there as one of the best Star Wars sets!
The minifigures are fantastic - they are all rare or exclusive! The black assassin Droid wasn't that special, but all the others are fab. All of the pieces that make Shahan Alama are very rare. The Senate Commandos are great, espcially since the only other way to get them is by spending £99.99 for the Venator Attack Cruiser. The detail on the commander is great. Finally, we have the legend that is Cad Bane! This is the cheepest set he is in and his huge hat and detailed face really make him stand out. Great job on Bane LEGO!
The set is just as brilliant. It is extremely accurate and really looks like the real Speeder seen in The Clone Wars. It is surprisingly big and feels heavier than I thought it would do. The build is fairly simple, and the finished product feels very strong and supported. Over the years, the stability of products has really improved. The opening back section is nice and I use it to store the many guns that come with the set (3 large rifles - WOW).
You may think that the price at the moment is steep for only 318 pieces, but nearly every single piece is either a rare colour or a rare type of piece e.g. there are lots of transparent yellow and blue pieces in there. The flick-fire missiles aren't very good, but that is a minor issue as they make the set look more complete. Overall, this set is durable and accurate, contains plenty of unique elements and the minifigures are sublime! Get this set! "
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
 
 LEGO LEGO Kingdoms - Knight's Showdown
LEGO LEGO Kingdoms - Knight's Showdown
In the heat of battle between the forces of the good King and the army of the Dragon Knights, one of the King's brave soldiers duels a Dragon Knight soldier with a powerful catapult. Includes 2 minifigures: 1 King's army soldier and 1 Dragon Knight soldier. Includes 2 minifigures: 1 King's army soldier and 1 Dragon Knight soldier Features catapult and weapons rack Roll the Catapult into attack position! Catapult measures 2" (5cm) long by 2" (5cm) wide
 
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
May the best knight win!
Posted:October 23, 2010
Customer Avatar
From: United Kingdom
From:  United Kingdom
Age: 14-18
Gender:  Male
Customer Type:  LEGO Fan
Building Experience:  Expert LEGO builder
Play Experience: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Money: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Level of Difficulty:
Very Easy
" This is a really fantastic little set. It gives you one knight from ech faction, complete with a sword and also another weapon (shield or lancey type weapon depending on the faction. The minifigures' torsos are very intricate and have detail on both sides. The weapons are all great too, as are the helmets. The weapons rack is nice. The catapult itself has more features than some more expensive sets from other LEGO lines. Its rolling wheels are great, and the catapult function can fling the brick up to 1 and a half feet, not too bad considering its size. Also, nearly all the elements are rare, with many only available on design by me or are exclusive to this set. If you get a few of these sets, you will have an army of knights, but even one provides a fantastic play experiance. Excellent job LEGO! "
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
 
 Rebel Trooper™ Battle Pack
Rebel Trooper™ Battle Pack
Rebel Trooper™ Battle Pack
 
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good set but not enough
Posted:August 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
From: United Kingdom
Play Experience: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for Money: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
" I like this set, I really do, but I think it needs some work done to it.
THE MINIFIGURES: The minifigures were a nice remake of previous Hoth troopers although I preferred their appearance in 7749: Echo Base. The pilot is easily my favourite, and the goggles that have been painted onto his face look good. It's a tad weird that the real goggles on the troopers helmets have to be taken off to change their position when, as with previous versions and the classic spacemen, it could be far easier if you could do it manually. Still - a good army builder on the whole.
THE SPEEDER: The speeder is a quick build. The little storage box that slides in on the top was useful for the pilot's gun and a spare pair of goggles and it runs smoothly on all surfaces. The flick misiles are a bit difficult to fire but I never really use them anyway. It was a bit smaller than I expected and you can't do that much with it.
THE OTHER STUFF:
This is where the set goes a little bit wrong. £10 for a few minifigures and a little speeder and only 72 pieces (a lot of which are dedicated to the figs) isn't really worth it. A small hoth turret that were released with old Sonwspeeder sets and the latest AT-AT set would have made this a perfect buy.
OVERALL:
Good enough minifigures and speeder but would have been made better with either a lower price or something extra - It was still a great help in building my Hoth and Rebel collections!
"
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.